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The Subcommittee on Legislator Compensation considered three options on a third-party
compensation method for setting legislator pay. The recommended option uses a method that is
the same as the method for setting executive branch officials and supreme court justices. This is
similar to the method that the Department of Administration already does for setting legislator
session per diem rates. The documentation of the other two options that the subcommittee
considered, salary based on the state average hourly or weekly wage, are included in the
Appendix A.

RECOMMENDED OPTION:  FIVE-STATE SURVEY

This language mirrors the language for determining the compensation of supreme court justices
(2-16-403, MCA) and elected state officials (2-16-405, MCA) using a five-state average
(including Montana). Based on 2017, without the primary stipend changes made in 5-2-204,
MCA, the wage of a legislator is $11.33 an hour, or 54% of the five-state average, with only the
primary stipend in 5-2-204, MCA, legislators' wages are approximately 78% of the five-state
legislator salary average.

Section 1.  Section 5-2-301, MCA, is amended to read:
"5-2-301.  Compensation and expenses for members while in

session. (1) Prior to June 30 of each even-numbered year, the
department of administration shall conduct a salary survey of
legislators for the states of North Dakota, South Dakota,
Wyoming, and Idaho. In determining the average salary for the
other states' legislators, the department shall:

(a) include the salary for Montana legislators;
(b) base the salary on the number of days allowed in a state

for any session, including both a biennial session or annual
sessions in a biennium.

(2) If the average five-state salary is greater than the
salary for legislators in Montana, then beginning July 1 of the
year following the year in which the survey is conducted, the
average salary is the new salary for Montana legislators.

(3)  Legislators are entitled to a salary commensurate to
that of the daily rate for an employee earning $10.33 an hour as
established un subsection (2) when the regular session of the
legislature in which they serve is convened under 5-2-103 for
those days during which the legislature is in session. The hourly
rate must be adjusted by any statutorily required pay increase as
provided in subsection (2). The president of the senate and the
speaker of the house must receive an additional $5 a day in
salary for those days during which the legislature is in session.

(2)(4)  Legislators may serve for no salary.
(3)(5)  Subject to subsection (4)(6), legislators are
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entitled to a daily allowance, 7 days a week, during a
legislative session, as reimbursement for expenses incurred in
attending a session. Expense payments must stop when the
legislature recesses for more than 3 days and resume when the
legislature reconvenes.

(4)(6)  After November 15, and prior to December 15 of each
even-numbered year, the department of administration shall
conduct a survey of the allowance for daily expenses of
legislators for the states of North Dakota, South Dakota,
Wyoming, and Idaho. The department shall include the average
daily expense allowance for Montana legislators in determining
the average daily rate for legislators. The department shall
include only states with specific daily allowances in the
calculation of the average. If the average daily rate is greater
than the daily rate for legislators in Montana, legislators are
entitled to a new daily rate for those days during which the
legislature is in session. The new daily rate is the daily rate
for the prior legislative session, increased by the percentage
rate increase as determined by the survey, a cost-of-living
increase to reflect inflation that is calculated pursuant to
2-15-122(5)(a), or 5%, whichever is less. The expense allowance
is effective when the next regular session of the legislature in
which the legislators serve is convened under 5-2-103.

(5)(7)  Legislators are entitled to a mileage allowance as
provided in 2-18-503 for each mile of travel to the place of the
holding of the session and to return to their place of residence
at the conclusion of the session.

(6)(8)  In addition to the mileage allowance provided for in
subsection (5)(7), legislators, upon submittal of an appropriate
claim for mileage reimbursement to the legislative services
division, are entitled to:

(a)  three additional round trips to their place of
residence during each regular session; and

(b)  additional round trips as authorized by the legislature
during special session.

(7)(8)  Legislators are not entitled to any additional
mileage allowance under subsection (5)(7) for a special session
if it is convened within 7 days of a regular session."
{Internal References to 5-2-301:
    2-15-212 x   2-17-803x    2-18-501x    2-18-503x
    5-2-302 a   5-3-101x}

Section 2.  Section 5-2-302, MCA, is amended to read:
"5-2-302.  Compensation and expenses when legislature not in

session. When the legislature is not in session, a member of the
legislature, while engaged in legislative business with prior
authorization of the appropriate funding authority, is entitled
to:

(1)  a mileage allowance as provided in 2-18-503;
(2)  expenses as provided in 2-18-501 and 2-18-502; and
(3)  a salary equal to one full day's pay at the rate

described in 5-2-301(1)(3) for each 24-hour period of time (from
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midnight to midnight), or portion of a 24-hour period, spent on
authorized interim or administrative committee legislative
business or as otherwise provided by law. However, if time spent
for business other than authorized legislative interim or
administrative committee business or business related to 5-11-305
results in lengthening a legislator's stay away from home into an
additional 24-hour period, the legislator may not be compensated
for the additional day."
{Internal References to 5-2-302:
    2-2-111    2-15-1019    2-15-1021    2-15-1808
    2-15-1820    2-17-803    5-1-104    5-2-203
    5-2-203    5-3-101    5-11-305    5-11-708
    5-12-203    5-13-203    53-6-1316    69-1-212
    75-1-302    75-6-212    90-1-405}
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APPENDIX A

OPTION 1
Section 1(1)(a) replaces the base wage that legislators received from 2007 through 2017,

with the 2014 (most recent year available) Average Hourly Wage of Montana, based on
UI-Based QCEW Data from BLS. This is very close to the fiscal year 2017 average weekly wage
($755.76/week) divided by 40 hours to obtain an $18.894/hour. Either source could be used.

In section 1(1)(b), language is added that would apply an inflationary adjustment to the
wage in subsection (1)(a). In a 2016 memo presented to the Legislative Council, the inflationary
increase over the last 2015-2016 since the 2015 legislative session, was a 0.98% increase
compared to a 3.0% wage increase for all Montana workers in 2015.

Section 1.  Section 5-2-301, MCA, is amended to read:
"5-2-301.  Compensation and expenses for members while in

session. (1) (a)  Legislators are entitled to a salary
commensurate to that of the daily rate for an employee earning
$10.33 $18.69 an hour when the regular session of the legislature
in which they serve is convened under 5-2-103 for those days
during which the legislature is in session. The hourly rate must
be adjusted by any statutorily required pay increase.  

(b)  After November 15, and prior to December 15 of each
even-numbered year, the department of administration shall
determine the inflationary wage adjustment in Montana based on
the Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the most
recent available 24 months. The inflationary wage adjustment must
be applied to the hourly salary legislators are receiving and
legislators are entitled to the new daily rate for those days
during which the legislature is in session. The hourly wage
increase is effective when the next regular session of the
legislature in which the legislators serve is convened under
5-2-103.

(c)  The president of the senate and the speaker of the
house must receive an additional $5 a day in salary for those
days during which the legislature is in session. 

(2)  Legislators may serve for no salary.
(3)  Subject to subsection (4), legislators are entitled to

a daily allowance, 7 days a week, during a legislative session,
as reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending a session.
Expense payments must stop when the legislature recesses for more
than 3 days and resume when the legislature reconvenes.

(4)  After November 15, and prior to December 15 of each
even-numbered year, the department of administration shall
conduct a survey of the allowance for daily expenses of
legislators for the states of North Dakota, South Dakota,
Wyoming, and Idaho. The department shall include the average
daily expense allowance for Montana legislators in determining
the average daily rate for legislators. The department shall
include only states with specific daily allowances in the
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calculation of the average. If the average daily rate is greater
than the daily rate for legislators in Montana, legislators are
entitled to a new daily rate for those days during which the
legislature is in session. The new daily rate is the daily rate
for the prior legislative session, increased by the percentage
rate increase as determined by the survey, a cost-of-living
increase to reflect inflation that is calculated pursuant to
2-15-122(5)(a), or 5%, whichever is less. The expense allowance
is effective when the next regular session of the legislature in
which the legislators serve is convened under 5-2-103.

(5)  Legislators are entitled to a mileage allowance as
provided in 2-18-503 for each mile of travel to the place of the
holding of the session and to return to their place of residence
at the conclusion of the session.

(6)  In addition to the mileage allowance provided for in
subsection (5), legislators, upon submittal of an appropriate
claim for mileage reimbursement to the legislative services
division, are entitled to:

(a)  three additional round trips to their place of
residence during each regular session; and

(b)  additional round trips as authorized by the legislature
during special session.

(7)  Legislators are not entitled to any additional mileage
allowance under subsection (5) for a special session if it is
convened within 7 days of a regular session."
{Internal References to 5-2-301:
     2-15-212 x   2-17-803  x   2-18-501x    2-18-503 x
     5-2-302 x    5-3-101x      50-4-810 x}

OPTION 2
Section 2 reflects a base salary that is based upon an hourly wage (illustrating the average

weekly wage method) and indexed to the most recent average hourly wage by having that
calculation done prior to each session. This is not an inflationary adjustment but a wage
adjustment based on the growth in salary across Montana workers, more akin to a market
adjustment.  

Section 1.  Section 5-2-301, MCA, is amended to read:
"5-2-301.  Compensation and expenses for members while in

session. (1) Legislators are entitled to a an hourly salary
commensurate to that of the daily rate for an employee earning
$10.33 an hour calculated by dividing the average weekly wage for
the fiscal year by 40 hours when the regular session of the
legislature in which they serve is convened under 5-2-103 for
those days during which the legislature is in session. The hourly
rate must be adjusted by any statutorily required pay increase.
The president of the senate and the speaker of the house must
receive an additional $5 a day in salary for those days during
which the legislature is in session.

(2)  Legislators may serve for no salary.
(3)  Subject to subsection (4), legislators are entitled to

a daily allowance, 7 days a week, during a legislative session,
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as reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending a session.
Expense payments must stop when the legislature recesses for more
than 3 days and resume when the legislature reconvenes.

(4)  After November 15, and prior to December 15 of each
even-numbered year, the department of administration shall
conduct a survey of the allowance for daily expenses of
legislators for the states of North Dakota, South Dakota,
Wyoming, and Idaho. The department shall include the average
daily expense allowance for Montana legislators in determining
the average daily rate for legislators. The department shall
include only states with specific daily allowances in the
calculation of the average. If the average daily rate is greater
than the daily rate for legislators in Montana, legislators are
entitled to a new daily rate for those days during which the
legislature is in session. The new daily rate is the daily rate
for the prior legislative session, increased by the percentage
rate increase as determined by the survey, a cost-of-living
increase to reflect inflation that is calculated pursuant to
2-15-122(5)(a), or 5%, whichever is less. The expense allowance
is effective when the next regular session of the legislature in
which the legislators serve is convened under 5-2-103.

(5)  Legislators are entitled to a mileage allowance as
provided in 2-18-503 for each mile of travel to the place of the
holding of the session and to return to their place of residence
at the conclusion of the session.

(6)  In addition to the mileage allowance provided for in
subsection (5), legislators, upon submittal of an appropriate
claim for mileage reimbursement to the legislative services
division, are entitled to:

(a)  three additional round trips to their place of
residence during each regular session; and

(b)  additional round trips as authorized by the legislature
during special session.

(7)  Legislators are not entitled to any additional mileage
allowance under subsection (5) for a special session if it is
convened within 7 days of a regular session."
{Internal References to 5-2-301:
     2-15-212 x   2-17-803 x    2-18-501 x   2-18-503 x
     5-2-302 x    5-3-101 x     50-4-810x }
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