HISTORY OF LEGISLATOR SALARY RATES

Salary:

M Prior to 2009 Session — Salary based on 5-2-301, MCA, defined as “commensurate to that of the daily rate of
an entry grade 10 classified state employee in effect when the regular session of the legislature in which they
serveisconvened...”

M Beginning with 2009 Session - HB13, passed during the 2007 session, reflected the executive branch
implementation of a broadband pay plan and revised 5-2-301, MCA, related to legidlator salary. Legidator
salary was established as “commensurate to that of the daily rate for an employee earning $10.33 an hour when
the regular session of the legislature in which they serveis convened...” The salary must be adjusted by any
statutorily required pay increase. The statute revision was effective 7/1/07 and first applied to the 61%
Legidlature convening in January 2009. (Verified with Legal Director 7/20/07)

M 2017 Session — SB 418, passed during the 2015 session, raised state employee salaries by 50 cents an hour in
January of 2016 and January of 2017. This salary adjustment for legislators took effect for the 2017 Session,
making the salary $11.33 /hour.

2019 Session — SB 294, passed during the 2017 session, raised state employee salaries by 1% in February of
2018 and 1% in February of 2019. This salary adjustment for legislators will take effect for the 2019
Session, making the salary $11.56 /hour.

NOTE: When the hourly rateremainsunchanged in statute, legidative staff will manually have to
calculate and apply cumulative changes which apply to therate since statute requires an adjustment for
any statutory pay increase. Remember, a statutory increase which takes effect after a L egislature
convenesin regular session isnot applied until the next L egislatur e convenes (Art. 5, sec. 5, Montana
Constitution).

January 1999 $59.672/day ($7.459/hr, $59.672/day, $15,515/annualized)
January 2001 $71.832/day ($8.979/hr, $71.832/day, $18,676/annualized)
January 2003 $76.80/day ($9.60/hr, $76.80/day, $19,968/annualized)
January 2005 $76.80/day ($9.60/hr, $76.80/day, $19,968/annualized)
January 2007  $82.665/day ($10.333/hr, $82.665/day, $21,493/annualized)
January 2009 $82.64/day ($10.33/hr, $82.64/day, $21,486/annualized)
January 2011 $82.64/day ($10.33/hr, $82.64/day, $21,486/annualized)
January 2013 $82.64/day ($10.33/hr, $82.64/day, $21,486/annualized)
January 2015 $82.64/day ($10.33/hr, $82.64/day, $21,486/annualized)
January 2017 $90.64/day ($11.33/hr, $90.64/day, $23,566/annualized)
January 2019 $92.46/day ($11.56/hr, $92.46/day, $24,045/annualized)

FY| —the additional $5/day during session for President of the Senate and Speaker of the House was enacted by
Chapter 103, Laws of 1977.
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HISTORY OF LEGISLATOR SESSION PER DIEM RATES

Statute provides aformulafor calculation of the session per diem rate in 5-2-301(4), MCA (see text box).
Documentation of the calculation of the per diem rate each biennium isfiled in the appropriate feed bill file.

Per Diem: Based on abiennia survey of the per diem allowance for legislators
1997 $70.00 from North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, and Idaho (and
1999 $75.00 including Montana), the Dept of Administration shall determine the
2001 $87.25 average daily rate for legislators. If the average daily rate is greater
2003 $90.31 than the daily rate for legidatorsin Montana, legidators are entitled

to anew daily rate for those days during which the legidatureisin
session. The daily rate for the prior legidative session may be
increased by the percentage rate determined by the survey, a cost-of-

2005 $94.05
2007 $98.75

2009 $103.69 living increase to reflect inflation, or 5%, whichever isless. The
2011 $105.31 expense allowance is effective when the next regular session of the
2013 $109.78 legislature in which the legislators serve is convened under 5-2-103.

2015 $112.85
2017 $114.39

2019 (est.) $120.11 (Max) Interim per diem rates

Statute provides that when the legislature is not in session, legislators engaged in legidlative business with prior
authorization are entitled to:

(1) amileage alowance as provided in 2-18-503 (0.545 cents/mile);

(2) expenses as provided in 2-18-501 and 2-18-502 (meals @ $23.00/day (max instate) and lodging @
$96.23/night, including tax); and

(3) asaary equal to afull day’s pay at the rate in 5-2-301(1) (see above).

Constituent services stipend and reimbur sement

The 2015 Legislature passed SB 283 (Ch. 452). Effective July 1, 2017, the law provides for:

(1) Each legidator is entitled to a stipend of $3,000 in a biennium for providing constituent services,
which include but are not limited to unreimbursed expenses for mileage, per diem, or lodging as well as
communication and information technology, such as expenses for telecommunications or internet, computer
hardware and software, postage, and education-related expenses to represent constituents.

(2) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), legislators are allowed reimbursement of up to the amount
provided for in subsection (3) in abiennium for otherwise unreimbursed expenses related to the legislator's
expenses for mileage, meals, or lodging at rates provided for in 2-18-501 through 2-18-503 incurred for
providing constituent services.

(3) The amount authorized under subsection (2) is:

(&) $1,000if the legidlator's district is at least 100 square miles but less than 1,000 square miles;

(b) $2,000 if the legidator's district is at least 1,000 square miles but less than 5,000 square miles;

(c) $3,000if the legidator's district is at least 5,000 square miles but less than 7,500 square miles; or

(d) $4,000 if the legidator's district is 7,500 square miles or more.

(4) For expenses authorized under subsection (2), alegislator shall apply for reimbursement to the
legislative services division by submitting written documentation that satisfies applicable requirements of Title
2, chapter 18, part 5.

(5) Legidlators may not be reimbursed for expenses paid from a constituent services account provided
for in 13-37-402. C10106 8060sfnb
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