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Lost Wage Benefit Structure And Payments

In The

Montana Workers’ Compensation System

Background

Workers’ Compensation lost time benefit structures across jurisdictions appear similar in that states
generally pay temporary benefits and permanent benefits, but the definitions, calculations,
philosophy, length, cost and resulting predictability, equity and adequacy of these benefits vary
dramatically from state to state. The total benefits paid in a system are a result of the number of
injuries that occur, the benefit levels paid and the duration for which benefits are paid. Hence to look
at benefits in any system, one must look at the frequency of lost time injuries; the level of benefits
paid for each type of benefit category; the distribution of those payments and the duration for which
those benefits are paid. The methods to accomplish this kind of a review vary from factual information
(like statutory maximums and minimums) to detailed quantitative studies that compare the earnings
losses of workers with like workers who were not injured retrospectively and prospectively. This paper
deals only with those methods that can be used within the timeframe and resources available for the
SJR30 studies. Further studies of the adequacy and equity of benefits in the Montana system may
wish to be undertaken at some point in the future.

The fact that the employee gave up their right to sue their employer in exchange for the prompt
payment of specific benefits itemized under the workers’ compensation law generally means that
workers’ compensation benefits must be paid at a rate and for long enough to make this “exclusive
remedy” a reasonable alternative to suing the employer for liability under the “common law” doctrine.

Basics of Workers’ Compensation Lost Time Payment Structures

Although the majority of workers compensation benefits are paid on claims where the injured worker
loses time from work, by far the greater number of injuries in all workers compensation systems is to
workers who need medical treatment, but are not disabled from work. A study by the Workers
Compensation Research Institute covering multiple states revealed that on average 81% of reported
injuries involved medical treatment but no more than 7 days of lost time and in an average of 19% of
reported injuries, the employee needed medical treatment and lost more than seven days of work as
a result of their work related injuries.*

! Yang, Rui, Nicole M. Coomer, Stacey Landes, Evenlina Radeva, Carol Telles, and Ramona Tanabe. CompScope™ Benchmarks, 10"
Edition. December, 2009. Workers Compensation Research Institute.
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Chart 1

% of Total WC Claims by Claim Type

2005 claims as of 2007

Lost Time
(>7days)
19%

However, that same study found that on average, the lost time claims accounted for 88% of the
benefits paid in those workers’ compensation systems. (Chart 2)

Chart 2

% of Total WC Paid by Claim Type
2005 claims as of 2007 Medical Only
12%

This briefing paper discusses only the structure for payment of “lost time” benefit payments in
workers’ compensation systems in Montana and compares that structure to those of other states,
focusing on the “comparator” states most like Montana. Those states are Alaska, Idaho, New Mexico,
North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington and Wyoming.

Numbers of workers’ compensation claims with only medical treatment and those with some type of
indemnity benefit (or earnings lost) reported in the comparator states as of 12/31/2008 and the
resulting ratios are shown in Table 1 for the years 2003 through 2008. Note that the variation is in
part due to the differences in waiting periods between these states, but even though Montana has a
lower waiting period before lost time benefits begin, they have consistently the second lowest ratio of
lost time claims, after North Dakota.
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Table 1

Comparator State Medical/Lost time Claim Ratios as of 12/31/2008

New North South
Alaska | Idaho Montana | Mexico | Dakota | Oregon* | Dakota | Washington | Wyoming
2003
Medical Only
Claims 17193 33584 27581 15377 16311 63000 18447 92524 10171
Lost Time Claims 8762 7875 5472 5687 2442 21823 5628 27794 4135
Percentage Lost
Time Claims 33.76% 18.99% 16.56% 27.00% 13.02% 25.73% 23.38% 23.10% 28.90%
2004
Medical Only
Claims 16032 34867 27074 15427 16722 60700 19595 94894 10273
Lost Time Claims 8472 8053 5357 5983 2462 22320 5232 28002 4129
Percentage Lost
Time Claims 34.57% 18.76% 16.52% 27.94% 12.83% 26.89% 21.07% 22.79% 28.67%
2005
Medical Only
Claims 15595 35464 28122 15269 17424 62900 19664 95666 10227
Lost Time Claims 7914 7797 5421 5640 2463 22111 5147 28108 4242
Percentage Lost
Time Claims 33.66% 18.02% 16.16% 26.97% 12.38% 26.01% 20.74% 22.71% 29.32%
2006
Medical Only
Claims 15873 36362 27165 16920 19268 65000 19451 97114 10184
Lost Time Claims 7771 8006 5111 5609 2320 23370 5337 28426 4054
Percentage Lost
Time Claims 32.87% 18.04% 15.84% 24.90% 10.75% 26.45% 21.53% 22.64% 28.47%
2007
Medical Only
Claims 15352 35839 26548 14972 19022 61600 19039 95991 10615
Lost Time Claims 6395 7525 5281 5499 2287 23431 5565 27864 3896
Percentage Lost
Time Claims 29.41% 17.35% 16.59% 26.86% 10.73% 27.56% 22.62% 22.50% 26.85%
2008
Medical Only
Claims 15484 33012 26526 14918 18771 57900 19987 87524 10194
Lost Time Claims 6727 6814 4449 4869 2290 21660 5468 25501 3274
Percentage Lost
Time Claims 30.29% 17.11% 14.36% 24.61% 10.87% 27.22% 21.48% 22.56% 24.31%

Data for this table was obtained from a survey sent to jurisdictions in October of 2009; Survey Question was "What is the number of
medical only claims and lost time claims PAID by date of injury in your state as of 12/31/08 for the following calendar years?"

* Oregon medical only claim totals are

estimated

Lost time benefits can further be broken down for any given state into the following categories:
e Temporary Total Disability (benefits paid while the worker is healing from their injury and

unable to work at all at any job)
e Temporary Partial Disability (benefits paid while the worker is healing form their injury but is

able to work either part time or at another job earning less pay)

e Permanent Partial Disability (benefits paid to a worker for either a permanent physical

impairment due to the injury; for estimated or actual future wage losses; or for both)
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e Permanent Total Disability (benefits paid to a worker long term when they cannot return to any
sustained gainful employment as a result of the injury or a combination of the injury and other
health conditions combined)

e Dependency or Fatality Benefits (benefits paid to or on behalf of dependents as a result of the
work related death of an injured worker)

e Retraining or Rehabilitation Benefits ( benefits paid during a period of retraining or schooling
designed to assist an injured worker in returning to sustained gainful employment usually when
they physically can no longer do the job they had at the time of injury)

e Disfigurement Benefits (benefits paid to injured workers who suffer disfigurement as a result of
an injury that is likely to affect employability)

Since interviews with stakeholders did not reveal any concerns or issues surrounding dependency
benefits or disfigurement benefits separate from permanent partial disability; this paper will deal only
with those lost time benefits underlined in the above listing: temporary total disability, temporary
partial disability, permanent partial disability, permanent total disability, and retraining or rehabilitation
benefits.

In general the structure of these benefits looks like the following diagram:?

Diagram 1

R

Permanent

Partial
Temporary

@ Total/Temporary
Partial
Permanent

Total

Healing Period

P Maximum Medical Improvement

When an injury occurs where an employee has a medically verified disability from work past the
“waiting period” within a given state, temporary total or temporary partial disability benefits are paid
while they are healing. Once the physician determines that further medical treatment will not help to
“cure and relieve” the condition and any residual bodily impairment is permanent, benefits shift to
either permanent partial or permanent total disability, or both, depending on the system design and in
some states, whether the employee goes back to work or is able to work.

Nationally, these lost time benefits are distributed as indicated in Chart 3 where all benefits paid for
cases defined as a temporary disability, permanent partial disability, permanent total disability or
fatality cases are added together. The left pie chart shows the distribution by numbers of cases and
the right pie chart shows the distribution by benefits paid. You will notice that this chart uses 2004
accident year data as one needs to have benefits paid on average at least 5 years to be able to see

2 Diagrams used in this paper are from Permanent Partial Disability in All 51 Jurisdictions by Edward Welch and can be found at
www.lir.msu.edu/wcc unless otherwise noted.
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the permanent total disability cases begin to show since some states pay out the temporary benefits
and then the permanent partial disability benefits before permanent total disability benefits are paid.

Chart 3

Distribution of Indemnity Cases and Costs
(2004 Accident Year)

Percent of Cases

®PTD and
Fatalities

(1%)

E Temporary
Disability
(63%)

I Permanent
Partial
Disability
(36%)

Percent of Benefits

mPTD and
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(17%)

i Temporary
Benefits
(17%)

~ Ll Permanent
Partial
Disability
(66%)

Source:Annual Statistical Bulletin, NCCI 2008, Exhibits X and XII

1/28/2010

Historically, the distribution of indemnity (or lost time) benefits has been looked at in the manner that
rating bureaus (the data collection agencies for workers’ compensation insurers in the states) have
grouped them. This is in part because this was the only dependable data available. As state agencies
begin to collect and provide high quality data on claims within their states, other ways of looking at the
claims data become available. Montana is fortunate in having the staff and administrative processes
to allow for additional analysis of the utilization and distribution of lost time claim data. Table 2 takes
the data used in the Department’s 2008 Annual Workers’ Compensation Report triangle tables and
displays it in @ manner so one can see the percentage of total benefits payments reported as being
paid to the department as of the end of 2007. By looking at the indemnity cases by benefit type paid,
we get a very different picture of the distribution of benefit payments by type of payment. We suspect
this is true for all states, but at the time of the writing of this report, had not received such data from

other states.

Table 2
Distribution of Benefits Paid in Montana
Total Medical TTD TPD PPD PTD VR TOTAL

2001 $78,218,767 $39,388,921|  $2,023,585  $20,338,470| $4,830,755 $3,302,665  $148,103,163
52.81% 26.60% 1.37% 13.73% 3.26% 2.23%

2002 $79,535,674 $37,384,224|  $2,157,384|  $33,792,002| $4,469,897| $3,118,307  $160,457,488
49.57% 23.30% 1.34% 21.06% 2.79% 1.94%

2003 $80,352,856 $37,371,593|  $2,589,748| $29,508,817 $5,124,306| $3,202,371  $158,149,691
50.81% 23.63% 1.64% 18.66% 3.24% 2.02%

2004 $74,289,425 $31,425,342]  $2,208,822| $25,378,118 $3,243,473| $2,920,717,  $139,465,897
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53.27% 22.53% 1.58% 18.20% 2.33% 2.09%

2005 $71,996,099 $40,389,565 $2,086,638 $19,523,250| $2,096,530| $4,549,765 $140,641,847
51.19% 28.72% 1.48% 13.88% 1.49% 3.24%

2006 $68,869,054 529,685,687 $2,052,998 $13,414,718| $1,266,331| $8,265,438 $123,554,226
55.74% 24.03% 1.66% 10.86% 1.02% 6.69%

2007 $61,509,815 $24,812,020 $2,014,779 $7,867,613 $163,086| $5,272,504 $101,639,817
60.52% 24.41% 1.98% 7.74% 0.16% 5.19%

2008 $39,096,000 $15,147,495 $1,337,429 $2,018,213 $24,852| $1,558,288 $59,182,277
66.06% 25.59% 2.26% 3.41% 0.04% 2.63%

The amount of temporary total disability benefits an injured worker receives depends on the following:
The waiting period before benefits begin in their state;

Their average weekly wage at the time of injury;

The percentage of their average weekly wage to be replaced in a given state;

Whether or not the weekly benefits recognize numbers of dependents (tax implications on take
home pay);

The maximum and minimum benefits set by each state;

e Whether there is any cost of living escalator allowed; and

e The criteria for termination of temporary total benefits.

The amount of temporary partial disability benefits an injured worker receives depends on the
following:
e The waiting period before benefits begin in their state;
e Their average weekly wage at the time of injury;
e The amount they earn working part time or at a lower paying job due to their inability to work at
the job they had at the time of injury;
e The percentage of their lost wages to be replaced,;
¢ Whether or not the weekly benefits recognize numbers of dependents (tax implications on take
home pay);
e The maximum and minimum benefits set by each state; and
e The criteria for termination of temporary partial benefits.

The amount of permanent partial disability benefits an injured worker is paid in any jurisdiction is
much more complex and varies dramatically from state to state. In addition to having a permanent
physical limitation to qualify for these benefits, factors that affect the amount and duration of these
benefits are:

e The basic design and purpose for these benefits in each jurisdiction;

e The method used to determine what benefits will be paid and when;

e The calculation of the benefit and depending on that, the employee’s average weekly wage
may be a factor; or a statutory limit for the number of weeks for each bodily member or for the
body as a whole may be a factor or a statutory number of dollars may be a factor (depends on
system design);

¢ Whether or not the state requires or suggests that physicians use a specific reference to
determine permanent bodily impairment and which reference is used;

e The maximum and minimum benefit levels for this benefit;
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¢ Whether or not the employee returns to work; and
e Whether or not these benefits are paid concurrently with permanent total disability benefits or
other benefits.

The amount and duration of permanent total disability benefits paid to an injured worker in any
jurisdiction is dependent on the following:
e The statutory definition of a permanent total disability in each state;
Their average weekly wage at the time of injury;
The percentage of their average weekly wage to be replaced in a given state;
Whether or not the weekly benefits recognize numbers of dependents (tax implications on take
home pay);
The maximum and minimum benefits set by each state;
What other disability benefits will be allowed to offset these benefits;
Whether there is a limit established by statute; and
Whether there is any cost of living escalator allowed and how it is paid.

System Issues Involving Predictability, Equity and Adequacy
One of the accepted principles of workers’ compensation systems is that they should provide
predictable, equitable and adequate benefits in an efficient manner.

Predictability becomes important not just for the worker who needs to be able to anticipate the
benefits to which they will be entitled should they be significantly injured, but for the ability to estimate
employer costs into the future for pricing purposes. Since what an employer pays for workers’
compensation coverage this year to a great degree depends on how accurate the assumptions are
about the benefits to be paid to all workers for years into the future who are injured in this policy year;
a predictable and stable statute and case law that allows insurers and employers to predict their costs
will result in less fluctuations in pricing and more competition in the market. This in turn generally will
favor more consistent and less volatile pricing and costs for employers.

Historically, two separate measures of equity are discussed in regard to workers’ compensation
benefit structures; these are referred to as “horizontal” equity and “vertical equity”. Horizontal equity
refers to the delivery of benefits and services fairly as judged by the program’s consistency in
providing equal benefits to workers in identical circumstances; and vertical equity as fairly providing
benefits and services in proportion to the impairment or disability for those with different degrees of
loss®. In other words, workers with similar losses should get similar benefits and workers with more
severe losses should get a greater proportion of benefits than workers with less severe losses.

Adequacy of workers’ compensation benefits relates to the amount of income replaced for workers
who suffer occupational injuries or diseases. Replacing 66 2/3% of the employee’s gross weekly
earnings has been recommended as the standard for temporary disability benefits*; although, this
calculation does not address the equity issue that arises with the effect of “take home pay” when one
injured worker making the same gross wage has five dependents and another is single. To address
this, a structure that uses spendable earnings or a modified approach that varies the percent of gross
wages based on number of dependents is often used.

® National Commission, 1972, p.137
* National Commission
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Adequacy of permanent partial disability benefits is more difficult to gain agreement on and to
measure and compare across states since in part, the purpose and philosophy of those benefits is
slightly different from state to state. The permanent partial disability systems in the states of
Wisconsin, California, Oregon, Washington and New Mexico have been studied to measure the
adequacy of benefits, including permanent partial disability and have been found to overall replace
significantly less that 66 2/3% of the employees current and future lost wages after a significant work
related injury.> These findings suggest that after a significant disabling work related injury, many
workers may never recover their total potential earning capacity. To date, theses states continue to
struggle with finding a balance between acceptably adequate levels of benefits to workers at
“reasonable costs to employers”.

Comparison of Temporary Total Benefit Structure and Costs across States

The factors involved in the ultimate cost and frequency of temporary total disability benefits can be
stated as the public policy decision traditionally made by workers compensation policymakers. These
would be:

» Should there be a waiting period before an injured worker is entitled to workers’ compensation
benefits? If so, how long should it be?

» Should that waiting period be reimbursed if the worker is off work for more than a few days or
weeks? (Usually called a retroactive payment period)

» How much of the injured worker’s wage should be covered while they are healing and unable
to work? (Usually referred to a replacement rate or compensation rate)

» Should the same amount be given to all workers regardless of the number of dependents or
the amount they earned? (an equity and adequacy issue)

» When should temporary total disability benefits end? (a predictability, adequacy and return to
work issue)

The waiting period

All US jurisdictions include a waiting period in their workers’ compensation statutes. Since the
employer funds both sick leave and workers compensation benefits, and entering the workers’
compensation system increases the employers administrative costs, most systems are designed to
pay for lost time from work only when such loss exceeds a reasonable time for which most workers
would be entitled to sick leave. This varies by state from a three day waiting period to a seven day
waiting period. Table 3 shows the waiting period for states as of July 1, 2008 with those states that
are most like Montana demographically highlighted.

Table 3

'TD Waiting Periods In States As Of
July 1, 2008

No Three-Day Four-Day Five-Day Seven-Day
WWaiting WWaiting Period WWaiting Waiting WWaiting
Period Period Period Period

AL, AK, CA, CO, MT*, WYV, 1D, MA, MS, AZ,AR, FL, GA,
CT, DE, DC, HI, NV, ND, IN, KS, KY,

IL, IA, MD, MN, LA, ME, MI,
MO, NH, OK, NE, NJ, NM,
OR, RI, UT, VT, NY, NC, OH,
WA, WI, WY PA,SC, SD,

MT is actually 32 hours or 4 days, whichever is less
<*% LA is actually | week

° Source: WC Laws, 27? Edition, ’ Comp ion R. h Institute, 2009 1/28/2010

® Put adequacy studies
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Obviously moving from a four day waiting period to a seven day waiting period would reduce benefits
a small amount for most workers and moving to a three day waiting period would increase benefits a
very small amount to most injured workers.

The Retroactive Period for Temporary Disability

States vary tremendously on their decisions of how long a worker needs to be disabled before the
waiting period will be reimbursed and if it will be reimbursed. Table 4 demonstrates this variation.
Although the majority of states have decided to reimburse the waiting period after 14 days of
disability, this could be simply a logical administrative efficiency mechanism as many states require
employers and insurers to make a decision whether to pay or deny a claim within 14 days. If they
decide to pay, and the employee is still off work, they can include the waiting period in the first
payments made and not have to issue a subsequent payment for the waiting period. Note that
Montana is one of four states that have no retroactive period for reimbursement of the waiting period.

Table 4

Retroactive Payment Period for Temporary
Disability in States as of July 1, 2008

5 7 8 10 14 21 28 6 None

Days Days Days Days Days Days Days Weeks

NV CT WY | MN AZ,AR, AL, FL, AK LA, NE [ HI, MT,
ND |DE VT CA,CO, | GAKS, |NM OK, RI
NJ DC,ID, | MA,
SD IL, IN, 1A, | NC,VA
WV KY, ME,
Wi MD, M,
MS, MO,
NH, NY,
OH, OR,
PA,SC,
TN, TX,
UT, WA

Source: WC Laws, 2" Edition, Workers’ Compensation Research Institute, 2009

Montana could improve the vertical adequacy of their temporary total disability benefits by instituting a
retroactive payment of this waiting period if the worker is so severely injured that they are disabled
from work for more than two to four weeks. System stakeholders and policymakers should be aware
that the waiting period and the retroactive period for which the waiting period will be reimbursed could
create financial incentives for workers to remain off work longer than they would have in order to
collect benefits for the waiting period if they had used up all their sick pay. This is less likely to
happen with a 28 day waiting period than with a shorter one.

Replacement Rate For Temporary Total Disability
The public policy objective of establishing the rate at which lost earnings should be replaced by a
workers’ compensation system when a worker is healing and unable to work is generally that it be set
at a level that is “fair”, but not high enough to create a disincentive for return to work. States arrive at
a compensation rate for disabled workers by addressing three factors that influence this level:

e The statutory method of calculating the workers’ compensation rate;

e The statutory maximum and minimum compensation levels allowed; and
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e The result of these levels on individual workers.

There are two common methods to calculate weekly lost earnings in workers’ compensation systems,
reimbursing a percentage of the workers’ gross wages or reimbursing a percentage of the workers’
spendable wage. Basing the calculation on the workers’ gross wages is easier and more efficient but
less equitable. Basing the calculation on spendable wage means there is one more level of
investigation required before payments can be made, since one needs to know the number of
dependents a workers had at the time of injury to calculate the weekly benefit amount. It also
generally requires the state agency to publish a set of charts to identify what the weekly spendable
wage will be for workers, depending on their gross wage and number of dependents, so it adds a bit
of additional administrative burden. However, a spendable wage approach results in more equitable
benefits since there is a recognition that take home pay varies for workers depending on the number
of dependents they have. Either method attempts to recognize that workers’ compensation disability
benefits are not taxable, hence a reduction from total pay, but one method does a better job of
recognizing the number of exemptions injured workers may have at the time of injury. Table 5
provides a comparison of approaches used in most states. By far the most common approach is 66
2/3% of gross wages.

Table 5

Method of Calculating the Weekly TTD Payment

60% of

66-2/3% of Gross 67% of 70% of

72% of

75% of

80% of

Gross AWW Gross Gross Gross Spendable Spendable
AWW AWW AWW Wage Wage

MA, AL, AZ, AR, CA, ID NJ, OK, [ OH CT, RI AK, IA,

NH, CO, DE, DC, FL, TX* ME, MI,

WA®* | GA, HI, IL, IN, KS,

KY, LA, MD, MN,
MS, MO, MT, NE,
NV, NM, NY, ND,
OR, PA,SC, SD,
TN, UT, VT, VA, WV,
WI, WY

*TX — If employee earns less than $8.50 per hour, they get 75% of gross AWW for first 26 wks.
**WA — Add 5% of married on DOI and 2% per dependent up to 75% of gross AWW

12

Source: WC Laws, 2"¢ Edition, Workers’ Compensation Research Institute, 2009

2/1/2010

Table 6 provides a more specific comparison on what the differences of these methods mean for

workers.
Table 6

Example of Effect of Using Gross aww vs. Spendable vs. WA Method

(AllWorkers
Earn $600 a
Week)

Spouse and
one Child

VWVeekly Amt. $400 $400
Payable if 662/3

of Gross Wage

(Montana)

WWeekly Amt.
Payable if 80%
Spendable
(lowa)

$372.28 $406.82

Washington $360 $402
Method

15
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Worker with

Worker with

Spouse and
Three
Children

$400

$417.49

$426

2/1/2010

Worker with
Six Children

$400

$427.33

$432
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.An interesting variation on these two methods is Washington. They use the gross weekly wage

method, but vary their level of gross wage reimbursement based on the number of dependents. This
method results in a more equitable benefit level without the administrative burden of having the state
provide tables for spendable earnings, although the number of dependents still must be investigated.

The second factor that influences the weekly temporary total disability benefit for workers is the
statutory level of minimum and maximum temporary total disability benefits. The maximum benefit
levels are usually set as a percentage of the statewide average weekly wage and generally are
updated each year for injuries that occur within the year. The minimum benefit levels are usually also
stated as a percentage of the statewide average weekly wage (usually 20% but this varies) or the
actual wage, whichever is less. Table 7 shows the calculation set for the maximum benefits for
temporary total disability in comparator states and the actual benefit which results for maximums and
minimums as of July 1, 2008. The affect of the maximum compensation rates is that it will reduce the
wages replaced by higher wage workers to less than the standard 66 2/3% of gross wages as it
becomes a ceiling for weekly benefits. The highest maximum as of July 1, 2008 was lowa at 200% of
their statewide average weekly wage and the lowest were Delaware and Mississippi at 66 2/3% of
their statewide average weekly wage. (Note New York is set to move to 66 2/3% of their statewide
average weekly wage as of July 1, 2010)

Table 7

Maximum /Min. Compensation Rates for Comparator
States as of July 1, 2008

State Maximum TTD Benefit Actual Maximum/Min.
Amount as of July 1,2008

Alaska 120% of SAWW $706/$207*
Idaho 90% of SAWW $556.20/$92.70
Montana 100% of SAWW $604/No Min.
New Mexico 100% of SAWW $635.46/$36
North Dakota 110% of SAWW $689/$376*
Oregon 133% of SAWW $1,051.21/$50**
South Dakota 100% of SAWW $598/$299*
Washington 120% of SAWW $1043.49/+
Wyoming 100% of SAWW $815/No Min.

* Or actual wage, whichever is less  ** Or 90% of AWW if less  ***Variable according to number of dependents

13 Source: WC Laws, 2 Edition, Workers' Compensation Research Institute,2009 2/172010

Once these two factors (the calculation of temporary total disability benefits and the applicable
maximum and minimum benefits) are translated into what that means for workers, one can begin to
get a better idea of the affect these have on individual workers. Table 8 demonstrates the resulting
weekly benefit payments for the same workers within each comparator state. This allows one to
better understand the impact of different public policy decisions on individual workers making the
same wages at the time of injury (horizontal equity).
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Table 8

Example Results on Individual Workers in Comparator
States

Worker Makes | Worker Makes | Worker Makes | Worker Makes
$100 a week/3 | $400 a week /no | $1000 a week/3 | $1500 a week/3

dependents dependents dependents dependents

Alaska $92.35 $267.60 $673.47 $939.00
Idaho $92.70 $266.67 $556.20 $556.20
Montana $66.67 $266.67 $604 $604

New Mexico  $66.67 $266.67 $635.46 $635.46
North Dakota $66.67 $266.67 $666.67 $689
Oregon $66.67 $266.67 $666.67 $1035

South Dakota $92.35* $267.60* $598 $598
Washington $69 $276 $690 $1035
Wyoming $66.67 $266.67 $666.67 $815

14 *Estimated since SD has a minimum of $299 or the actual wage less federal withholding, whichever is less. 2/1/2010

Note that in Table 8, the minimum benefit and the method both affect the compensation rate for very
low wage workers in many states (those earning minimum wage or working only part time) and the
workers in the second column end up making about the same compensation rates in all states (at an
annual wage of about $21,000). However, as wages increase, the compensation rate becomes more
affected by the maximum compensation rates and the method of calculation. So by the time injured
workers are earning about $52,000 per year (the second to last column on the right), we begin to see
differences brought about by a state’s choice of maximum benefit levels and this shows dramatically
in the example of workers’ earning over $79,000 a year (last column on the right).

Duration of Temporary Total Disability

Logically, an injured worker would receive temporary total disability benefits until they can return to
work in some capacity. Exactly how states implement this concept varies based on their own history,
case law and the level of benefits that may be available after the temporary total disability period
ends. In all jurisdictions, once the employee returns to work without any wage loss, temporary total
disability ends even if the employee is still undergoing medical treatment. This is the most
straightforward and desirable outcome for both workers and employers as it limits the economic
losses to workers and to employers.

However, sometimes the worker’s recovery is complicated or lengthy and sometimes the worker may
never be able physically, emotionally or psychologically to return to the work they did at the time of
the injury or onset of the disease. In these cases, states have created other criteria for when
temporary total benefits end and other benefits may begin. In general, the options for when
temporary total benefits end are:

e The establishment of a maximum number of weeks for which temporary total benefits will be
paid ;

e When the physician says further treatment will not help to “cure and relieve” the worker from
the effects of the injury (also known as the end of the healing period, maximum medical
improvement, maximum medical healing, or medical stability;

e When the worker returns to work in any capacity;
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e When the worker is released by a physician to return to work in some capacity;

e When the worker is released to return to work and there are jobs available the worker can do
in the local labor market

e When the worker is released to return to work and refuses a valid job offer.

Figure 1 shows a few examples of the variation in policy for the length of temporary total disability in a
number of comparator states.
Figure 1

Example of Policy Variations on Length of
Temporary Total

Most restrictive Least Restrictive

wy AK OR

ND SD * MT WA

| 1 | |
Time limitation At MMI Labor Market Survey Actual RTwW

Demonstrates Job Availability (For duration of disability)

South Dakota -TTD benefits continue for 60 days after the finding of an ascertainable loss (if the employee is unable to
return to their job atinjury) if the employee is actively preparing to engage in a program of vocational rehabilitation.
ID -2

NM — has a limitation of 700 weeks total indemnity
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The most restrictive, but predictable policy is a strict time limit for temporary total disability benefits.
A 104 week time limitation existed for the states of California, Florida, Minnesota, North Dakota,
Texas, West Virginia, and Wyoming as of July 1, 2008. Massachusetts had a 156 week temporary
total disability benefit limit. Other states had limits from 225 to 700 weeks; and some have limits on
the entire length of all weekly benefits (Arkansas at 450 weeks is such an example). The majorities of
states, however, do not have such a limitation and allow temporary total disability benefits for the
duration of the disability even though there may be other provisions that would end these benefits.

The next common option that provides a bit more individual equity and may be more predictable is for
temporary total disability benefits to end when healing ends. This is determined by the physician who
will generally conclude that further medical treatment is not going to help the employee recover any
further, and that the employee has reached maximum healing. It is generally at this point that
whatever physical limitations the worker has as residuals from the injury or illness are considered
permanent and a determination is made as to such bodily impairment and what physical abilities the
employee may have that would allow for return to work in a permanent capacity if that has not yet
occurred. In a number of states, temporary total disability benefits will cease at this point and
permanent partial disability benefits or permanent total disability benefits will begin at this time.

Although this sounds relatively straight forward, there are a number of friction areas where
disagreements take place. Physicians may differ on when an employee reaches maximum medical
healing, what the employee physically can do and whether or not the employee can do the work they
had at the time of injury. These are areas where each state’s history and case law will determine
guidelines for how to resolve these issues. In Montana, case law and subsequent legislative changes
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have created the need for the parties to often fight over whether or not the employee has suffered
“actual wage loss” because this is a key criterion for the payment of the next benefit, permanent
partial disability. The criteria end up being vocational opinions on whether or not the employee is
“employable in the current labor market with their current physical limitations combined with their level
of marketable skills and education”. It is suspected that the higher than average rehabilitation
payments are for these opinions rather than for actual services rendered to assist the employee in
returning to work, although there may be some of those costs in these payments as well. The point is
that this is a significant “friction” point in the Montana system and one that could be streamlined,
possibly made more efficient and more predictable.

In some states, temporary total disability benefits will continue regardless of maximum medical
healing as long as the worker has continued wage losses. In those situations (Montana is among
these states), there is a huge incentive for an employer and insurer to find and offer a position to the
injured worker in order for their ongoing payments to end, or to prove by performing a labor market
survey that work exists in the local labor market that the employee can perform. These situations are
heavily affected by not only the injured worker’s motivation to return to work and their physical
abilities, but also by the labor market in which they live and work. These approaches tend to be less
predictable to price and more litigious since there is more individual justice with each case having to
be decided on the specific facts involved. It is also unclear from available research that these systems
have any better lost earning outcomes for workers since many of these cases end up with
settlements where both parties agree to the end of the temporary disability period and the payment of
the next benefit in the sequence.

If during any period of temporary total disability, the employer (or another employer) offers the injured
worker a position that the physician believed they could do even though they may be recovering, it
may be cause for discontinuance of temporary total disability since if they accepted the position, they
would have fewer wage losses. In reality, such discontinuance only lasts for the period of such refusal
or until the condition becomes worse and they can no longer physically do such a job.

Lastly, in most states, cost of living escalators are not applied to temporary total disability benefits
since they seldom last for more than a few weeks to a few years. Where used, it is usually in states
that pay ongoing benefits whenever there is any wage loss for as long as wage losses continue but
there are exceptions (Idaho for example).

Temporary Partial Disability

The other wage loss benefit that may be paid during the period when the employee is still healing and
undergoing active medical treatment is temporary partial disability benefits. These are generally paid
when an employee is working less hours or at a different job that may pay them less due to their
temporary physical inability to do the job they had at the time of injury. Montana was one of the only
states to set a limit of 26 weeks on the length of these benefits, but this was eliminated in 2009 to be
more consistent with policies in other states and to eliminate what may have been a disincentive for a
worker to return to work.

Research has demonstrated that workers recover faster and to a greater extent if they are allowed to
heal while continuing to work, even if it is not full time or they cannot do all the duties they had at the
time of injury. Our work life plays a significant role in our self image and social lives, much of which
deteriorates when a work related injury creates changes and added stress in our already stressful
lives. The degree to which workers’ compensation systems create economic incentives or
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disincentives to return to work affects more than simply costs for employers, they can reduce the
uncompensated losses for workers also.

The amount of temporary partial disability benefits an injured worker receives is usually dependent on
the same factors that affect temporary total disability with two exceptions: how temporary partial
disability benefits are calculated; and how long they may continue.

Figure 2

Temporary Partial Disability Calculation
in Montana

C\\//:;iug; == Current =)= :z:r:::;Trary
Wage VVvage Benefit

Assume AVWW=$600, CurrentV¥Wages=$300

$600 = =] $300 -] $300

Note: Benefit for TPD = $300 (not taxable); Earnings working 2 time = $300 (taxable)

22 2/11/2010

Most states will calculate temporary partial disability as a percentage of the difference between the
employees wage at the time of injury and the wage they are able to earn while working part time or at
a lower wage due to an injured worker’s medically verified disability. Most of these percentages are
66 2/3% or 80% of the difference, but again, there is quite a bit of variation from state to state. For
example the percentage can be as low as 50% (in South Dakota for example) or 100% as in
Montana. Again, the public policy objective is to fairly compensate the worker but not to a level that
will discourage a return to full wages. It is possible that Montana’s current policy could discourage
some employees from returning to work full time since they actually make more money working in a
temporarily disability condition than they do working full time. This occurs because if they were
working full time, all their wages would be taxable, but working part time allows the temporary partial
disability benefits to not be subject to taxes. This increases a worker’s “spendable wage” to more than
it would be if they were working full time (See the note at the bottom of Figure 2 for an example)

This may be an intentional public policy decision to encourage return to work; and since temporary
partial benefits discontinue at maximum medical healing, it would likely not be a significant cost driver
in the Montana system.

Temporary Total Disability Duration in Montana and Other States

Staff at the Employment Relations Division of the Montana Department of Labor used their workers’
compensation claims database to estimate the disability duration for temporary total disability claims
in Montana. They computed the average number of weeks of temporary disability. These results can
be seen in Table 9.
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Table 9

Montana Average Duration of Temporary Disability — ERD Database

---FY03-FY08
1 Year Maturity 3 Year Maturity

I?ZZ?I Plfn Plzan Plgn All Plans Pllan Plé';m Plgan All Plans
2003 13.4 14.9 16.2 15.5 19.4 20.9 20.9 20.7
2004 11.7 13.1 16.2 14.6 18.1 18.1 21.7 20.1
2005 13.2 14.1 17.0 15.6 19.2 20.1 22.4 21.2
2006 13.5 13.8 16.9 15.4 17.4 18.7 23.9 21.2
2007 14.2 14.9 15.4 15.1

2008 12.5 13.7 15.0 14.2

Total # of
Claims 26,384 18,324

Note 1, data was captured from 4 WCAP tables injury, subs_rpt, froi, pay_adj on Dec 2009.

Note 2, only claims with TTD or TPD or both were considered in this calculation.
Note 3, extremely high (weekly benefit rate>$626) or low(weekly benefit rate<$60) values were excluded.

Note 4, TTD WBR(weekly benefit rate) is used for both TTD and TPD, when TTD WBR is available;
TPD WBR is used when TTD WBR is not available;
Cases are excluded when both TTD WBR and TPD WBR are not available.
Note 5, for each case, no 1 year maturity is beyond 52 weeks and no 3 year maturity is beyond 157 weeks.
Note 6, waiting period is changed from 4 days to 7 days in order to compare with WCRI table.
1-3 days, Cases with Duration of Disability is less than or equal to 3 days are excluded.

>3 days, Duration of Disability for other cases is subtracted by 3 days.

As a comparison, we can look at the Workers’ Compensation Research Institute’s most recent
CompScope™ publication where they compare multiple states’ disability durations. The resulting
comparison (Table 10) of the WCRI data on their states and comparing it to the Montana durations in
Table 8 is useful in that Montana’s disability durations for temporary disability do not appear to be at
either the low (or as suspected) the highest duration. They are however considerably above the mean
and median at 1 Year Maturity (12 months), so there is significant room for improvement. By three
years, however, they are closer to the median and mean of the CompScope™ states. This would
tend to support Montana’s need to provide earlier return to work opportunities for injured workers.

12 Month Average Maturity

Unadjusted Values

Table 10

36 Months' Average Maturity

Unadjusted Values

# of Weeks # of Weeks
2007-2008 Claims 2005-2008
Louisiana 16.9 35.7
North Carolina 16.1 28.4
California 14.7 22.1
Pennsylvania 14.2 24
Massachusetts 14 23.7
Illinois 13.9 20.2
Texas 13.9 18.6
Tennessee 12.2 144
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Maryland 12.1 20
Michigan 11.8 18.8
Florida 11.7 15.8
Minnesota 9.3 13.6
Wisconsin 8.5 9.6
Median* 13.9 20
Mean* 13.02 20.38

Data was taken from WCRI CompScope Benchmarks, 10th Edition (December 2009), in descending order
by 12 month averages. This data is a benchmark for comparison to the Montana data. Please note that this
data is not broken out by plan (self-insured, private insurer, state fund).

*Statistics calculated by Data Management Unit, ERD.

However, when the Montana disability durations are divided by plan type (Table 9), it would appear
that Plan 3 claims have greater disability durations than other plans. There could be a number of
reasons for this, but the most compelling is that Plan 3 is the writer of all workers compensation
insurance policies for any employer in Montana that no other insurer is willing to write. This would
mean that they probably have the majority of small employers and high risk employers which
presents more unique challenges in return to work full time or part time. And since they write about
two thirds of the premium in the state of Montana, their experience is a greater influence on all of
Montana’s outcomes.

Permanent Partial Disability

The most common benefit paid after the injured worker has reached maximum healing or maximum
medical improvement in all states, is permanent partial disability. This is also the benefit area with
the greatest variation among states and the most difficult to design to accomplish the public policy
objectives of predictable, adequate, equitable and efficiently delivered benefits.

The most used references on the history and issues involved in the design and implementation of
permanent partial disability benefits are:
1. The National Commission Report of 1972;
2. Permanent Disability Benefits In Workers’ Compensation, by Berkowitz and Burton, published
in 1987 by the W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research;
3. Permanent Partial Disability Benefits: Interstate Differences, by Barth and Niss, published in
1999 by the Workers’ Compensation Research Institute;
4. Who Obtains Permanent Partial Disability Benefits: A Six State Analysis, by Barth, Helvacian
and Liu, published in 2002 by the Workers Compensation Research Institute;
5. Factors That Influence The Amount and Probability of Permanent Partial Disability Benefits, by
Borba and Helvacian, published in 2006 by the Workers Compensation Research Institute; and
6. Permanent Partial Disability Benefits, by Edward Welch, published in 2008 by Michigan State
University.

Barth and Niss provide a workable definition of permanent partial disability across most states,
“Permanent partial disability is designed to compensate a worker for their permanent loss of future
income and non-economic losses due to the permanent residual of their work related injury”.
Montana has two separate benefits that most states would call “permanent partial disability”. One is
referred to as “impairment” and is paid when the employee has returned to work and has permanent
physical limitations but may not have any wage loss, and the other is referred to as permanent partial
disability and is defined in the Montana code as “...a physical condition in which a worker, after
reaching maximum medical healing: has permanent impairment established by objective medical
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findings; is able to return to work in some capacity but the permanent impairment impairs the worker’'s
ability to work; and has an actual wage loss as a result of the injury”®. The amount paid in states for
permanent partial disability benefits is affected by the following:
e The basic design and purpose for these benefits in each jurisdiction
e The method used to determine what benefits will be paid
e The calculation of the benefit and depending on that, the employee’s average weekly wage
may be a factor; or a statutory limit for the number of weeks for each bodily member or for the
body as a whole may be a factor or a statutory number of dollars may be a factor
¢ Whether or not the state requires or suggests that physicians use a specific reference to
determine permanent bodily impairment and which reference is used
e The maximum and minimum benefit levels;
¢ Whether the state modifies the benefit for factors such as age, education or extent of physical
impairment;
¢ Whether or not the employee returns to work; and
e Whether or not these benefits are paid concurrently with permanent total disability benefits or
even other temporary benefits, such as temporary partial disability.

Basic Design Approaches for PPD

The design of permanent partial disability benefits (PPD) in the states appears to fall into two levels of
design decisions historically made by policymakers. The first involves a decision to base estimated
loss of future earning capacity and non-economic losses (since we do not know how much a worker
will lose until some point in the future) on their degree of permanent physical impairment. This is
referred to as an Impairment approach. In the impairment approach either the body as a whole is
given a value or states have a “schedule” of body parts that are each given a value. This value
usually takes the form of a number of weeks, but some states may use a total dollar value for the
whole body or what they refer to as “unscheduled injuries”, meaning injuries to a body part where no
statutory schedule exists. A visual diagram of this two step approach to understanding the design of
PPD systems exists in Diagram 3.

Diagram 3

Permanent Partial Disability: Structural
Variations

Scheduled
Injuries
1
- Impairment Bifurcated
[ Total Loss [ Partial Loss [ Approach [ Approach

*Barth and Niss, Permanent Partial Disability Benefits: Interstate Differences, | 999, VW CRI
26 2/3/2010

Loss of Wage
Earning
Capacity

Examples of Scheduled and Unscheduled PPD Benefits in Impairment States
If a state has “scheduled PPD benefits” and the employee lost an entire arm or the use of the entire
arm as a result of the work injury, the PPD benefit would be calculated by multiplying the employees

® Montana Statute 39-71-116(24)
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PPD rate by the number of weeks of the statutory value of an arm. Table 11 shows the statutory
schedule used in Delaware as of 2008.

Table 11
Delaware
Statutory Schedule for PPD
Hand 220 Weeks
Arm 250 Weeks
Foot 160 Weeks
Leg 250 Weeks
Thumb 75 Weeks
First finger 50 Weeks
Second finger 40 Weeks
Third finger 30 Weeks
Fourth finger 20 Weeks
Great toe 40 Weeks
Other toes 15 Weeks
Eye 200 Weeks

In reality, most injuries do not involve the loss of an entire bodily member, but result in the loss of use
of a portion of that member, either due to a permanent loss of motion or function. In scheduled benefit
states, the physician would determine when the employee has reached maximum medical
improvement and then would use a reference (like the American Medical Association’s Guide to
Evaluating Permanent Disabilities) and follow the guidance on how to come up with a rating of the
degree of impairment to a bodily member. They would then communicate this impairment rating to the
employer/insurer who then calculates the amount of PPD benefits owed. The resulting benefit
calculation would look something like the following for Delaware, a scheduled benefit state:

Table 12
Body Part Injured Rating Value of Resulting Paid At PPD
Entire Duration of | Compensation
Hand PPD Benefits Rate
Hand 30% 220 weeks 66 weeks 2/3 AWW up to a
maximum of 66
2/3% of the
SAWW
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If the employee in this example made $600 a week at the time of injury, the PPD compensation rate
for this worker in the above example would be $400 ($600 x 2/3) and the resulting PPD benefit in
Delaware for this example would be $26,400.

This first level of variation in state PPD system design is whether or not states have statutory
schedules for how much the total loss of a body part is worth. (There is an interesting history of these
type of approaches in the Berkowitz and Burton publication dating back to pre-biblical times through
the use of these policy decisions to establish fair compensation for the loss of a body part used by the
pirates and by accident insurance policies and workers’ compensation systems.) Examples of the
policy decisions made by some states on the value of an arm and a leg are shown for a select
number of states in Table 13.

Table 13
Variations in “Scheduled Injuries” for PPD in Select States

State Scheduled Value — Arm Scheduled Value — Leg
Idaho 350 weeks 250 weeks
lowa 250 weeks 220 weeks
North Dakota Not in Schedule 234 weeks
Tennessee 200 weeks 200 weeks
Utah 187 weeks 125 weeks

In states like Montana, where there is no statutory “schedule” of benefits by body part, the statute will
still specify the maximum weeks or dollars payable for permanent impairment to the body as a whole.
(Montana statute allows 375 weeks for the whole body.) These states are categorized as
“unscheduled” PPD injury states since they do not have a statutory schedule for individual body parts.
Other unscheduled PPD benefit states are Alaska ($177,000), Connecticut (520 weeks), Florida(2, 3,
4 or 6 weeks for each percentage impairment), Kentucky (425 weeks or 520 weeks), Minnesota
(Statutory scale), Nevada (5 years or to age 70 whichever is later), North Carolina (300 weeks),
Oregon (1 week for each percent impairment and 1.5 weeks for each percentage impairment if wage
loss), South Carolina (340 weeks), Texas (300 weeks), Vermont (405 or 550 weeks), and Wyoming
(44 months). All other states have some distinction based on a statutory schedule of body parts or
they pay strictly based on actual wage losses.

In the case of Montana, the entire body is worth 375 weeks’. Even in states that use “scheduled”
PPD benefits, they still usually have a value of the body as a whole for “unscheduled” injuries like
backs, internal organs and other such conditions. This maximum value for the body as a whole is
then used in the same fashion as in Table 11 above to calculate the PPD benefit for an injured
worker. The impairment rating will be lower than the one used in the Delaware since the
consideration of impairment is not “how much of the hand function was lost?”, but “how much of the
body function was lost due to the lost use of the hand?”; a subtle but significant difference. The
process of determining the benefit is the same: the physician would determine when the employee
has reached maximum medical improvement and then would use a reference (like the American
Medical Association’s Guide to Evaluating Permanent Disabilities) and follow the guidance on how to
come up with a rating of the degree of impairment to the body as a whole. They would then
communicate this rated impairment to the employer/insurer so they can calculate the amount of PPD
benefits owed. The resulting benefit calculation would look something like the following as the first
step in the benefit calculation for Montana:

" Montana Code Annotated 2009, 39-71-703(3).
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Table 14

Example of Impairment Benefit Calculation for Montana

Body Part Rating Is To | Value of Resulting Paid At PPD
Injured Body As A Entire Duration of Compensation
Whole Body PPD Benefits Rate
Hand 15% 375 weeks 56.25 weeks 66 2/3 % AWW up to a
max of 50% of the
SAWW

If the employee in this example made $600 a week at the time of injury, the PPD compensation rate
for this worker in the above example would be $302 on 7/1/2008 ($600 x 66 2/3% = $400 but capped
at 50% of SAWW $302 as of 7/1/2008) and the resulting PPD benefit in Montana for this example
would be $ 16,987 if the employee was back to work (a second step is used in Montana for workers
who have not returned to work which will be explained in the next section). This example
demonstrates not only the difference in the method used to determine the number of weeks payable,
but also points out the differences in the decisions Delaware and Montana have made in the level of
compensation to be paid weekly for permanent partial disability benefits.

Modifying Permanent Partial Payments To Ensure More Adequate and Equitable Benefits

As mentioned previously, policymakers strive to design workers’ compensation benefit systems that
are adequate (replace a fair amount of lost earnings to injured workers, but not to a level that creates
a disincentive for return to work) and equitable (so both the more severely injured workers get the
most benefits and like injured workers get similar benefits). In the examples of PPD calculations in
Tables 11 and 13, you will notice that there is no mention of the risk of job loss from these injuries;
and yet, the injured worker’s occupation at the time of injury and the resulting permanent loss
associated with that injury will affect similarly workers very differently. A typical example is that of the
amputation of a hand. Such a loss of function (or permanent physical impairment) may not affect a
management consultant in their future earning capacity at all, but it will eliminate the career of the
concert pianist. Although additional factors to recognize this disparate affect of similar injuries on the
amount of future wage losses of workers creates some additional administrative burden, it generally
provides more adequate and equitable benefits. The trick in these design decisions is to create a
method that does not once again create disincentives for return to work, but provides more adequate
benefits to those workers who actually have more future lost earnings.

Montana modifies their basic calculation of permanent partial disability benefits due an injured worker
so that workers who do not return to work have their PPD benefits increased as a result of age,
education, amount of actual wages lost per hour and the physical nature of their work at the time of
injury®. Diagram 3 visually shows how the permanent partial disability structure works in Montana
and Table 15 provides an example of how this affects three different workers with the same injury and
the same wage at the time of injury.® The fact that Montana continues to have a fairly low litigation
rate and a fairly administratively efficient benefit structure leads one to believe the basic structure is
fairly sound and pretty well designed.

& Montana Code Annotated 2009, 39-71-703((5)

® For the reader’s reference, diagrams of the comparator state’s structures are located in the appendix to this paper. To make this
paper more useful specifically to Montana, a full range of details about alternate systems is not being discussed. There is no “one
right” way to design PPD benefit structures and every model has both advantages and disadvantages.
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Diagram 3
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Montana does a better job of adjusting their benefit structure to the actual wage losses of individual
workers than do a number of states, making their benefits more horizontally equitable and probably
more adequate in a number of respects. Taking four separate workers and applying the Montana
design elements according to statute will result in the following permanent partial disability benefits for
these workers:

Table 15

lllustrative Impact of Montana’s PPD Benefit Structure on Three Workers
Injured Worker’s Type of | Wage at | Impairment Additional Resulting | Resulting

Situation Permanent | Time of Benefits Vocational Rating PPD
(all were injured on Injury Injury Due Statutory Benefits
7/1/2008) Modifiers Due
Added

23 year old plumber
with vocational

school training who Back injury; $11,325 None, employee
does medium labor 10% $800/wk is back to work 10% $11,325
activity and is back Impairment ($302* x 37.5 with no loss of Impairment
to work at MMI rating wkKs) earnings rating only
Add 1% for age
53 year old . over 40; a}dd 1% $41,902.50
construction worker Back injury; $11,325 for education less '
with no HS diploma 10% $800/wk than 12 years; 37% rating ($302 x
does heavy labor ’ Impairment ($302* x 37.5 20% for wage 138.75
rating wks) loss; and add 5% weeks)

activity and is not for heavy labor

RTW at MMI activity that he
can no longer do
59 year old
administrative
assistant with Back injury; $11,325 Add 1% for age
college diploma who 10% $800/wk and 20% for 31% rating | $35,107.50
does light labor Impairment ($302* x 37.5 wage loss ($302 x
activity and is not rating wkKs) 116.25
RTW at MMI weeks)
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¢ Note that 2/3% of the AWW of all three workers is $533.33 a week. PPD benefits in Montana pay a weekly
maximum amount of 50% of the statewide average weekly wage, which on 7/1/2008 was $302.

You will note that 2/3% of the average weekly wage of all three workers is $533.33 a week (2/3% of
$800). PPD benefits in Montana pay a weekly maximum amount of 50% of the statewide average
weekly wage, which on 7/1/2008 was $302. Oklahoma also pays 50% of their SAWW as their
maximum (Colorado pays this only for scheduled injures, for unscheduled injuries they pay a higher
maximum), but only a few states pay a lower maximum weekly rate for permanent partial disability
benefits. North Dakota paid 33 1/3% of the statewide average weekly wages as their maximum as of
7/1/2008 and other states set a statutory dollar figure not tied to their average weekly wage.
Examples of states with a statutory dollar maximum payable per week for PPD benefits are Alabama
with $220; California with $230 for most injuries; and Wisconsin with $272 as of July 1, 2008. Even for
the states that pay a lower maximum weekly benefit rate for permanent partial disability, most of them
pay that amount for more weeks than does Montana. See this comparison in Table 16.

Table 16

Maximum PPD Benefit Rates and Whole Body Values in Lower PPD Maximum States as of 7/1/2008

State Maximum PPD Weekly Rate Maximum Number of Weeks for
Unscheduled Injuries
Alabama $220 300
California $230
Colorado $247.42"° 400 weeks and also a $ limit
Montana $302 375 weeks
North Dakota $382.74 No permanent impairment payment unless
rating is at least 16% of the whole body;
maximum whole body impairment is 1500
weeks
Oklahoma $289 500 weeks
Wisconsin $272 1000 weeks

It would appear that the permanent partial disability structure in Montana was not designed to support
an injured worker while not working since few workers can live on $302 a week. And at a maximum of
375 weeks, is probably not adequate to cover the wages lost for most workers who are not able to
return to work. An additional comparison of PPD benefits makes sense with comparator states. In
table 17 you will find a comparison of the maximum benefits that would be payable for 100% whole
person disability of maximum impairment plus maximum modifiers.

Table 17

Maximum Total Amounts Payable for A Non-Scheduled Loss in Comparator States as of 7/1/08

Alaska Idaho Montana New North Oregon South | Washington | Wyoming
Mexico | Dakota Dakota
$177,000 | $169,950 $113,250 $444,822 | $574,110 | $292.038 | $186,576 $174,259 $263,571

19 Note this is misleading as this was a statutory maximum which is to be multiplied by the increase in the SAWW each year from July
1, 2000 to the date of injury. So the actual maximum that would have been paid will vary by date of injury and is likely quite a bit
higher for a fair comparison to these other states.
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Using this comparison, it appears that the total potentially payable for PPD benefits in Montana is
lower than all other comparator states. This may mean that Montana’s PPD benefits are not as
adequate as those of other like states. But a separate study would have to be done to determine this
for sure.

Of concern, however is the claim by insurers that the problem in the Montana benefit structure is PPD
benefits. If one looks at all benefits paid for in PPD claims, it does appear that this is the most costly
category, but then that is the case in most states.

In order to determine if this is the case and if it works in that fashion, one must look at how permanent
partial disability benefits interrelate with the “front end” (temporary benefits) and “back end”
(permanent total) disability benefits in their system structure as well as how they work with
rehabilitation benefits, meaning what economic incentives and disincentives does the structure create
and how are return to work tools and assistance structured to reduce those incentives and
disincentives so the outcomes work for both the worker and the employer. One can do this
theoretically and test this hypothesis with a comparison of actual benefits paid within Montana and in
comparison to other states (if data is available in other states). Before this concept is reviewed, we
must explain the last disability benefit in our discussion of the Montana system, permanent total
disability benefits.

Permanent Total Disability Benefits (PTD)

This benefit was designed for those injured workers with the most severe injuries or for those workers
who have little opportunity for any employment after their injury. Although some states statutorily
define permanent total disability as the loss of two eyes, two arms, two legs or any combination of two
of these losses, Montana'’s definition is “a physical condition resulting from injury...after a worker
reaches maximum medical healing, in which a worker does not have a reasonable prospect of
physically performing regular employment. Regular employment means work on a recurring basis
performed for remuneration in a trade, business, profession, or other occupation in this state. Lack of
immediate job openings is not a factor to be considered in determining if a worker is permanently
totally disabled.”* This definition appears to be more relevant to modern times; post Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA) and the advent of assistive technology than the usual statutory loss of both
eyes, etc.

The amount and duration of permanent total disability benefits paid to an injured worker in any
jurisdiction is dependent on:
e The statutory definition of a permanent total disability in each state;
The worker’s average weekly wage at the time of injury;
The percentage of the worker’s average weekly wage to be replaced in a given state;
Whether or not the weekly benefits recognize numbers of dependents;
The maximum and minimum benefits set by each state;
What other disability benefits will be allowed to offset these benefits;
Whether there is a limit established by statute; and
Whether there is any cost of living escalator allowed.

These are very similar to the factors that affect temporary total disability benefits and in most states
the weekly permanent total disability benefit is the same as that paid for temporary total disability with
the same maximum and minimum levels, the entitlement for which are generally established based

" Montana Code Annotated 2009, 39-71-116(25).
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on a worker’s date of injury. So the previous comparisons in tables 4 and 6 also apply to permanent
total disability benefits and the same policy challenge occurs in how to compensate injured workers
with more dependents equitably and efficiently. The only exception to the application of those tables
to permanent total disability is that for Oregon, their maximum weekly compensation rate for PTD
benefits falls from 133% of their statewide average weekly wage to 100% of their statewide average
weekly wage.

The factors that are different in most states for PTD benefits are what offsets on these benefits the
employer and insurer are allowed to take, how much of an offset they are allowed to take; if a cost of
living adjustment is allowed and if so, the amount and frequency of such increase in weekly benefits;
and when PTD benefits end.

Table 18 compares these factors for Montana and the comparator states. In addition to the limitations
listed, all states will discontinue PTD benefits on the death of the worker or on a finding of
employability (which means the worker is no longer permanently and totally disabled).

Table 18

Offsets, Cost of Living Adjustments (COLA), and Limitations on Duration of PTD Benefits in

Comparator States

State s Limitation
COLA Limitation on
COLA . Offsets Allowed : Based on
Calculation Duration .
Retirement
AK Teachers’ retirement; AK Public '
. ; Benefits are for
retirement; any employer funded
; . . length of total None other than
Alaska None n/a union or group retirement program; L
. . disability and may offsets
and half of any social security ’ .
) ; ; be paid for life
retirement being received
After 52 weeks aﬁi?egggﬁ Benefits are for
Idaho of TTD paid and the statewide None length of total None
each January 1 average disability and may
thereafter 9 be paid for life
weekly wage
After 104 weeks | Based on the Until retirement as Uanst |lj;eﬁt:1rggw gnt
of PTD benefits | % increase in 50% of Social Security Disability . . . y
L . X . defined by receipt of | receipt of Social
Montana paid ; benefits the statewide may offset workers compensation : . ]
. . Social Security Security
adjusted each average benefits . . )
ear weekly wage Retirement Benefits Reitrement
y y wag Benefits
Private disability insurance paid by Benefits are for
New length of total
. None n/a the employer and unemployment LS None
Mexico ) disability and may
benefits : .
be paid for life
Based on Payable until Payable until
increase in . . . retirement (then retirement (then
gorktht |I'ICI’eJauSIeSleaCh 60% of the Socm:ﬂii?;;'?é2:‘:&'2‘9:32%2”“& other state paid other state paid
axota Y statewide 9 benefits may be benefits may be
weekly wage paid) paid)
Paid from a .
special fund d D_ec_:lded_ |
with amount administrative .
and frequency y based on Benefits are for
h monies . N length of total
Oregon admcijr?iggggvel available in the Social Security Disability disability and may None
based on y fund created be paid for life
monies for this
available purpose
South Increases Based on the Social Security Old Age (PTD Benefits are for None
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Dakota

annually

consumer
price index
(CPI) for urban
wage earners
and clerical
workers not to
exceed 3%

benefits are then 150% of TTD
weekly rate less Social Security
payments)

length of total
disability and may
be paid for life

Based on %

Benefits are for

Washington Increases each :iLg%r;agfe tr?fe Social Securit length of total None
9 July 1 o of y disability and may
Statewide : .
be paid for life
weekly wage
Paid for 80 months
then benefit
becomes “extended
Wyoming None n/a None PTD” and must be None

renewed annually
but may be paid for
life

Source: WC Laws — 2™ Edition, 2009, Workers’ Compensation Research Institute

Cost Drivers Associated with Permanent Total Disability Benefits

The future cost impact of cost of living escalators on lifetime benefits and legal challenges to the
constitutionality of the limitation due to social security retirement is significant on estimated
permanent total disability cases.

As an example, of the estimated total amount an employer or insurer may have to reserve (these are
amounts of money that are expected to be paid out over time and into the future) on one single case
of a 45 year old male who is being paid permanent total weekly benefits injured on 7/1/2008 and paid
at the maximum rate of $604, would be $1,033,514 if there were no duration or retirement limits.
($604 a week for a life expectancy of 32.78 years x 52.2 weeks per year = 1711 weeks x $604
payable per week = $1,033,514 in benefits) Although this money can be set aside to earn interest on
a decreasing principle amount for 32 years (until they are eligible for Social Security), adding a cost
of living adjustment that may average 3% a year or so, pretty much cancels the potential current
investment earnings, especially since this COLA is compounded. This does not, however mean that
state benefit structures should not have cost of living escalators since disabled injured workers
cannot be expected to live on what would have been the maximum benefit 20 years ago ($318 in
1990 for example) without an increase of some kind annually. What it does mean, is that Oregon’s
approach of having the COLA paid from an administrative fund means that employers and insurers
are not reserving for these significant future payments and although they pay into the fund which pays
these benefits to workers, the full amount of the future liability is not going into the rate structure.

Since Montana statutorily limits permanent total disability benefits to retirement as defined by the
receipt of Social Security Retirement benefits, the benefits in the example above would have been
less by about 10.78 years assuming the 45 year old would receive Social Security at age 67. Since
this statutory provision was enacted fairly recently and the constitutionality of this provision was
challenged in the courts? and just recently found to be constitutional, one outstanding question is
whether or not insurers reserved as if they had no retirement limitation or whether they reserved as if
it were going to be found constitutional. If they reserved as if they had no retirement limitation, those
excess reserves (those between assumed retirement age and life expectancy) could now be reduced
and average incurred figures for these cases would dramatically fall, having a positive effect on

12 See Satterlee v. Lumberman’s Mutual Casualty
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employer’s premiums. (Note that the Montana State Fund has indicated they did not reserve for an
adverse decision in the Satterlee case.)

Lastly, according to the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI), Montana has a higher
than average frequency of injured workers who become permanently and totally disabled and that
payments for those claims are higher than those of many other states. Table 19, taken from the
NCCI Statistical Bulletin of July 1, 2009 shows that Montana had 4.2% of Indemnity benefits paid for
PTD claims after 5 years (meaning at the 5" report). This is the highest percentage of the comparator
states for which NCCI has information.

Table 19

Percentage of Indemnity Paid on PTD Claims
(For 2001/2002 Policy Period at 5" Report)

State Percentage of Indemnity Paid on PTD
Claims
Alaska 1.5%
Idaho 1.6%
Montana 4.2%
New Mexico 1.9%
Oregon 1.5%
South Dakota 1.6%

However, it appears this phenomenon may have been addressed by subsequent legislation and
employer and insurer behavior in adjusting to a Supreme Court decision that required them to more
actively show that suitable work is available that the employee is physically able to do in order to
successfully defend against a claim for permanent total disability benefits'®. This conclusion is
arrived at since the amounts reported to the Employment Relations Division by all workers’
compensation payers shows a decrease in the reported PTD cases when looked at after 5 years of
benefits have been paid for years 2001 through 2004** . These figures are shown in Table 20 and
show a decreasing trend in the frequency of PTD claims reported by the 4" and 5™ year.

Table 20
Number of PTD Cases Reported With Payments To The Employment Relations Division By All
Payers
Year By End of 4™ Year By End of 5" Year
2001 40 45
2002 39 40
2003 39 33
2004 25 26
2005 25

Source: Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Employment Relations Division, Fiscal Year 2008 Annual Report

13 See Coles v. American Motorists Insurance Company
14 See Exhibit 5.13 in the Employment Relation Division’s Annual Report for 2009.
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Transitions Between Benefit Types and Implications For Structural Issues

Previous mention has been made in this paper of “friction” points and “tension” areas during the
transitions from one type of benefit to another. The NCCI reports that in Montana, most of the benefit
dollars are spent on cases where permanent partial disability is paid.*® In the NCCI method, all
benefits paid on any case where there is a PPD payment but no PTD or fatality payment is
categorized as payment for the PPD case, it may even include some cases where no PPD benefits
have been paid, but temporary disability duration lasts longer than 52 weeks. So all medical,
temporary total disability, temporary partial disability, or any permanent partial disability paid will all be
categorized as payments on a PPD case. If we look at the actual payments by payment type (rather
than by benefit case type), one can see that the majority of cases and the majority of benefits fall into
the TTD or PTD payments, not the PPD payments for Montana. This can be seen in Table 2, where
for example in the fiscal year 2002, about 21.06% of benefits paid were for PPD benefits. (If you use
these figures to calculate the total % of each indemnity benefit paid for fiscal year 2002 injuries, the
result would be 46.2% for temporary total disability; 3.2% for temporary partial disability; 41.8% for
permanent partial disability; 5.5% for permanent total disability; and 3.9% for vocational rehabilitation)

This may simply mean that PPD benefits per case are lower than those of other states which increase
the amount of payments (and relative percentage) for TTD and PTD benefits. It also could mean that
in Montana, there is front end pressure and back end pressure in the system structure surrounding
permanent partial disability benefits.

This especially makes sense when the PPD benefit maximum is set at a level where all but the lowest
paid workers’ weekly benefits are capped by the maximum benefit, which is set at 50% of the
statewide average weekly wage (currently at $313 a week). This is at a level that very few workers
could live on if this was their only source of income and it was always paid out in a bi-weekly fashion.
Since the PPD benefit rate is one that workers cannot live on, it is reasonable to assume there would
then be significant economic pressure for the injured worker to remain on temporary total disability for
as long as they could (if they are not working) or to become eligible for permanent total disability.
This effect is what we mean by “front end” and “back end” pressure. Since it would appear that
Montana has longer than average temporary total disability and more benefits paid in permanent total
disability, this lends some credibility to this theory of pressure points at both ends of the permanent
partial disability benefit transitions.

In order to both improve permanent partial disability benefits to reduce some of this pressure at both
ends, and ease the transition from TTD to PTD, a number of structural changes could be made. One
would be to eliminate the disputes over whether or not there are jobs the employee can do in the local
labor market before PPD benefits begin by ending TTD benefits at maximum medical healing (when
the doctor says further medical care will not help the employee recover and whatever physical
impairment the employee has at that time is permanent) and immediately begin the payment of PPD
“impairment” or PPD wage loss benefits based on whether or not the employee has returned to work
when TTD benefits end. The second would be that Montana no longer requires that there be an
actual wage loss for employees to be eligible for PPD wage loss benefits, it is simply based on if they
are back to work or not making at least the wage at the time of injury. There would probably need to
be a couple of additional criteria added to ensure neither employees or employers could “game” the
system since there are significant economic incentives to do so, such as the employee would not be
entitled to PPD wage loss if a suitable job offer has been made and the worker refused it; and that

> NCCI publication entitled Workers’ Compensation System Overview dated February 2010, Revised.
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any job offer made by an employer would have to be “suitable”. Lastly, the PPD weekly maximum
would have to be increased to at least 75% of the statewide average weekly wage for employees not
back to work at the time TTD ends with the goal of increasing it further toward 100% of the statewide
average weekly wage if the revisions are successful in reducing unnecessary dueling vocational
opinions and makes the system more predictable, adequate and equitable.

Return to Work

Finally, the best outcome for both workers and employers in Montana is if the injured worker can
safely return to work as soon as possible. The American College of Occupational & Environmental
Medicine notes the following, “The key to preventing disability is intervening while the situation is still
fresh and fluid. In addition, one of the major findings of the WCRI publication entitled Who Obtains
Permanent Partial Disability Payments: A Six State Analysis, by Barth, Helvacian and Lui in 2002 was
that “Temporary disability duration is a key to understanding PPD rates.” In that study, they found a
very strong association between the duration of temporary disability benefits, and the probability that
a case would result in PPD benefits paid. They hypothesized that if claims of comparable severity
could be resolved more promptly and workers were able to go back to work earlier, fewer PPD cases
and lower system costs may occur.

Research has confirmed that people who never lose time from work have better physical and
economic outcomes than people who lose some time from work. Several studies confirm that the
odds of returning to work drop with every passing day not at work. Some studies have shown that the
odds for return to work to full employment drop to 50-50 by the time 6 months of absence has
occurred. Even less encouraging is the study behind Figure 4 (below), showing the decay curve for
workers’ compensation cases at a major US manufacturer. In this population, the odds of a worker
ever returning to work had dropped to 50% by just the 12th week.” *

Figure 4
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“Preventing Needless Work Disability by Helping People Stay Employed” ACOEM, 2005

Although there has been significant progress in “early reporting” of injuries, the ability to identify which
of those “early reported” injuries requires medical or vocational intervention has been problematic. It

1% preventing Needless Work Disability by Helping People Stay Employed, Stay-at-Work & Return-to-Work
Committee of the American College of Occupational & Environmental Medicine, 2005
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has become industry practice for Workers’ Compensation payers to utilize a variety of criteria at the
time of first notice of loss to identify which cases they believe will be prolonged disability cases and to
attempt to intervene to shorten such predicted disability. However, this is often too late and the
current employer best practice is to intervene on the first day of disability to determine if there is work
the employee can do in a partially disabled condition. *’

The American College of Occupational & Environmental Medicine confirms this movement toward
more sophisticated tools for identifying with risk factors for prolonged disability. “Many employers and
some insurers now begin return to work efforts within 72 hours and some now begin on the day of
injury -- rather than the more traditional approach of waiting to intervene until after 90 days of work
disability. One large workers’ compensation insurer has a group of “pre-injury consultants” who work
with employers to set up plans and systems beforehand so that they are prepared to respond
promptly to avert needless lost work days from the moment of injury. Attempts are also underway in
several quarters to detect workers with pre-existing risk factors for prolonged disability and then
manage those cases more intensively right from the onset. Dr. Alan Colledge (a member of this
Committee) and some colleagues developed and published a Disability Apgar test, in which a few
features of a situation are evaluated (by physicians) and then a risk score can be assigned. The State
Fund of California has recently completed a pilot of a program that assesses risk factors at claim
intake and makes suggestions for claim management. A workers’ compensation insurer in the
Australian Northern Territory uses a situation assessment tool at claim intake and revisits it at
intervals, in order to speed detection (and intervention) on claims that have signs of delayed
recovery.*®

Historically, rehabilitation benefits under the Montana statute since 1997 have focused on retraining
and are often not begun until a year or more after a permanent impairment is determined™®. In reality,
they often become one more benefit to settle in a lump sum settlement of PPD since section 39-71-
703(9) ties the “...PPD payable to be calculated based on the wages that the worker earns “or would
be qualified to earn following the rehabilitation plan.” As written, section 39-71-1006 appears to not be
consistent with “Best Practices” of disability management and most successful return to work
programs. Montana’s current rehabilitation statutes are not working in assisting injured workers back
to work early. Putting the return to work resources at the end of the healing period®® needs to be
revised to be consistent with current available research on rehabilitation and return to work.
Numerous studies have established that retraining is the most costly and least successful strategy to
assist injured workers back to work. It is still necessary and useful for those individuals who have the
motivation and capability to undergo additional schooling when that is the only option for them to
recover their lost wage earning capacity and avoid a lifetime on disability benefits, but it is appropriate
and successful in very few cases. Efforts should focus on injured workers return to productivity as
early as possible during their recovery. More efforts should be placed on determining who is at risk on
a long term disability and what is necessary to assist them back to work as early as possible.

Conclusion: Montana’s benefits structure is fairly easy to understand and appears to be efficient as
measured by their litigation rate. It could be revised to be more predictable, equitable and adequate

17 See disability management award winners of the “Teddy Awards” given by Risk and Insurance at
http://www.riskandinsurance.com/teddyawarddetail.jsp?storyld=268103298

¥ Preventing Needless Work Disability by Helping People Stay Employed, Stay-at-Work & Return-to-Work
Committee of the American College of Occupational & Environmental Medicine, 2005

19 See Montana Annotated 39-71-1006.

%0 See Montana Annotated Code 39-71-1006
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without losing the current efficiency which should lower costs for employers and benefit most workers
at the same time.
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