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May 8, 2012

TO: Select Committee on Efficiency in Government
FROM: Dave Bohyer
RE: Payment of invoices by state agencies

At the April 10 meeting of the Select Committee in Butte, the members asked staff to
examine the state's policy regarding payment of invoices from vendors, providers, and
others.  Please accept this memorandum as the staff's response.

The primary statute governing payment of money by the state is section 17-8-242,
MCA.

17-8-242.  Interest assessed on amounts due. (1) Except as provided in
17-8-244, a state agency shall pay simple interest at the rate of 0.05% each day on
amounts due for supplies and services received if the agency fails to make timely
payment.

(2)  For purposes of this section, payment is timely if a warrant is mailed or is
otherwise made available to the payee when due and for the amount specified in the
applicable contract or agreement. If no date is specified in the applicable contract or
agreement, payment is timely if paid within 30 days after receipt of a properly
completed invoice, addressed to the payer agency, or receipt of the supplies or
services by the agency, whichever is later.

The exception provided for in 17-8-242(1) is notable in regard to the Committee's
interest in the state's payment policy as the policy applies to goods or services provided
under Medicaid.

17-8-244.  Exemptions. Section 17-8-242 does not apply to the following:
(1)  interagency or intergovernmental transactions;
(2)  claims subject to a good faith dispute brought before a government agency

or before a court. Interest in a proceeding subject to this subsection is governed by
18-1-404.



1  Laurence Hubbard, CEO, Montana State Fund, and Mary Dalton, Medicaid Program Manager, DPHHS,
each stated that they are unaware of any Montana administrative rules that implement 17-8-242 or 17-8-244, MCA. 
However, Ms. Dalton noted that DPHHS is subject to many federal rules (CFR) under the Medicaid program that
require prompt payment, 30 days in most cases, and that both DPHHS and the federal CMS (Center for Medicare and
Medicaid Services) monitor invoicing and payments very closely. Email between Dave Bohyer and Lanny Hubbard,
May 7, 2012; and phone conversation between Dave Bohyer and Mary Dalton, May 8, 2012.

2  Title 39, ch. 71, parts 6 and 7, MCA, et seq., contain various provisions regarding submission and payment
of workers' compensation claims.
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(3)  delinquencies because of natural disasters, disruptions in postal or delivery
service, work stoppage because of labor disputes, power failures, or any other cause
resulting from circumstances clearly beyond the control of the payer agency;

(4)  wages due and payable to state employees or payments from any state
retirement system created pursuant to Title 19; or

(5)  claims submitted to the state or to its fiscal intermediary by providers of
supplies or services under the Montana medicaid or workers' compensation program
if reasonable cause for nonpayment exists.  (Emphasis added.)

The Montana Code Annotated does not expand upon circumstances that denote
"reasonable cause for nonpayment".  A search of the Administrative Rules of Montana
also did not reveal any provisions that clarify circumstances that indicate what is
"reasonable cause for nonpayment".1

The exception applies to supplies/services provided in programs for which "eligibility"
must be determined, that are administered through contracts between government
agencies and private entities, and for which invoices, especially for services, are
sometimes subject to review, even extensive review, by the administering agency.  For
reasons of necessity and sufficiency, the reviews can take more than 30 days to
complete, with the payment decision to follow.  Consequently, the two exceptions may
be warranted.

Additionally, both the Medicaid and workers compensation insurance programs are
administered through contracts between governments agencies and private entities
and, as such, the contract provisions typically govern payment procedures, including
timelines.2

In summary, Montana law generally allows state entities 30 days to pay most
invoices for goods and services without penalty.  If a legitimate invoice is not paid within
30 days, the agency is penalized with an interest charge of 0.05% per day (18.25%
annually) over 30 days of the amount due to the vendor, provider, or contractor.

Respectfully submitted.
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