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Background
The Medicaid Subcommittee expressed interest in November 2011 in obtaining more

information about the effects of a Medicaid law in Washington state. The law allows prosecution
of an individual who receives assets from a Medicaid applicant or enrollee in order to allow the
person to qualify for Medicaid coverage of long-term care services.

This briefing paper discusses Medicaid laws related to asset transfers, as well as the
Washington law and its effects. It also presents options for subcommittee consideration.

Asset Determination Related to Long-Term Care

A person applying for Medicaid coverage for long-term care may not have more than $2,000 in
"countable resources," or assets. Some assets are not counted when determining eligibility. For
example, a person's home, most personal effects, one vehicle, and property used for business
purposes typically aren't considered when determining whether a person qualifies for Medicaid.

Federal law requires a 5-year "look back" at a person's assets, to make sure the person didn't
improperly transfer assets during that time in order to qualify for Medicaid. An applicant or
enrollee who transferred an asset without receiving something of equal value is ineligible for
Medicaid for a period of time. The time period is determined by dividing the uncompensated
amount of the transferred asset by the average monthly cost of nursing home care. In 2010, the
average monthly cost of nursing home care in Montana was $5,376.50.*

Some transfers are exempt from the "look back," including transfers made:

» to a spouse before a person was determined eligible for Medicaid;

» to a spouse who is living in the community, if the transfer was made within 90 days of
the eligibility determination;

* to a minor or adult child who is blind or disabled according to Social Security criteria;
» solely for a purpose other than qualifying for Medicaid, such as to satisfy a debt;
» as a result of fraud, if the applicant tried through the courts to recover the asset; or

* to adisabled person's Special Needs Trust, which must be used upon the person's
death to reimburse Medicaid for payments made on behalf of the individual.

In addition, the transfer of a home is not counted if the title was transferred to the applicant's
spouse; a child under the age of 21; an adult child who is blind or disabled; a child who
regardless of age lived with the applicant in the 2 years immediately preceding the person's
nursing home admission if the child provided care to the person in the home; or a sibling who
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has an equity interest in the home and has lived there continually for at least 1 year before the
applicant was admitted to a nursing home.

The Washington Law: What It Does and What It Has Accomplished

In 1995, the Washington Legislature approved a law creating a penalty for people who receive
assets for less than fair market value from a person who applies for or receives Medicaid for
long-term care services. The recipient of the assets is subject to a civil fine if:

» the Medicaid applicant or enrollee transferred the asset in order to qualify for coverage;
» the recipient was aware, or should have been aware, of the purpose of the transfer;
» the transfer created a period of ineligibility for the Medicaid applicant or enrollee; and

» the state provided Medicaid during that time because denial of coverage would have
created an undue hardship for the applicant or enrollee.

A court may impose a fine of up to 150% of the amount that the state spent on Medicaid
coverage during the time that the enrollee would have been ineligible for coverage because the
asset could have been used to pay for nursing home care. The recipient of the asset also must
pay the state's court costs and legal fees. Meanwhile, the state may petition to have the asset
returned to the Medicaid applicant or enrollee.

Lori Rolley of the Washington Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) provided the
following information about Washington's experience with the law:

» The state hasn't compiled data specific to the use or effects of the law.

» Officials believe the law has served as a deterrent. DSHS notifies people about the law and
the penalty when DSHS employees believe the individuals may have received assets in a
guestionable manner. This often results in the return of the asset.

» The state Attorney General's Office began preparing one prosecution under the law but
decided against proceeding with the case because of perceived weaknesses in the law. The
agency has prepared legislation to correct those weaknesses.

Options for Subcommittee Consideration
Based on the information presented to the subcommittee during the course of its work,
members may want to recommend that the full committee:

1. Find that the state would benefit from stronger efforts to prevent people from transferring
assets in an effort to qualify for Medicaid coverage of long-term care costs.

2. Approve drafting of a transfer-of-assets bill similar to the Washington state law.
3. Make no findings or recommendations.

4. Pursue other options identified by the subcommittee. Cl0429 1346s0xa.



