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I
INTRODUCTION

At the February, 2012, meeting of the Law and Justice Interim Committee (LJIC),
several members posed questions to the staff. This memorandum responds to three of
those requests that dealt with sex offenders. The issue of the Montana Supreme
Court’s opinion in State v. Cook*, wherein the Montana Supreme Court affirmed an
opinion of a District Court revoking the suspended sentence of an inmate only 2 days
before the inmate’s scheduled release from confinement, is dealt with in a separate
memorandum.

Il
DISCUSSION

A. How long do sex offenders have to register for and what is the process by which a
sex offender can be restored or taken off the registry (Menahan and MacDonald)?

Under section 46-23-506(1), MCA, all sex offenders? must register for life.
However, subsection (3)(b) of that section provides a procedure by which Level 1
offenders (low probability for repeat offenses) and Level 2 offenders (moderate
probability for repeat offenses) can be taken off the registry.

The procedure for Level 1 and 2 offenders to be taken off the registry is by a
petition, to either the sentencing court or the District Court for the judicial district in

12012 MT 34, _Mont._, P.3d__.

2The definition of a “sexual offense” in section 46-23-502(9), MCA, determines whether
an offense is a sexual offense such that its commission will require registration. Generally, the
definition depends upon the specific MCA section violated and sometimes the age of the victim,
the age of the offender, or both.



which the offender resides, requesting relief from registration. In the case of a Level 1
offender, the petition may be submitted after 10 years of registration, but only after 25
years of registration in the case of a Level 2 offender. The petition must be served on
the County Attorney, who, before any hearing on the petition, must send a copy to the
petitioner’s latest victim, whose testimony must be considered by the court in acting on
the petition. The court may grant the petition if (1) the petitioner has been a law-abiding
citizen, and (2) the court determines that continued registration is unnecessary to
protect the public and relief from registration is in the best interests of society. The
petition provisions do not apply to any level sexual offender in certain circumstances,
usually involving a victim who was less than 12 years old.

B. Is possession of a nude picture by an underage child a child pornography crime
(Murphy)?

A “child pornography crime” is usually considered to be the possession of child
pornography material by an adult, which constitutes felony sexual abuse of children
under section 45-5-625, MCA.® However, there are no criminal statutes prohibiting
possession of pornographic material that is not child pornography by an adult or a
minor. In the case of possession of child pornography material by a minor, whether that
possession constitutes a criminal offense in Montana depends upon the application of
the Youth Court statutes. Under section 41-5-106, MCA, part of the Youth Court Act, a
determination by a Youth Court that a minor was in possession of pornographic material
such that the child could be convicted of violating section 45-5-625, MCA, if an adult, is
termed an “adjudication”, as opposed to a conviction, and the adjudication may not be
considered a criminal conviction.

1]
CONCLUSION

All sexual offenders must register for life, but state statues provide a mechanism
whereby, after differing periods of time in the registry, Level 1 and 2 offenders may
petition the District Court for removal from the registry. Removal by the court is not
required by law. There are no statutes prohibiting possession of pornographic material
that does not constitute child pornography by either an adult or a minor. Possession of
child pornography by a minor is not technically a criminal offense under Montana law
but may be the basis for an adjudication involving that minor in Youth Court, potentially
resulting in commitment to the Department of Corrections and placement in a youth
correctional facility.

*The material covered under that section is any visual or print medium, including an

electronic medium, that portrays a child engaged in actual or simulated sexual conduct.
Cl0206 2079dnma.
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