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Senate Joint Resolution No. 26 (SJR 26) calls for a study of transporting oversize loads through Montana
and an exploration of how to establish a predictable, timely, and cost-effective process to allow
movement through Montana. This staff report provides an overview of the relevant state laws and
administrative rules that govern the movement of oversize loads. The sections of law cited throughout
this background report are included in their entirety as an attachment for reference throughout the
study.

SIZE, WEIGHT, AND LOAD

The Montana Code Annotated provides for size, weight, and load requirements for motor vehicles in
Title 61, chapter 10, part 1. A vehicle that meets these requirements may move on state highways
without any additional permits. These limits are summarized in the following table.

Dimension | Limit Exceptions Statutory
Citation
Width 8.5 feet Certain implements of husbandry | 61-10-102

or hay haulers, certain
commercial hay grinders,
appurtenances on certain
recreational vehicles or campers
operated for noncommercial
purposes, and certain safety

devices
Height 14 feet No stated exceptions 61-10-103
Weight Maximum weight for divisible Divisible load operating under 61-10-107
loads: 131,060 pounds and subject | the Montana/Alberta and 18.8.431
to the federal bridge formula® Memorandum of Understanding:

137,800 pounds?

YThe bridge gross weight formula is established in the Code of Federal Regulations and also included in section 61-10-
407, Montana Code Annotated. The formula is W=500((LN/(N-1))+12N+36) where W equals gross weight, L equals wheelbase in
feet, and N equals the number of axles.

°The Montana/Alberta Memorandum of Understanding applies to a vehicle traveling on U.S. Highway 93 from the
border between Canada and the United States to 10 miles south of the border.
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vehicle: 55 feet

Dimension | Limit Exceptions Statutory
Citation
An axle is limited to 20,000 pounds 61-10-107
Weight,
continued i
Two consecutive axles more than 61-10-107
40 inches or less than 96 inches
apart limited to 34,000 pounds
Length Single truck, bus, or self-propelled 61-10-104(1)

All other combinations of vehicles:
75 feet from front bumper to back
bumper or rear extremity of last
trailer unless issued a special
permit

Truck tractor-semitrailer:
semitrailer limited to 53 feet

Truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer
or truck tractor-semitrailer-
semitrailer®: semitrailer and
trailer or two semitrailers limited
to 28.5 feet each or 61 feet
combined

Stinger-steered automobile or
boat transporter: 75 feet plus a
maximum 3 feet of front
overhang and 4 feet of rear
overhang

61-10-104(2)

Motor vehicle towing or drawing
other motor vehicles: combination
length of 75 feet

61-10-104(3)

Passenger vehicle or truck of less
then 20,000 pounds
manufacturer's rated capacity may
not tow more than one trailer or
semitrailer: 65 feet

61-10-104(4)

3According to the definitions contained in section 61-1-101, the difference between a "semitrailer" and a "trailer" is
that none of the weight of a trailer rests on the towing vehicle while some of the weight of a semitrailer rests upon another

vehicle.

4"Stinger-steered automobile or boat transporter" means a truck tractor-semitrailer combination that has a fifth
wheel on a drop frame located behind and below the rear axle of the truck tractor and that is designed and used for the
transportation of vehicles or assembled boats or boat hulls.




Dimension | Limit Exceptions Statutory
Citation

Length, Truck or truck tractor and one pole | Does not apply to a vehicle 61-10-104(5)
continued | trailer or semitrailer hauling raw combination hauling utility poles
logs: 75 feet in overall length and
overhang may not exceed 15 feet
except by special permit

PERMITS FOR EXCESS SIZE AND WEIGHT

Section 61-10-121(1) allows the Department of Transportation (Department) or its agent to issue a
special permit for vehicles or loads that exceed one or more of the width, height, length, or weight
limits listed above. Local authorities may also issue a special permit for oversized vehicles operating on
roads for which the local government has jurisdiction. Issuance of such a permit requires application
and there must be "good cause shown." Only the Department may issue special permits for a vehicle or
combination of vehicles carrying "built-up or reducible loads" that exceed 9 feet in width or exceed the
length, height, or weight requirements. This permit must be "issued in the public interest."

As provided in section 61-10-121(2), the application for a special permit must describe the powered
vehicle or towing vehicle and "generally describe the type of vehicle, combination of vehicles, load,
object, or other thing to be operated or moved" and the route over which the vehicle or combination of
vehicles is to be moved.

Section 61-10-122 allows the Department or local authority to issue or withhold a permit at its
discretion and establish seasonal or time limitations within which the vehicle or load may operate. In
addition, the Department may prescribe conditions of operation "when necessary to assure against
damage to the road foundation, surfaces, or structures or safety of traffic." The Department may also
require "an undertaking or other security" in case of injury to a roadway or road structure.
Administrative Rule 18.8.801 requires a $1 million combined single limit bodily injury and property
damage liability per occurrence before a special permit may be issued.

32-J Permits

The type of permit issued to the oversized loads of concern for the SIR 26 study is called a 32-J permit
and is provided for in Administrative Rule 18.8.1101. Application for the 32-J permit is made on the
M.C.S. form 32-J. The Helena Motor Carrier Services office must approve 32-J permits, and they may
also require written approval from local jurisdictions, utility companies, and private property owners.

The following requirements are contained in Administrative Rule 18.8.1101, and the administrator of
the Motor Carrier Services Division or his designee may impose additional requirements. The

permittee:

. must provide flag vehicles, flag persons, and any signs required by the Department;

. may not delay traffic by more than 10 minutes;

. must furnish the insurance required by the Department;

. is responsible for obtaining necessary clearance or permits from a city, county, or public utility;
. may be required to provide to the Department advance notice of any movement; and

. is responsible for any property damage.



There are three classes of vehicles covered under the 32-J permit based on the dimensions of the
vehicle or combination of vehicles. The class determines the permitted hours of travel and the flag
vehicle requirements. A single 32-J application is required for a vehicle or combination of vehicles that
meets the requirements of more than one class.

Class one dimensions include:

. width exceeding 18 feet but not 34 feet;
. height exceeding 17 feet but not 24 feet; or
. length exceeding 150 feet but not 200 feet in overall length.

A class one load application will be approved within 2 working days and may be moved only during
daylight hours, Monday through Friday. Travel is not allowed on holidays, on holiday weekends, or after
3 p.m. Friday until sunrise on Monday on routes designated as "red route restrictions.”

The flag vehicle requirements for class one moves on interstate highways require one front flag vehicle
and two rear flag vehicles for width and one rear flag vehicle for length. Non-interstate highway moves
require two front flag vehicles and two rear flag vehicles for width and one front flag vehicle and one
rear flag vehicle for length.

Class two dimensions include:

. width exceeding 34 feet; or

. height exceeding 24 feet or height requiring utilities to cut power lines; or
. length exceeding 200 feet in overall length; and

. route of travel requires establishment of a work zone.®

The district administrator will approve a class two application within 5 working days. Travel is allowed
only during daylight hours, from sunrise Monday until Friday at 3 p.m. The permittee must also have a
$15,000 bond on file with the Motor Carrier Services division.

Class two moves on interstate highways require one front flag vehicle and two rear flag vehicles for
width, one rear flag vehicle for length, and one front flag vehicle if height requires utilities to cut power
lines. A class two move on a noninterstate highway requires two front flag vehicles and two rear flag
vehicles for width, one front flag vehicle and one rear flag vehicle for length, and one front flag vehicle
and one rear flag vehicle if height requires utilities to cut power lines. In addition, flag vehicles are
required for an overweight vehicle to keep other traffic off a structure if the route analysis determines
that the load must cross structures at the centerline.

A class three move includes:

. weight requiring approval of the Department's bridge bureau; and
. width not exceeding 18 feet;

. height not exceeding 17 feet;

. length not exceeding 150 feet.

*The permittee must establish a work zone if the move requires using the opposite side of an interstate
highway, traveling against traffic, or using the authorized crossover on interstate highways.
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The travel restrictions for class three moves are contained in other rules. Administrative Rule 18.8.509
restricts travel to daylight hours, 7 days a week for vehicles or combinations with a load over 10 feet
but not exceeding 18 feet, over 110 feet long but not exceeding 120 feet long, or over 14 feet 6 inches
in height but not exceeding 18 feet high. However, such vehicles may not travel on holidays, holiday
weekends, or on "red routes” from 3 p.m. Friday until sunrise Saturday and from noon Sunday until
sunrise Monday. Vehicles or combinations exceeding 120 feet long may travel during daylight hours on
Monday through Friday but may not travel holidays and holiday weekends and "red routes” from 3 p.m.
Friday until sunrise Monday.

The flag vehicle requirements for class three are provided by reference to Administrative Rule
18.8.511A. A vehicle or combination with width over 16.5 feet or length over 120 feet traveling on an
interstate highway requires one rear flag vehicle. When traveling on a noninterstate highway, a vehicle
or combination of vehicles with a width over 12.5 feet and not exceeding 16.5 feet requires one front
flag vehicle. A vehicle over 16.5 feet wide requires one front and one rear flag vehicle. Length of over
110 feet requires one rear flag vehicle.

For moves under each class, the district administrator may establish a move at times other than the
ones specified if it is in the "best interests of the traveling public.”

In addition to the above requirements, Administrative Rule 18.8.604 addresses vehicle weight and route
analyses. The Department conducts a vehicle weight analysis for a specific vehicle configuration, axle
spacings, axle weights, and gross weight upon request. A new analysis must be requested if the vehicle
configuration is altered. A copy of the vehicle weight analysis must be carried in the vehicle.

Environmental Review

The 2013 Legislature changed the requirements related to environmental review for special permits
issued for excess size or weight.® Section 61-10-121(4) now provides that issuance of a special permit
for excess size or weight is exempt from Title 75, chapter 1, parts 1 and 2 (known as the Montana
Environmental Policy Act or MEPA) if existing roads and rights-of-way are used.

Restrictions on Roadway

A local road authority may not alter the size, weight, and load limitations summarized above or
substitute other limitation or requirements except as provided in section 61-10-128. The Department or
a local road authority may prohibit the operation of or impose restrictions on the weight and speed of
vehicles traveling on a highway under its jurisdiction and for which it provides maintenance if there will
be serious damage or destruction by deterioration, rain, snow, or other climatic conditions unless the
use of vehicles is prohibited or weights and speeds are reduced. The Department can issue such
regulations by order, and a local road authority must pass an ordinance or resolution.

Movement of Wires or Cables

Title 69, chapter 4, part 6, addresses the procedure for movements that interfere with cables or wires.
Section 69-4-601 prohibits a person moving a load from cutting, moving, or raising electric light or
electric power wires or poles and telephone wires, cables, or poles without giving notice to the owner
of the wires, cables, or poles.

8Ch. 218, L. 2013.



Section 69-4-602 provides additional detail about the notice requirements and provides that the mover
should give at least 10 days' written notice of the proposed time and place of the move. The owner is
then required to give the mover a written estimate of the cost of all work related to cutting or raising
the wires or cables or moving the poles at least 3 days before the move or within 10 days of receipt of
the written notice of the move. Public utilities, cable companies, and unregulated telecommunications
providers with wires, cables, or poles in Montana are required to file with the Public Service
Commission an application for approval of a cost schedule for labor and equipment for work related to
cutting or raising wires or cables or moving poles.

The owner of the wires, cables, or poles is required to provide competent workers to move or cut the
wires, cables, or poles as provided in section 69-4-603. The mover is required to pay the cost’ and must
make a prepayment of the total cost as follows:

. 100% if the structure is moved through or out of the service area of the owner; or

. 50% if the structure is moved to a place within the service territory of the owner.
The owner may waive the prepayment or accept a bond or other financial instrument in lieu of
payment. Payment must be made within 30 days of the move.

Section 69-4-603 provides, in addition, that a person may not move or cut wires, cables, or poles unless
the owner refuses to raise or cut the wires or cables or move the poles after proper notice is given.

Section 69-4-604 provides that it is "unlawful” for a person "to move, touch, cut, molest, or in any way
interfere with any electric light, electric power, telephone, or telegraph wires, cables, messenger wires,
or guy wires or any poles bearing any such wires, except in compliance with the provisions of this part."

Fees

A special permit requires a $10 trip fee as provided in section 61-10-124. Section 61-10-124(2) prohibits
the issuance of a term or blanket permit for vehicles in excess of 15 feet wide, 95 feet long, or 14 feet
high. The vehicles or combinations with which this study is concerned exceed one or more of these
limits and can only be issued trip permits.

There are additional fees provided for in section 61-10-125 for a load that is over the gross allowable
load provided by the bridge formula but that does not exceed the axle limits set forth in 61-10-107(1):

. $10 for distances up to and including 100 miles;
. $30 for distances from 101 to 199 miles; and
. $50 for distances over 200 miles traveled.

Axle weight in excess of the limits set forth in 61-10-107(1) is subject to additional fees based on the
excess axle weight per 25 miles traveled. Beginning with 5,000 pounds of excess axle weight the fee is
$3.50 per 25-mile increment of travel and increases by $3.50 for each additional 5,000 pounds of excess
axle weight. For purposes of the calculation, mileage is rounded up if it exceeds a 25-mile increment.

The fees collected for special permits are deposited in the highway nonrestricted account in the state
special revenue fund as provided in section 61-10-126.

Ifa person moves a structure for occupancy or use by that person, the cost of moving or cutting the
wires, cables, or poles is shared equally by the mover and the owner.
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Penalties

Violation of a special permit is grounds for confiscation by an inspecting officer as provided in
Administrative Rule 18.8.901. A violation includes a violation of state law, conditions attached to the
permit, or Department rules and regulations.

Administrative Rule 18.8.902 lays out the administrative penalties for violating a special permit. A first
violation requires reissuance of a new permit. A second violation carries a 24-hour suspension. A third
violation, a 30-day suspension; a fourth violation, a 60-day suspension; a fifth violation, a 90-day
suspension. Violations in excess of a fifth violation require the permittee to apply in writing to the
administrator of the Motor Carrier Services division.

Cl0425 3261meja.



