SUMMARY OF TAX APPEAL TRIBUNALS

STATE

ALABAMA Alabama has county boards of equalization, but they only have
the power to adjust the value for the year appealed. They
counties are independent of each other and have no oversight
from a state board. Taxpayers can appeal their final
assessment to the Administrative Law Division of the
Department of Revenue. They must notify the
Administrative Law Judge in writing of their intent to appeal
within 30 days of the final assessment. Their other option is
to file an appeal directly to the circuit court.

ALASKA The Board of Equalization is made up of five regular
members, plus two alternates, appointed by the Mayor and
confirmed by the Assembly. Appointments are based on the
member’s expertise in land related issues. It is the duty of the
Board to hear appeals, determine equalization and adjust
assessments when applicable. Taxpayer has 30 days to appeal
to Superior Court. There is no oversight of the Borough
Board of Equalization.

ARIZONA Arizona has what is called the State Board of Equalization to
hear appeals on property tax. The State Board of Equalization
consists of forty-one members. Twenty-one are appointed by
the Governor (a Chairman, ten members from Maricopa
County and ten from Pima County). These members serve
five-year terms. Members appointed by the Governor hear and
decide both centrally valued property and locally assessed
property. Property valued by the Department of Revenue is
referred to as centrally valued (CV) property. Property valued
by the local assessors' office is referred to as locally assessed.

The remaining twenty members are appointed by the
Maricopa and Pima County Boards of Supervisors (two by
each Supervisor). They serve terms concurrent with the
appointing Supervisors and at the Supervisors' pleasure. These
"county appointed" members only hear locally assessed

property.

Members must have "work experience and other
qualifications" in property valuation, appeals, appraisal or
condemnation. A member of the Board cannot hold any other
state or local public office that interacts with this Board.
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The Board meets as necessary to hear and decide property
owners' appeals of property valuations set by the Pima and
Maricopa County Assessors and the Department of Revenue.
The Chairman's position is full-time.

Arizona also utilizes a Board of Tax Appeals to hear appeals
tiled by taxpayers who have received adverse decisions from
the Arizona Department of Revenue and/or the Office of
Administrative Hearings concerning income, transaction
privilege, sales, use, luxury and estate tax. The Board also
resolves jurisdictional disputes between municipalities
regarding the imposition of transaction privilege or use tax.
This is a three member board.

ARKANSAS Property tax appeals are handled by each county’s Board of
Equalization. Those decisions can be appealed to the circuit
court.

All other tax appeals are handled by the Office of Hearings &
Appeals which is part of the Revenue Division of the
Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. It is an
impartial third party between the Department and taxpayers. It
is separate from the Department's audit and legal counsel
offices and consists of Administrative Law Judges who are
appointed by the Commissioner of Revenue. Each judge is an
attorney licensed to practice law by the State of Arkansas with
a minimum of five years legal experience. Their sole function
is to hear cases and determine controversies between taxpayers
and the Department regarding taxes, licenses, and permits.
The judge generally presides alone.

An Administrative Law Judge will preside over the hearing.
Hearings are informal and confidential. The Administrative
Law Judge reviews all written documents, testimony, statutes,

relevant court cases, and other evidence prior to making his

decision. The Administrative Law Judge has the option of
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ruling immediately from the bench or delaying his decision in
order to more closely examine the testimony. Parties may
appeal to the Circuit Court. Parties must appeal to the BOE
and the county court before appeal to the Circuit Court.

CALIFORNIA In California property owners can appeal their assessments to
the county Assessment Appeals Board. Their decisions can be
appealed to the Superior Court.

Board of Equalization — only elected board in the country
which includes four elected board members. The state
controller serves as the fifth member. The board acts in a
quasi-judicial capacity. They administer three major property
tax programs: state assessed property program, private
railroad car tax program, and timber yield tax program. In
addition, the Department provides guidance to the 58 county
assessors, who are charged with establishing values for
approximately 12 million properties each year, and monitors
the adequacy of their assessment practices. The Tax Area
Services Section is responsible for maintaining all property tax-
rate area maps and for maintaining special revenue district
boundaries.

COLORADO In Colorado the Board of Assessment Appeals (BAA) hears
appeals filed by real and personal property owners regarding
the valuation placed on their property. The County Assessor is
responsible for valuing all property in the county except for
exempt property and state assessed properties. Taxpayers may
appeal the assigned value to the Assessor and the County
Board of Equalization (valuation appeal) or to the Board of
County Commissioners (abatement). The abatement process
is used to correct taxes that have been levied erroneously or
illegally due to erroneous valuation for assessment, irregularity
in levying, clerical error, or overvaluation.

State assessed properties and exemptions are appealed to the
state property tax administrator. These cases may then be
appealed to the BAA. Appeals also can be filed when a County
Board of Commissioners or a County Board of Equalization
has failed to make a timely decision on a matter properly
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presented.

The three-member Board is appointed by the Governor and
confirmed by the State Senate. By statute, the Governor may
appoint up to six additional members to one-year terms. At
this time, there are nine members of the Board to allow cases
to be heard on a timely basis. All hearings are to be conducted
by the board unless the chairman at his discretion and with the
agreement of both parties assigns a member of the board to
conduct the hearing. A decision must be signed by at least
two members of the board.

CONNECTICUT

Property owners may appeal to the municipal board of
assessments. The board must hold a hearing on any property
under $1 million. It may choose not to hold a hearing on
matters over $1 million. In which case, those appeals are sent
directly to the Superior Court. Parties unhappy with the
board’s decision may appeal to Superior Court.

DELAWARE

Delaware’s Tax Appeal Board consists of five members
appointed by the governor for three year terms. At least 1
member must be a member of a major political party and at
least 1 member must be a member of the other major political
party. Two of the members must be an attorney-at-law, one
of whom the governor appoints as chair and the other is vice
chair. Board members make $5,500 a year and the chair earns
another $500. Decisions may be appealed to Superior Court
in the county where the property is located.

FLORIDA

In Florida each county has a value adjustment board. The
board is made up of two county commissioners, a school
board member, and two citizen members. Parties may file a
lawsuit in the circuit court if they do not agree with the
decision. Florida does not have a state board.

GEORGIA

In Georgia all appeals are sent to the County Board of Tax
Assessors. They chose one of three options: appeal to the
county board of equalization, appeal to a hearing officer, or
appeal to arbitrator. Taxpayet’s may appeal decisions of the
board of equalization or hearing officer to superior court.

HAWAII

The Administrative Judge of the First Circuit Court, subject to
the direction of the Chief Justice, assigns all Tax Appeal Court
matters to the appropriate judge or judges of the First Circuit
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Court. The Administrative Judge of the First Circuit Court,
subject to the direction of the Chief Justice, assigns all Tax
Appeal Court matters to the appropriate judge or judges of the
First Circuit Court.

The Tax Appeal Court hears appeals regarding real property
taxation directly from assessments or from the Boards of
Review. It is a court of record and decides all questions of fact
and law, including constitutional questions involving real
property taxation, without intervention of a jury.

ILLINOIS In Illinois taxpayer’s are encouraged to seek an informal
review with the DOR. After that they may appeal to a local
review board. Cook County Board of Review is a quasi-
judicial body made of up three elected members. This board
must also defend appeals made to the Illinois Property Tax
Appeal Board by taxpayers. The Illinois PT'AB is a quasi-
judicial body made up of five members and a professional staff
of 26 full-time employees which serve the Board. The PTAB
members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and
consent of the Senate. They serve six year terms, and no more
than three may be from the same political party. The staff
includes an Executive Director who also serves as the agency’s
legal counsel and as liaison to the legislative, judicial, and
executive branches of state government. Appeals are heard
by a professional staff of administrative law judges who are
either qualified appraisers or attorneys. Applicable hearings
are set in the county seat of a county throughout the year and
are open to the public. Chairman makes $64,703 a year,
members make $52,179.

INDIANA Indiana’s counties have what are called Property Tax
Assessment Board of Appeals. These boards can be made of
three or five members. The County Assessor is a non-voting
member of the board.

Taxpayers file a property tax with the assessing official. The
assessing office must forward the appeal to the PTABOA and
attempt to hold the preliminary informal meeting with the
taxpayer to resolve as many issues as possible. If no
agreement is reached the PTABOA must hold a hearing within
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180 days of filing of appeal. Taxpayers then may appeal to the
Indiana Board of Tax Review which is made up of three
members. The Board conducts an impartial review of appeals
concerning: (1) the assessed valuation of tangible property; (2)
property tax deductions; (3) property tax exemptions; or (4)
property tax credits; that are made from a determination by an
assessing official or a property tax assessment board of appeals
(“PTABOA”). The Board also reviews assessment
determinations made by the Department of Local
Government Finance (“DLGF”). The taxpayer must file a
petition with the Indiana Tax Court within 45 days of IBTR
tinal determination. They may appeal the Tax Court’s
determination to Supreme Court.

Jurisdiction. The Tax Court has exclusive jurisdiction over
any case that arises under the Indiana tax laws and that is an
initial appeal of a final determination made by the Indiana
Department of State Revenue or the Indiana Board of Tax
Review. In addition, the Tax Court has jurisdiction over
certain appeals from the Department of Local Government
Finance. The Tax Court also hears appeals of inheritance tax
determinations from the courts of probate jurisdiction. Such
cases are called original tax appeals.

Indiana initiated what is called the Facilitation Program is to
assist taxpayers and local assessing officials in voluntarily
resolving appeal disputes at the county level.

Under this program, a county assessor requests that an
employee of the Board attend a conference to assist taxpayers
and local officials in their attempts to voluntarily resolve
appeal disputes. Qualifying disputes are ones in which:

1) a taxpayer has filed written notice requesting a county
board’s review of an action by a township or county
official; and

2) the county board has not issued written notice of its
decision.
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If the dispute is not resolved and the taxpayer files an appeal
with the Board, the employee who acted as the facilitator may
not act as an administrative law judge or participate in a
decision relating to the dispute.

The Facilitation Program has been successful when utilized —
to date, over 70% of the disputes have been resolved.

The Board will provide an employee to conduct a facilitation,
but the county assessor is responsible for selecting qualifying
disputes and scheduling the conferences.

IOWA In Iowa there is no local appeal board. Taxpayers appeal
directly to the state property assessment appeal board. The
board consists of three members appointed to staggered six-
year terms by the governor. One member of the board shall
be a certified real estate appraiser or hold a professional
appraisal designation, one member shall be an attorney
practicing in the area of state and local taxation or property tax
appraisals, and one member shall be a professional with
experience in the field of accounting or finance and with
experience in state and local taxation matters. No more than
two members can be from the same political party. The board
employs an attorney as general counsel. The board receives
compensation from the state commensurate with the salary of
a district judge. Parties may appeal to the district court.

KANSAS The Court of Tax Appeals is the highest administrative
tribunal to hear cases involving ad valorem (property), income,
sales, compensating use, and inheritance taxes, along with
other matters involving taxation by state and local authorities.
The Court is an independent tax tribunal, meaning that it is
not affiliated with the Kansas Department of Revenue or any
other taxing authority. The Court of Tax Appeals is a neutral
decision-making body.

The Court is composed of three tax court judges and a chief
hearing officer, all appointed by the Governor. The Court
includes two divisions: the Small Claims and Expedited
Hearings Division and the Regular Division. The chief judge
receives the same salary as a district court judge. The other
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judges received $2,465 less a year than the chief judge. One of
the judges must have been admitted to practice law in the state
of Kansas and for a period of at least five years, have engaged
in the active practice of law as a lawyer, judge of a court of
record or any other court in this state; and one of such judges
shall have engaged in active practice as a certified public
accountant for a period of at least five years. In addition, the
governor shall also appoint a chief hearing officer, subject to
confirmation by the senate

The Court is comprised of two divisions - the regular division
and the small claims and expedited hearings division.

o Regular Division

The Court's regular division has broad jurisdiction to
hear and decide tax matters including property tax
appeals, appeals from final determinations of the
Department of Revenue, tax grievances, applications for
exemption from property tax, county-wide reappraisal
requests, mortgage registration protests, no-fund
warrant requests, and appeals from school districts with
declining enrollment.

e Small Claims and Expedited Hearings Division

The Court's small claims and expedited hearings
division is a convenient and informal forum for
appealing the valuation of single-family residential
properties and commercial properties that are appraised
at two million dollars or less. This division also may
hear appeals from the Department of Revenue,
Division of Taxation, if the amount of tax in
controversy does not exceed fifteen thousand dollars.

Taxpayers may file a petition for reconsideration if they are
not satisfied with the Court’s determination. They may then
tile with the Kansas Court of Appeals.

KENTUCKY The Kentucky Board of Tax Appeals (KBTA) provides an
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independent, impartial and neutral forum for hearing and
resolving disputes on tax issues in a timely, cost-effective
alternative to the court system.

In order to ensure impartial decision making, the KBTA is
organized under the Public Protection Cabinet and is
completely independent of any of the taxing authorities that
may appear before the board.

In the last three years, the KBTA has reviewed between 438

and 1,004 appeals annually; the properties have had an average
assessed value of $866,992,706.

Taxpayers may represent themselves or retain an attorney.
Anyone who is not an attorney may not represent someone
else.

A taxpayer who has appealed a local board decision is sent a
tax bill by the county sheriff based on the owner’s opinion of
the value of the property. This is NOT an indication that the
Property Valuation Administrator (PVA) agrees with that
value and the taxpayer should NOT consider this an indication
that his or her appeal has been settled. If the board concludes
that the taxpayer’s opinion of value was low, the county sheriff
sends out a supplemental tax bill for the difference, plus
interest.

The board is made up of three members appointed by the
governor. Board members must be at least 35 years of age.
The governor sets their salaries. One member must be an
attorney with the qualifications of a circuit judge. The other
two members should have a business background, but not the
same profession or occupation.

LOUISIANA Taxpayer’s in Louisiana begin the appeal process in the office
of the parish assessor. They then can appeal to the parish
Board of Review. The Board of Review decision can be
appealed to the Louisiana Tax Commission. It is unclear to
me if the Louisiana Board of Tax Appeals is the state court to
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which a taxpayer would file if they are unhappy with a decision
from the Tax Commission. It does state in their philosophy
statement under duplication of efforts “Often the Board will,
with the consent of the parties, continue the hearing of cases
being heard by other courts where the issue under
consideration will be dispositive of the case before the Board.”

The Board of Tax appeals is an independent board made up of
three board members. The Board meets 2 minimum of two
days a month. For property values under $10,000 there are no
filing fees. Property $10,000 to $50,000 has a filing fee of
$250. Property over $50,000 has a filing fee of $400.

MAINE The Maine Board of Tax Appeals is an independent board
within the Administrative and Financial Services Department.
It consists of three members appointed by the governor and is
supported by the Appeals Office. The Appeals Office
conducts the initial review of the appeal. As long as the board
is furnished with a POA, anyone can represent the taxpayer.
Taxpayers must first meet with the Maine DOR. They may
appeal to the Board of Tax Appeals if the disputed amount is a
minimum of more than §1,000. Taxpayers must state in their
appeal if they wish to have an appeals conference which can
be either in person or telephonic. The filing fee is $100 due
within 21 days of filing the appeal. Either of the parties may
appeal to the superior court.

MARYLAND In Maryland, local property tax assessment appeals boards were
authorized in 1973.

For each county and Baltimore City, a property tax assessment
appeals board has jurisdiction over all appeals in its area
concerning property tax assessments, the Home Owners' Tax
Credit Program, the Renters' Tax Credit Program, the
Agricultural Land Preservation Fasement Program, and other
local tax matters assigned to the board for hearing. This
jurisdiction includes but is not limited to appeals concerning
local tax credits, local taxes, and special taxing areas.

The State Administrator is appointed by the Governor with
Senate advice and consent to a six-year term. The
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Administrator coordinates administrative, regulatory, budgetary,
personnel and legal support to the local boards. The
Administrator also promulgates uniform rules and regulations
and devises and provides statements advising taxpayers of their

right to appeal, and notices or other reports required by local
boards.

Each property tax assessment appeals board consists of three
members and one alternate. Members are appointed by the
Governor for five-year terms. The Governor names the chair.

MASSACHUSETTS

Taxpayer’s begin the appeal process in Massachusetts by filing
an application for abatement with the county assessor. If they
are not granted the abatement, they may appeal to the
Massachusetts Appellate Tax Board (“ATB”), a quasi-judicial
state agency designed to conduct hearings and render
decisions on appeals of all types of state and local taxes,
including property tax (both real estate and personal property),
corporate excise, individual income tax, sales and use tax, and
automobile and other excises.

The most frequent type of appeal filed with the ATB is real
estate tax appeals.

MICHIGAN

The Michigan Tax Tribunal is an administrative tax court. As
the State's tax court, the Tribunal has authority over
assessment disputes relating to both property and non-
property tax matters.

State non-property tax appeals filed with the Tribunal involve
all taxes levied by the Michigan Department of Treasury
including individual income taxes; sales, use and withholding
taxes; single business taxes; corporate officer liability issues;
motor fuel refund issues, etc. The Tribunal shares its authority
over non-property tax matters with the Court of Claims.

The Tribunal's Small Claims Division utilizes an informal

hearing process to resolve the majority of all appeals filed with
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the Tribunal. There is no formal record taken of the hearing
and parties typically represent themselves.

MINNESOTA The Minnesota Tax Court is a specialized, executive branch
court specifically established by the Minnesota Legislature to
hear only tax related cases. Minn. Stat. ch 271 sets forth the
authority and jurisdiction of the Tax Court. The Court's
mission is to provide timely and equitable disposition of
appeals of orders issued by the Commissioner of Revenue
and local property tax valuations, classification, equalization
and/or exemptions. All of the judges have expertise in the
tax laws and apply that expertise in a manner to ensure that
taxpayers are assessed only what they owe, and no more. The
judges travel throughout Minnesota to conduct trials.

The Tax Court is the court of record and is made up of three
tax judges appointed by the governor. Their terms are for six
years. Taxpayers have the option to appeal to Small Claims
Court which is a division of the Tax Court. The Tax Court
handles all matters that fall under Minnesota’s tax laws.
Appeals to the Small Claims Court are before a judge with no
jury. Parties cannot appeal the court’s decision.

MISSISSIPPI On July 1, 2010 the Mississippi Tax Commission transitioned
into the Board of Tax Appeals. There are three members
appointed by the governor for staggered six year terms. All
must have a college degree. The board is required to meet at
least one day a month. The board hears appeals on
assessment, refund claims, requests for waiver of a tag penalty,
the suspension, revocation, surrender, seizure or denial of
permit, tag or title, the suspension, revocation or denial of an
ABC permit (liquor license), ABC manager status (approval
from the ABC Division (division of DOR responsible for
administration and enforcement of ABC law) to become a
manager of a business holding the liquor license), ABC
manager status, qualified resort area or forfeiture of property
under the ABC law. Parties may appeal to court.

MISSOURI The State Tax Commission is an administrative agency under
the direction of three commissioners who are appointed by

the Governor and approved by the Senate. The Commission is
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given the responsibility of ensuring the uniform and equitable
assessment of all taxable tangible property in the state. The
Commission measures the accuracy of assessments in each
county and works with assessors to promote an accurate and
fair assessment program. It conducts seminars and training
sessions for assessors and their staffs. The Commission also
hears taxpayers' appeals from the local Boards of Equalization,
and is responsible for the statewide assessment of the property
of railroads, aitlines, pipelines, electric and telecommunication

companies.

MONTANA The mission of the State Tax Appeal Board is the timely
resolution of tax appeals concerning real and personal
property, income, corporate, natural resource, centrally
assessed property, and new industry taxes. To that end, the
State Tax Appeal Board has consistently sought to maintain
conscientious and thorough methods of review. The State Tax
Appeal Board is a three member independent review board,
separate from the Department of Revenue. Members are
appointed by the Governor for six year terms.

Duties of the State Tax Appeal Board (per §{15-2-201, MCA),

are to:

 (a) prescribe rules for the tax appeal boards of the
different counties in the performance of their duties
and for this purpose may schedule meetings of county
tax appeal boards, . . . ;

o (b) grant, at its discretion, whenever good cause is
shown and the need for the hearing is not because of
taxpayer negligence, permission to a county tax appeal
board to meet beyond the normal time period provided
forin 15-15-101 (2) to an appeal;

o (c) hear appeals from decisions of the county tax appeal
boards;

e (d) hear appeals from decisions of the department of
revenue in regard to business licenses, property
assessments, taxes and penalties.
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NEBRASKA There are three members of the Nebraska Tax Equalization
and Review Commission: one from each Nebraska
Congressional District. Commissioners are appointed by the
Governor, with the approval of the Legislature, for staggered
six year terms. One Commissioner must be an attorney, and
one Commissioner must be a licensed Nebraska real property
appraiser. State law prohibits Commissioners from holding
any other position of profit, and from engaging in any
business interfering with or inconsistent with his or her duties
as a Commissioner.

The Commission has the power to increase or decrease the
value of a class or subclass of real property in any county or
taxing authority or of real property valued by the State so that
all classes or subclasses of real property in all counties fall
within the acceptable range.

A “Special Master” may hold informal hearing(s) on behalf of
the Commission. At the conclusion of the hearing(s), the
Special Master shall submit recommended Findings of Fact to
the Commission. The duties of a Special Master shall not
include the determination of Conclusions of Law or the final
determination of any case or controversy.

NEVADA The State Board of Equalization hears and determines all
appeals from action of County Boards of Equalization. The
State Board also hears and determines direct appeals from
valuations of the Nevada Tax Commission and other appeals
as provided by law. The Division of Assessment Standards
provides staffing for the State Board of Equalization.

NEW HAMPSHIRE | The Board of Lland and Tax Appeals consists of three
members appointed by the supreme court. The board has
concurrent, appellate jurisdiction with the superior court over
all appeals concerning state and local taxation. The board of
tax and land appeals is not be bound by the technical rules of
evidence. The Parties may appeal the board’s decisions to the
supreme court. The board has broad jurisdiction to act on its
own initiative to review the legality and correctness of all
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property tax matters, including current use. The board has
exclusive, original jurisdiction over all eminent domain
proceedings.

NEW JERSEY In New Jersey the Tax Court is a court of limited jurisdiction.
Tax Court Judges hear appeals of tax decisions made by
County Boards of Taxation. The Tax Court shall have initial
review jurisdiction of all final decisions including any act,
action, proceeding, ruling, decision, order or judgment
including the promulgation of any rule or regulation of a
County Board of Taxation, the Director of the Division of
Taxation, any other state agency or official (including the
Motor Vehicle Commission), or any county or municipal
official with respect to a tax matter (including the realty
transfer fee). They also hear appeals on decisions made by the
Director of the Division of Taxation on such matters as state
income, sales and business taxes, and homestead rebates.
Appeals from Tax Court decisions are heard in the Appellate
Division of Superior Court. Tax Court judges are appointed by
the Governor for initial terms of seven years, and upon
reappointment are granted tenure until they reach the
mandatory retirement age of 70. There are 12 Tax Court
judgeships. The Tax Court handles approximately 15,000 cases
per year.

NEW MEXICO In New Mexico, if taxpayers disagree with taxation value or
classification of their property they have two alternatives:

e Tile a petition of protest — in writing to the Property
Tax Division (PTD), or

o File a claim for refund after paying taxes—This is a civil
action in the District Court for Santa Fe County.

If they file a protest petition with PTD, they will not be able to
file a claim for refund.

NEW YORK All property owners in New York are eligible for formal
review of their assessments. They can do that through an
administrative hearing at the municipal level. They can appeal
that decision to the Division of Tax Appeals. The Division of
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Tax Appeals is an independent and impartial body for the
resolution of tax and licensing disputes. It is headed by the
Tax Appeals Tribunal which is comprised of three
commissioners appointed by the Governor and confirmed by
the State Senate. The commissioners are appointed for nine-
year terms. One of the Commissioners is designated the
President of the Tribunal by the Governor and is responsible
for the administration of the Tribunal and the Division of Tax
Appeals as a whole.

At least two of the commissioners must be attorneys
admitted to practice in New York State for a period of at least
ten years and be knowledgeable on the subject of taxation.
The third member need not be an attorney but must also be
knowledgeable on the subject of taxation.

The administrative law judge unit is responsible for the
scheduling and conducting of all hearings on petitions
submitted to it, the reviewing of all motions made when
designated to do so by the tribunal and the issuing of
determinations after hearings and on motions.

The small claims unit is responsible for the scheduling and
conducting of hearings on petitions submitted to it and for
issuing final determinations after small claims hearings. Parties
may ask for a hearing before an administrative law judge if
they are not satisfied with the decision.

NORTH In 42 of the 100 counties in North Carolina, the county
CAROLINA commissioners sit as the county board of equalization. In the
other 58 counties the commissioners have appointed The
County Board of Equalization and Review. The North
Carolina Property Tax Commission is constituted as the state
board of equalization and review for the valuation and
taxation of property in the state. It is authorized to hear
appeals from listing and appraisal decisions of county boards
of commissioners and boards of equalization and review and
from orders of county boards of commissioners adopting
schedules, standards and rules for use in revaluation programs.
It also hears appeals by public service companies from the
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valuation of their property by the Department of Revenue,
and appeals from decisions of county boards of
commissioners denying requests for refund of overpayment of
tax.

The Commission is composed of five members: three are
appointed by the Governor and one each by the Senate
President Pro Tempore and Speaker of the House. Their
terms are for four years. The Chairman is designated by the
Governor and the Vice-Chairman is elected by the
Commission members.

The staff of the Property Tax Division has been designated by
the Secretary of Revenue as staff to the Property Tax
commission. A staff valuation specialist will make contact
with each property owner who appeals. A staff member will
attempt to review the appeal with the property owner and the
county assessor to determine the issues to be decided by the
Commission and in some cases will make a personal
inspection of the property under appeal.

Individuals may represent themselves before the commission
but cannot be represented by anyone not admitted to practice
law in NC. Parties may appeal to the North Carolina Court of
Appeals.

NORTH DAKOTA

North Dakota - The board of county commissioners hears
appeals from the local governing body. If the board of county
commissioners approves the application, the assessment is
corrected and if the taxes have been paid a refund is issued. If
the board of county commissioners rejects the application in
whole or part, it must mail a written explanation of the
rationale for the decision to the applicant. Their decision may
be appealed to the North Dakota District Court.

OHIO

The Ohio appeal process begins with the county board of
revision. The next step in the process is the Ohio State Tax
Appeal Board which has the authority to hear all appeals of
questions of law and facts from actions of local tax
administrative agencies. Legislation mandated that the board
create and implement a mediation program. A small claims
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division was also created to handle appeals of less than
$10,000. The board consists of three members with not more
than two members belonging to the same political party. They
are appointed for six year terms. At least two of the members
must be attorneys and must have practiced tax law for at least
the six years prior to their appointment.

OKLAHOMA

In Oklahoma the taxpayers appeal to the local county board of
equalization. If they are dissatisfied with the county board of
equalization’s decision, they may appeal to the district court in
the county where they reside.

OREGON

In Oregon taxpayer’s may appeal a decision from the county
tax appeal board to the magistrate division of the tax court.
The Tax Court judge appoints one presiding tax court
magistrate and some number of other magistrates, currently
about three. Typically, the magistrate is a practicing attorney
who is appointed by the court as a judicial officer to hear cases
informally. He or she will attempt to mediate the situation
between parties before bringing the case to trial. Court rules
are informal, and the parties may choose to represent
themselves. They may also be represented by any one of a list
of persons, including a lawyer, an accountant, a licensed
appraiser, or others. If mediation is unsuccessful, the
magistrate will consider the words and evidence of both
parties and render a written decision.

Decisions of the Magistrate Division may be appealed to the
Regular Division of the Oregon Tax Court. Parties may
represent themselves before the Regular Division, but usually
use an attorney. They appear before a tax judge and no jury.
Supervision of the Tax Court lies with the Chief Justice of the
Oregon Supreme Court.

PENNSYLVANIA

The Board of Appeals is a unit within the Pennsylvania DOR
responsible for reviewing appeals filed by taxpayers contesting
assessments or settlements issued by the DOR. The board has
original jurisdiction over most petitions for refund with some
limitations placed on refunds for liquid fuel taxes.

RHODE ISLAND

Taxpayers in RI may appeal their values to their local assessor.
The assessor has 45 days to hear that appeal. If they are not
satisfied or if the assessor fails to hear their appeal they may
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appeal to their local tax appeal board. The local board’s
decision may be appealed to the superior court.

SOUTH
CAROLINA

Taxpayers may appeal their assessment to the local assessor.
Decisions from the assessor are appealed to the
Administrative Law Court. The Administrative Law Court
hears appeals against any state agency.

SOUTH DAKOTA

Taxpayers may appeal decisions from the local board of
equalization, to the county board made up of commissioners,
or where the boards have consolidated, to the consolidated
board. From there they can appeal to the office of hearing
examiners or directly to the circuit court. They cannot appeal
to the OHE and the circuit court simultaneously.

TENNESSEE

PROPERTY TAX OVERVIEW - TENNESSEE

Nature of the tax -- how and when assessed. The property tax
in Tennessee is presently imposed only by Tennessee local
governments, and is specifically authorized and limited by the
Tennessee Constitution, Article I1, Sections 28 and 29. The
last state imposed property tax was a five cent levy abolished
when the sales tax was enacted in 1949. The Constitution
authorizes and limits property tax exemptions and also, by
virtue of the 1978 “Question 3” amendments, creates a
classified system of assessments in which property is assessed
at differing levels of full value based on property use (e.g.,
public utility, 55%, commercial and industrial, 40 % on realty
and 30 % on personalty, farm realty, 25%, and residential
realty, 25%)".

All property other than public utility company property is
assessed by elected county assessors of property. Public utility
property is assessable by the Office of State Assessed

! There is a constitutional class of “other tangible personal property” which would include farm and residential
personalty, to be assessed at 5% of value, but it is subject to a constitutional exemption as to the first $7,500, and a
statutory presumption of zero value as to the remainder. .State-wide estimated values by classification for tax year

2012 were as follows:

Public utility $ 13,438,083,517

Residential real
Farm real
Commercial real
Commercial pers.

322,672,197,115
35,632,059,678
100,285,036,276
32,292,342,997
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Properties (OSAP) in the Comptroller’s office. Annual
taxpayer renditions are required only for public utility property
and locally assessed business tangible personal property. The
renditions are due March 1 (local businesses) or April 1 (public
utility). A timely filed schedule can be amended until
September 1 following the tax year. Locally assessed real
property is reappraised at periodic intervals of from four to six
years.

Assessment percentages and tax rates; delinquency.
Assessments are based on a percentage of fair market value of
the property as of January 1, the required percentage varying
according to the constitutional classifications based on actual
or potential use. Tax rates are expressed as an amount per
$100 of assessed value, and are set by the governing body of
the county or city. The delinquency date is generally March 1
following the tax year, but some cities have earlier delinquency
dates by private act or local ordinance. Sales of property for
unpaid delinquent taxes are advertised and conducted through
local chancery courts in each county.

Exemptions. Exemptions are available for religious,
charitable, scientific, and nonprofit educational uses,
governmental property, cemeteries, business inventories, and
farm and residential personal property. Most
nongovernmental exemptions require a one-time application
and approval by the State Board of Equalization (615/741-
4883) and there is an April 20 application deadline. There is
no “homestead” exemption, but low income elderly and
disabled persons and disabled veterans may qualify for a rebate
of taxes on a specified portion of the value of property used as
their residence.

Assessment appeals. Assessments must be appealed annually
to the county board of equalization in each county, or they
become final for the year. The appeal must be presented to
the county board in person or through an authorized agent,
during the board’s regular session which is typically during the
month of June. Consult individual counties for more detail.
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Decisions of the county boards may be appealed to the State
Board of Equalization, but must be filed by August 1 or within
45 days from the county board notice, whichever is later.
Appeal consultants at the state level of appeal (other than
attorneys) must qualify on the basis of appraisal training (120
classroom hours) and experience (four years) and register with
the State Board of Equalization.

State involvement in the property tax. The State Board of
Equalization is part of a substantial state involvement in what
is otherwise purely a local tax. The State Board is responsible
by statute generally for assuring that property is assessed for
taxes according to the constitution and statutes, and it is
specifically responsible for hearing appeals from county
boards of equalization and for approving assessment manuals,
training and guidelines for local assessors.

The Board directly reviews assessments of public utility and
common carrier companies initially assessed by the Office of
State Assessed Properties. A third state agency, the Division
of Property Assessments in the Comptroller's office, provides
technical assistance to county assessors and trustees
(collectors), monitors assessment performance by assessors,
and develops guidelines and training for assessors with
approval of the State Board.

The Board and Division have also been given various specific
tasks relating to their broader missions, such as approval of
applications for certain property tax exemptions (Board),
review of certified tax rates following reappraisal (Board), and
coordination of the property tax relief program for low
income elderly and disabled persons and disabled veterans
(Division).

The Board's appeal responsibilities are carried out primarily
through a staff of four attorney hearing judges, with a right of
appeal to the six member Assessment Appeals Commission
which is appointed annually by the Board. The Board in its
discretion may review decisions of the Assessment Appeals
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Commission, or the decisions may be appealed directly to
chancery court.

TEXAS Taxpayers in Texas can appeal to the local appraisal review
board. If they are dissatisfied with the decision, they may
appeal to the state district court in their county.

UTAH The governor appoints four state tax commissioners. The
commissioners appoint an executive director to handle the day
to day business of the office. The commissioners hear appeals
on 37 different types of taxes. With the assistance of
administrative law judges and the appeals support statf, the
Tax Commissioners hold hearings and issue orders or final
rulings on the various appeals before them.

By statute, the Tax Commissioners also manage several other
functions. The Economic and Statistical Unit provides tax
related data and analysis and produces economic reports. The
Internal Audit Unit provides consistent review of agency
functions. The Public Information Officer coordinates
communication with media and other external organizations.
In addition to their primary responsibilities, the Tax
Commissioners function in official capacities such as serving
on the Governor’s Cabinet and chairing the Farmland
Assessment Advisory Committee. Other commitments include
coordination with local governments and organizations as well
as participating in national organizations.

VERMONT Taxpayers must first appeal to the local listers (appraisers) or
to the local Board of Civil Authority. A decision of the board
of civil authority may be appealed to state appraiser or to
superior court.

VIRGNIA Taxpayers may request an informal review if they are not
satisfied with their assessment. If they are satisfied with the
outcome of the informal review, they may appeal to the tax
commissioner. The tax commissioner’s decisions may be
appealed to circuit court.

WASHINGTON The Board of Tax Appeals for Washington State (BTA or
State Board) is an impartial and inexpensive forum for state
tax appeals. It is not part of, or associated with, any other
governmental agency.
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Board of Tax Appeals hears appeals from decisions of the
County Boards of Equalization and the State Department of
Revenue.

The Board of Tax Appeals is the only state-level independent
administrative forum available for citizens and businesses to
inquire as to the correctness and legality of their tax liability.

The Board is made up of three members appointed by the
governor. No more than two can be from the same political
party. Their terms are staggered and are for six years. The
board can operate either as a full time or a part time board as
determined by the governor. If it is a full time the salary is
determined by the governor. If the board is part time, the
members shall receive §75 for every day they perform their
duties, not to exceed $10,000 per year.

Board decisions can be appealed to supetior coutt.

WEST VIRGINIA

The West Virginia Office of Tax Appeals (“OTA”) hears
and decides primarily state tax disputes that are not
resolved informally before the State Tax Commissionet’s
Office. OTA is completely separate from and totally
independent of the State Tax Commissioner’s Office, and
is a quasi-judicial tribunal that is part of the executive
branch of state government (within the West Virginia
DOR for administrative support and budgetary purposes
only).

OTA is headed by a full-time Chief Administrative Law
Judge (“CALJ”), who is appointed (for a four-year term) by
the Governor (with the advice and consent of the State
Senate), from a list of three qualified nominees submitted
by the State Bar. The CALJ is a lawyer having, among
other things, certain federal or state tax experience and
expertise. OTA has two other full-time administrative law
judges, who also are lawyers having certain federal or state
tax experience. OTA’s Executive Director is the “office
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manager” and “clerk of court.” OTA currently is budgeted
for six other support staff employees.

All cases start by filing a written petition (for reassessment
ot for refund) with OTA (without any petition filing fee),
and the State Tax Commissioner files and serves a written
answer in all cases. Cases before OTA are processed either
as small claim cases or as regular (non- small claim) cases.
Small claim cases are handled in a less formal manner,
usually upon submission of documents only and without
an evidentiary hearing in person. Any appeal to circuit
court is based exclusively upon the evidentiary (factual)
record made before OTA, and no new evidence would be

admissible into the record after the appeal to circuit court
is filed.

WISCONSIN The Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission is an independent
state agency that was created by the Wisconsin State
Legislature to hear and determine disputes between taxpayers
and the Wisconsin Departments of Revenue and
Transportation. The Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission also
resolves tax disputes in the areas of individual income,
corporate income, county sales tax, cigarette use, homestead
credit, and many more.

Beginning with 1999 cases, the decisions and select rulings of
the Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission (TAC) have been
placed Wisbar.org for the benefit of attorneys and the general
public. The TAC is an independent state agency that hears and
decides disputes between the Department of Revenue (and, in
a very limited way, the Department of Transportation) and
individual taxpayers and entities. The Commission may
conduct an evidentiary hearing or may act on a legal motion of
a party (such as a motion for summary judgment).

The Commission is made up of three board members
appointed by the governor.

For property tax assessments, taxpayers are encouraged to
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meet with the assessors. If they are not happy with the
outcome of that meeting, taxpayers may appeal to the board of
assessors which is made up of assessor office staff members.
Municipalities are not required to have board of assessors and
very few do. The next step in the appeal process is the Board
of Review which consists of municipal officers, residents or a
combination of the two. A Board of Review cannot be
constituted unless it contains at least one voting member who
has attended a DOR approved training session for BOR
members within the two years prior to the BOR’s first
meeting. BOR’s decisions are appealed to the circuit court.

WYOMING The State Board of Equalization is a full-time constitutional

and professional board of three Wyoming citizens appointed
by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The Board’s
duties are to equalize valuation on all property in Wyoming’s
counties, and to perform other duties prescribed by law.

In practice, the majority of the Board’s time is devoted to
hearing disputes between taxpayers and the Department of
Revenue, and reviewing appeals from decisions of county
boards of equalization that adjudicate a dispute between a
taxpayer and a county assessor. In all cases, the Board issues
written decisions subject to the standards of the Wyoming
Administrative Procedures Act.

The Board discharges its duty to equalize valuation of locally
assessed property in Wyoming counties through an annual process.
The Board reviews and evaluates abstracts of property valuations
submitted by the county assessor in each county for uniformity by
employing recognized statistical principles established and
incorporated in the Board’s Rules. The Board’s authority to address
errors ranges from consulting with county assessors on possible
changes to work practices, to directing county assessors to modify
property tax valuations. The Board encourages county assessors to
recognize and utilize best work practices in valuation of property.
After the abstracts are approved, the Board certifies the mill levy
for each county.
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