Unofficial Draft Copy

As of: March 15, 2016 (11:33AM)

LCjr03

A Bill for an Act entitled: "An Act moving Broadwater County to the 14th Judicial District; and providing effective dates."

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Montana:

Section 1. Section 3-5-101, MCA, is amended to read:

"3-5-101. Judicial districts defined. In this state, there are 22 judicial districts, distributed as follows:

(1) 1st district: Lewis and Clark and Broadwater CountiesCounty;

- (2) 2nd district: Silver Bow County;
- (3) 3rd district: Deer Lodge, Granite, and Powell Counties;
- (4) 4th district: Missoula and Mineral Counties;

(5) 5th district: Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Madison Counties;

(6) 6th district: Park and Sweet Grass Counties;

(7) 7th district: Dawson, McCone, Richland, Prairie, andWibaux Counties;

(8) 8th district: Cascade County;

(9) 9th district: Teton, Pondera, Toole, and Glacier Counties;

(10) 10th district: Fergus, Judith Basin, and Petroleum Counties;

(11) 11th district: Flathead County;

1 LC jr03

Unofficial Draft Copy

As of: March 15, 2016 (11:33AM)

LCjr03

(12) 12th district: Liberty, Hill, and Chouteau Counties;

(13) 13th district: Yellowstone County;

(14) 14th district: Broadwater, Meagher, Wheatland, Golden
Valley, and Musselshell Counties;

(15) 15th district: Roosevelt, Daniels, and Sheridan Counties;

(16) 16th district: Custer, Carter, Fallon, Powder River,

Garfield, Treasure, and Rosebud Counties;

(17) 17th district: Phillips, Blaine, and Valley Counties;

(18) 18th district: Gallatin County;

(19) 19th district: Lincoln County;

(20) 20th district: Lake and Sanders Counties;

(21) 21st district: Ravalli County;

(22) 22nd district: Stillwater, Carbon, and Big Horn Counties."
{Internal References to 3-5-101: None.}

NEW SECTION. Section 2. {standard} Effective dates. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2), [this act] is effective January 1, 2019.

(2) Residents of Broadwater County are eligible to vote in the 2018 elections to elect a district court judge for the 14th judicial district.

– END –

{Name	:	Rachel J. Weiss
Title	:	Research Analyst
Agency	:	Legislative Services Division
Phone	:	406-444-5367
		,
E-Mail	:	rweiss@mt.gov}