## Unofficial Draft Copy

As of: March 29, 2016 (3:59PM)

LCjr05

\*\*\*\* Bill No. \*\*\*\*

Introduced By \*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

By Request of the \*\*\*\*\*\*\*

A Bill for an Act entitled: "An Act revising judicial districts; eliminating the 14th and the 22nd judicial districts; revising the 6th and 16th judicial districts; revising the number of judges in the 6th and XXX judicial districts; amending sections 3-5-101 and 3-5-102, MCA; and providing effective dates."

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Montana:

**Section 1.** Section 3-5-101 , MCA, is amended to read:

- "3-5-101. Judicial districts defined. In this state, there are
  22 20 judicial districts, distributed as follows:
  - (1) 1st district: Lewis and Clark and Broadwater Counties;
  - (2) 2nd district: Silver Bow County;
  - (3) 3rd district: Deer Lodge, Granite, and Powell Counties;
  - (4) 4th district: Missoula and Mineral Counties;
  - (5) 5th district: Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Madison Counties;
- (6) 6th district: <u>Carbon, Golden Valley, Meagher, Musselshell,</u>
  Park, <u>Stillwater, and Sweet Grass, and Wheatland</u> Counties;
- (7) 7th district: Dawson, McCone, Richland, Prairie, and Wibaux Counties;
  - (8) 8th district: Cascade County;
  - (9) 9th district: Teton, Pondera, Toole, and Glacier Counties;

- (10) 10th district: Fergus, Judith Basin, and Petroleum
  - (11) 11th district: Flathead County;

Counties;

- (12) 12th district: Liberty, Hill, and Chouteau Counties;
- (13) 13th district: Yellowstone County;
- (14) 14th district: Meagher, Wheatland, Golden Valley, and Musselshell Counties eliminated in 2019;
  - (15) 15th district: Roosevelt, Daniels, and Sheridan Counties;
- (16) 16th district: <u>Big Horn</u>, Custer, Carter, Fallon, Powder River, Garfield, Treasure, and Rosebud Counties;
  - (17) 17th district: Phillips, Blaine, and Valley Counties;
  - (18) 18th district: Gallatin County;
  - (19) 19th district: Lincoln County;
  - (20) 20th district: Lake and Sanders Counties;
  - (21) 21st district: Ravalli County;
- (22) 22nd district: Stillwater, Carbon, and Big Horn Counties eliminated in 2019."

 $\{Internal References to 3-5-101: None.\}$ 

- **Section 2.** Section 3-5-102 , MCA, is amended to read:
- "3-5-102. Number of judges. In each judicial district, there must be the following number of judges of the district court:
- (1) in the 2nd, 6th, 7th, 16th, 20th, and 21st districts, two judges each;
  - (2) in the 18th district, three judges;
  - (3) in the 1st, 4th, 8th, and 11th districts, four judges each;

## Unofficial Draft Copy

As of: March 29, 2016 (3:59PM)

LCjr05

- (4) in the 13th district, six judges;
- (5) in all other districts, one judge each."
  {Internal References to 3-5-102: None.}

NEW SECTION. Section 3. Election of judge in the X district. There must be an election for the office of the XX district court judge at the general election to be held in November 2018 for a 6-year term to begin in January 2019.

NEW SECTION. Section 4. {standard} Effective dates.(1)

Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3), [this act] is effective

January 1, 2019.

- (2) [Section 3] is effective on passage and approval.
- (3) Residents of the affected counties are eligible to vote in the 2018 elections to elect district court judges for the districts that will take effect in January 2019.

- END -

{Name : Rachel J. Weiss Title : Research Analyst

Agency: Legislative Services Division

Phone: 406-444-5367

E-Mail: rweiss@mt.gov}