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MONTANA WATERCRAFT FEE SCENARIOS

The fees listed below and the revenues they generate are calculated on an annual basis.

Total AIS Watercraft Fee Watercraft Fee as % Resident Motorized Nonresident Resident Nonresident Total MT Revenue
Budget Revenue of Total Budget Motorized Nonmotorized Nonmotorized
California $5.98 million $2.8 million 47% $8 = $554,960 to $994,488 N/A N/A N/A $554,960 to $994,488
Coloradot $4 million $2.4 million 60% $25 = $1.73 mill to $3.11 mill $50 = $321,900 N/A N/A $2.05 mill to $3.43 mill
(estimated)
Idaho* $5.4 million $1.2 million 22% $10 = $693,700 to $1.24 mill $30 = $193,140 $7 = $236,908 to $505,407 $7 = $77,084 $1.2 mill to $2.02 mill
Nevada $600,000 to $210,000 to $262,500 35% $12 = $832,440 to $1.49 mill $12 = $77,256 $5 = $169,220 to $361,005 $5 = $55,060 $1.13 mill to $1.98 mill
$750,000
Oregon $810,000 $750,000 to $846,000 ~97% $2.50 = $173,425 to $310,777 $20 = $128,760 $5 = $169,220 to $361,005 $5 = $55,060 $526,465 to $855,602
Washingtoni $1.2 million ~$1.15 million ~96% $2 = $138,740 to $248,622 $20 = $128,760 N/A N/A $267,500 to $377,382
Wyoming $1.35 million ~$650,000 ~48% $10 = $693,700 to $1.24 mill $30 = $193,140 $5 = $169,220 to $361,005 $15 = $165,180 $1.2 mill to $1.99 mill
Utah $2.867 million ~$650,000 ~23% $10 = $693,700 to $1.24 mill N/A N/A N/A $693,700 to $1.24 mill

*The low end of range reflects mototized boats with 3-year registration decals as of 2/28/17. The high end reflects all boats permanently registered in MT as of Calendar Year 2016.

**The low end of the range reflects the number of resident nonmotorized watercraft inspected at Montana AIS check stations in 2017. The high end is an estimated projection of the total number of resident nonmotorized watercraft using the

ratio of resident motorized watercraft inspected in 2017 compared to the total number of resident motorized watercraft that have 3-year registration decals.

TThese figures reflect a proposal currently under consideration by the Colorado Legislature.
1TWashington’s $20 fee for nonresident motorized watercraft also applies to commercial vessels, seaplanes, and commercial transporters of vessels.

+ Idaho had 84,000 resident motorized boats in 2017. They sold 12,000 nonresident motorized decals and 62,000 total nonmotorized decals.

Policy considerations:

e Which watercraft? e Is there a physical sticker/decal?
e If nonmotorized, of a certain length? Only those that e Is electronic proof allowed?
contain water? e Is a sticker/decal/electronic proof transferable?
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e If fee on resident motorized boats is assessed at
registration validation, which is required every 3 years, how

ot do you catch up the 3-year lag?
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