


Montana’s Impaired Driving Problem
• Deaths by drunk drivers are roughly twice the national average per 100 million 

miles driven
• Montana led nation in 3 of last 5 years for highest percentage fatal accidents 

caused by  drunk drivers
• Montana vehicle fatalities caused by drunk drivers increased from 38% in 2007 to 

45% in 2016.
• Montana vehicle fatalities involving drivers that had more than twice the legal 

limit of alcohol in their system jumped sharply from 30% in 2007 to 36% in 2016.
• In 2016 46% of suspected DUI offenders refused to take a breathalyzer test.  This 

was twice the national average refusal rate of 24%
• Montana had nation’s third highest incidence of drivers in fatal accidents who 

tested positive for drugs per 100,000 population from 1995-2013
• Montana was rated last nationally by MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) in 

the effectiveness of its DUI laws

• (Montana DUI Task Forces and Judges DUI Survey Analysis and Recommendations June 2018)





























Primary Recommendations



1. Make a third DUI a felony.
• Montana felony DUI offenders conservatively estimate they have driven 369 

times per conviction, or over 1000 times for 3rd DUI.
• Longer prison sentences for repeat  DUI offenders helps protect public
• 180 day long WATCH (Warm Springs Addictions Treatment & Change) 

addiction recovery program only available to felony offenders

• 87% probation/parole compliance, including no DUI’s, by graduates monitored while 
on parole. (Much higher success than other addiction programs)

• Current enrollment down because  HB 133 allowed felony DUI offenders option to go 
to DUI Courts, instead

• Cost is less than $65 per day, or about half that of other prisoners in Dept. 
Corrections

• Can be retaken with adjusted curriculum for graduates that recidivate with a DUI 



2. Require the use of well-publicized Sobriety Checkpoints by 
law enforcement and provide additional funding to encourage 
their regular use for maximum effectiveness.
• The Supreme Court (Michigan vs. Sitz) ruled that sobriety checkpoints are constitutional 

because the small inconvenience that drivers face is overwhelmed by a compelling state 
interest in saving lives.  38 states use Sobriety Checkpoints

• Montana has elected not to use them (some argue state constitutional concerns)
• MT legislature passed 2017 Temporary Roadblocks bill but made it illegal to use them to 

issue charges for secondary offenses, such as an impaired driver (Why do we make it so 
hard on ourselves?

• Strong consensus from professionals surveyed to use them to reduce DUI’s
• 65% of Montanans were in favor of stronger laws to reduce alcoholism
• Their use would likely decrease drunk driving by 10 to 16% or more as evidenced in many 

research studies. 
• Costs to run them are more than made up by savings in reduced DUI crashes
• Funds can be made available for this and will be discussed later



3. Require the state to electronically collect annual DUI case statistics by court and 
judge, including the number of DUI cases heard, the number of DUI cases dismissed, 
the number of DUI cases pled to lesser offenses, the number of DUI cases resulting in 
DUI convictions, and any other statistics that help the state assess the effectiveness of 
these courts in dealing with DUI cases. 

• NHTSA in its 2016 Impaired Driving Assessment of Montana recommended similar 
collection of court and other data to be able to monitor how DUI’s are being adjudicated. 

• Addresses concerns expressed by law enforcement and citizens in survey that some 
lower court judges are consistently soft on DUI’s

• Is a substitute for monitoring court DUI cases by volunteers, a countermeasure 
previously used nationally to reduce the problem of soft judges

• Costs would be minimal,  adding additional data requirements to existing requirement of 
courts to report statistics

• Data collected could either be used by state agencies dealing with adjudication, or made 
public annually

• Would likely be required only for lower courts dealing with misdemeanor DUI’s



What can we do to address widespread concerns 
expressed in this survey about the lack of resources to 
fund prevention; DUI law enforcement; DUI 
adjudication; close monitoring; incarceration; and 
treatment for DUI offenders?



Funding Opportunities to Reduce DUI’s

• NHTSA in it 2016 Impaired Driving Assessment of Montana made several 
suggestions:

• Make a 10 cent per drink tax to go to prevention and treatment programs
• Increase per centage of DUI fines going to such programs (none currently).  
• Relook at alcohol taxes to increase prevention funding

Currently beer taxes are lower in MT than 80% of the other states.  Current tax paid for 
a 12 oz. can of beer is?

1.3 cents per can!   Only one fourth of the beer tax goes to prevention or 
treatment!  Imagine how increasing the beer tax by just a few cents per can and 
allocating all of that additional tax to prevention, DUI law enforcement, addiction 
treatment, and incarcerating DUI offenders can reduce DUI’s in Montana.  



Summary of DUI Task Forces and Judges Survey 
Analysis and Recommendations Document 
• We are presenting today only five primary recommendations 
• The document has  an additional 34 recommendations
• The entire document can be found at the website for 

zeroduideaths.org
• Document contains an appendix describing research findings on these 

recommendations
• Document will be released to the public in August or September 
• We urge your support by drafting and supporting legislation that 

addresses our concerns and recommendations



Becky Sturdevant will now address our 
recommendation to require either an ignition 
interlock or close monitoring for a first time DUI 
offender.   After that Trooper Dan Arnold will 
address our recommendation to allow telephonic 
warrants by law enforcement where needed for 
first time DUI offenders.



4. Require either close monitoring or ignition interlocks 
for first-time DUI offenders

• Both are key countermeasures recommended by National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA)

• Costs shall be paid for by the offender, except where the indigent may need local 
or state government assistance 

• 80% of repeat DUI offenders in a study indicated that more severe sanctions at 
their first DUI conviction would have prevented subsequent drunk driving arrests 
and convictions.  These measures remind first offender daily of their mistake.

• Offenders with Ignition interlocks or close monitoring requirements had greatly 
reduced recidivism rates while on or shortly after probation/parole.  

• Judges have discretion of which to require based on availability, costs, and needs 
of the offender and society 
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