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State legislators, including those in Montana, are examining state laws, analyzing the use of electronic bikes (e-bikes), and determining how best, 
if at all, to regulate their use on public streets and paths. According to the National Conference of State Legislature (NCSL), 33 states and the 
District of Columbia define e-bikes in law.1 Montana is included in that list. 

Montana law (61-8-102, MCA) defines e-bikes, or “electrically assisted bicycles” as a bicycle 
with two operational pedals with a motor attached propels the bicycle and a rider who weighs 
170 pounds no faster than 20 miles an hour. Essentially, for the purposes of regulation and 
enforcement, an e-bike is treated as a bicycle. The state does not require license or 
registration. And e-bikes may be ridden on roadways and bicycle paths.  

Federal law provides guidance in terms of the manufacturing and sale of e-bikes in the nation. 
Amendments to the Consumer Product Safety Commission passed by Congress in 2002 provide 
a definition of e-bikes as “A two- or three-wheeled vehicle with fully operable pedals and an 
electric motor of less than 750 watts (1 h.p.), whose maximum speed on a paved level surface, 
when powered solely by such a motor while ridden by an operator who weighs 170 pounds, is 
less than 20 mph.” Montana’s definition largely mirrors the federal definition. Devices that meet the federal definition are regulated by the 
Consumer Product Safety Commission. However, the federal law applies only to the e-bike’s product standards and safety. Additional e-bike 
regulation is provided by states. State laws in general focus on e-bike classification systems, licensure and insurance regulation, helmet 
requirements, age requirements, and some guidance in terms of where e-bikes can travel.  

As of late 2017, 13 states (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Michigan, Ohio, Tennessee, Utah, Washington and 
Wyoming) created a three-tiered e-bike classification system for the purposes of e-bike regulation, according to NCSL. The People For Bikes and 
the Bicycle Product Suppliers Association in a 2019 publication, report that 22 states have enacted classifications. They add Georgia, Indiana, 
Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Texas to the NCSL list.2 Classification systems allow states to 
regulate faster e-bikes more like motor vehicles and slower e-bikes more like regular bicycles.  The classifications differentiate between e-bike 
models and speed capabilities.  

 

 

                                                           
1 http://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-electric-bicycle-laws-a-legislative-primer.aspx 
2 https://peopleforbikes.org/our-work/e-bikes/policies-and-laws/ 

61-8-602, MCA 
Traffic laws applicable to persons operating 

bicycles or mopeds. A person operating a bicycle or 
moped is granted all of the rights and is subject to 

all of the duties applicable to the driver of any other 
vehicle by chapter 7, chapter 9, and this chapter 
except for special regulations in this part or the 

provisions of chapter 7, chapter 9, and this chapter 
that by their nature cannot apply. 

 

http://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-electric-bicycle-laws-a-legislative-primer.aspx
https://peopleforbikes.org/our-work/e-bikes/policies-and-laws/
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Those classifications most often include: 

• Class 1 electric bicycle -- A bicycle equipped with a motor that assists only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to assist when the 
bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 

• Class 2 electric bicycle -- A bicycle equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle, and that is not capable of 
assisting when the bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 

• Class 3 electric bicycle -- A bicycle equipped with a motor that assist only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide 
assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 miles per hour and is equipped with a speedometer. 

Additional regulation of e-bikes flows from the classification systems established. For example, protective headgear is sometimes required based 
on varying classifications. In Montana, the operator of a motorcycle or quadricycle under the age of 18 is required to wear a helmet. An e-bike is 
not defined as a motorcycle or quadricycle. Requirements in other states vary, from Connecticut which requires all e-bike operators to wear 
protective headgear to Utah which requires operators under that age of 21 to wear a helmet.  

Other states have established age restrictions for operating an e-bike. For example, California prohibits a person under the age of 16 from 
operating a class 3 e-bike. Utah allows an e-bike operator between the ages of 8 and 14 on public property, highways, paths, or sidewalks, if 
supervised by a parent or guardian. Montana law does not include age restrictions for the operation of an e-bike. 

Of the 13 states with classifications systems, 12 exempt e-bikes from any form of registration, licensure, or insurance, but all 13 state laws 
require an operator affix an e-bike with a label that establishes its classification. Laws in Illinois also allow local authorities to develop regulations 
for e-bike operations and registration or licensing requirements. Several state laws also specifically allow e-bike operation on bicycle paths or 
greenways, but some of those states also make exceptions for cities and counties to enact stricter operation regulations. Similar to the law in 
Montana, in Delaware, Florida, Iowa and Nebraska e-bikes are defined as bicycles and there is not a distinction when it comes to operation.  
California and Tennessee disallow class 3 e-bikes on a bicycle path, but allow local governments to opt-in.  

The Transportation Research and Education Center (TREC) developed the table provided below, which provides a snapshot of electric bicycle 
laws by state.3 The list was compiled in November 2017. The TREC is located at Portland State University is one of seven university 
transportation centers funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation. 

                                                           
3 https://trec.pdx.edu/ 

https://trec.pdx.edu/


Electric Bicycle Laws by State and Province
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        Law references

Alabama Motor-Driven Cycle N Y Y 14 150 cc -- N N Y N N Ala. Code § 32-1-1.1 (2013); § 885-1-1-.05; 32-5A-245; 32-12-41

Alaska Motor-Driven Cycle N Y N 14 50 cc -- N N N N N Alaska Stat. § 28.90.990

Arizona Motorized Electric Bicycle Y N N -- 48 cc 20 N N N Y Y Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 28-2516

Arkansas Electric Bicycle** Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y N N Y Y Ark. Code § 27-51-1702; § 27-51-1703 to 1706

California Electric Bicycle** Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y N N Y Y Cal. Veh. Code. § 312.5; § 21200 - 21212; § 21207.5; § 24016

Colorado Electrical assisted  Bicycle** Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y N N Y Y Colo. Rev. Stat. § 42-1-102 (28.5); 42-3-103(1)(b)(I) ; 42-4-111(1)(dd) ; 42-4-221(9)-(10); 42-4-1412

Connecticut Motor-Driven Cycle N Y N 16 50 cc -- N N N‡ N N Conn. Gen. Stat. § 248-14-1 (52); § 248-14-286

D. C. Motorized Bicycle Y N N 16 -- 20 Y N N N N D.C. Code § 18:99-01; § 50:1501.01-03; D.C. Act 19-658

Delaware Bicycle Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y Y N‡ Y Y Del. Code tit. 21 § 1-101 (2); tit. 21 § 41

Florida Bicycle Y N N 16 -- 20 Y N N Y Y Fla. Stat. § 322.01; § 316.003

Georgia Electric Assisted Bicycle Y N N 15 1000 W 20 Y N Y Y N Ga. Code § 40-1-1 (15.5); § 40-6-294; § 40-6-351; § 40-6-352

Hawaii Moped N Y Y 15 1491 W† 30 N N N‡ N N Haw. Rev. Stat. § 14:249-1; § 17:286-81; § 17:291C-194

Idaho Moped N Y N -- 50 cc 30 N N N Y Idaho Code § 49-114; § 49-721; § 49-1428

Illinois Low-Speed Electric Bicycle** Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y N N Y Y 625 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/1-140.10; 625 ILCS 5/11‑208; 625 ILCS 5/11‑1517

Indiana Motorized Bicycle Y N N 15 50 cc 25 N N N‡ N Ind. Code § 9-13-2-109; § 9-21-11-12

Iowa Bicycle Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y Y N Y Y Iowa Code § 321.1

Kansas Electric Assisted Bicycle Y N N -- 1000 W 20 Y N N Y Y Kan. Stat. § 8-1489

Kentucky Bicycle Y N N -- -- -- Y N N Y Y Ky. Admin. Reg.  601  §14:020 (1)(a)

Louisana Motorized Bicycle N Y Y 15 1119 W† 25 N N Y N La. Rev. Stat. § 32:401 (19); § 32:198; § 32:190

Maine Motorized Bicycle N Y Y 16 1119 W† 20 N N N‡ Y Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 29-A § 101-1 (41); tit. 29-A § 11; tit. 29-A § 19; tit. 29-A § 2063

Maryland Electric Bicycle Y N N -- 500 W 20 Y Y N Y N Md. Code, Com. Law § 11-117.1; § 21-1200

Massachusetts Motorized Bicycle N Y Y 16 50 cc 25 N N Y Y* Y* Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 14, §§ 90-1B~E; ch. 14 § 90-1

Michigan Electric Bicycle** Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y N N Y Y Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.13e; § 324.72105(2)-(4); § 500.3101(c)(i)(viii); § 657; § 662a; 

Minnesota Electric-Assisted Bicycle Y N N 15 1000 W 20 Y N N Y Y Minn. Stat. § 169.011 (27); § 168A.03; § 160.263

Mississippi Bicycle with a Motor Attached Y N N -- -- -- N N N Y* Y* Op. Atty. Gen. No. 2007-00602; Op. Atty. Gen. No. 2011-00095; Miss. Code § 63-3-103

Missouri Motorized Bicycle N Y N 16 2238 W† 30 N N N N Mo. Rev. Stat. § 301.010 (36); § 300.347; § 307.180; § 307.195

Montana Electrically Assisted Bicycle Y N N -- -- 20 Y N N Y Y Mont. Code § 61-8-102(2)(g)

Nebraska Electric Assisted Bicycle Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y N N Y Y Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-611

Nevada Electric Bicycle Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y Y N Y N Nev. Rev. Stat. § 484B.017; § 484B.777; § 484B.117; § 483.090

New Hampshire Electrically Powered Bicycle Y N N 14 750 W 20 Y Y N‡ N N.H. Rev. Stat. § 259:65

New Jersey Motorized Bicycle N Y Y 15 1119 W† 25 N N Y N N N.J. Rev. Stat. § 39:1-1; § 39:3-10

New Mexico Moped N Y N 15 50 cc 30 N N N‡ N N.M. Stat. § 66-1-4.11; § 66-1-4.2; § 66-5-2

New York Motor-Assisted Bicycle N Y Y -- -- -- N N N N N N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 102; § 123

North Carolina Electric Assisted Bicycle Y N N 16 750 W 20 Y Y N N N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-4.01 (7a & 49)

North Dakota Motorized Bicycle N Y Y 14 50 cc 30 Y N N N N.D. Cent. Code § 39-01-01 (48); 39-06-14.1

Ohio Motorized Bicycle N Y Y 14 745 W† 20 Y Y N‡ N Ohio Rev. Code § 4501.01(L); § 4511.521; § 4511.711

Oklahoma Electric-Assisted Bicycle N Y N -- 1000 W 30 Y N N Y Y Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 1-104; tit. 47 § 11-805.2; tit. 47 § 11-1103

Oregon Electric Assisted Bicycle Y N N 16 1000 W 20 Y N N Y N Or. Rev. Stat. § 801.258; § 814.405; § 814.410; § 807.020

Pennsylvania Pedalcycle with Electric Assist Y N N 16 750 W 20 Y Y N Y* Senate Bill 997; 75 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 102; 75 Pa.C.S. § 3525; 75 Pa.C.S. §3703

Rhode Island Electric Motorized Bicycle N Y N 16 1491 W† 25 Y N N‡ Y Y R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-1-3; § 31-3-2.2; § 31-19.1.1

South Carolina Moped N Y N 14 1491 W† 30 N N N‡ N S.C. Code § 56-5-165; § 56-1-1720

South Dakota Moped N Y N 14 50 cc -- N N N‡ N S.D. Codified Laws § 32-3-1; § 32-20-1; § 32-5-1.2; § 32-26-21.1

Tennessee Electric Bicycle** Y N N -- 750 W 20 Y N N Y N Tenn. Code § 55-8-172-177; § 55-*-171(c)

Texas Electric Bicycle Y N N -- -- 20 N N N Y Y Tex. Trans. Code §541.201 (24); §541.202 (4); §551.106

Utah Electric Bicycle** Y N N 14 750 W 20 Y N N Y N Utah Code § 41-6a-102 (7-9, 16); § 41-6a-1115.5; § 41-6a-1505;

TREC/Portland State University Updated November 2017                      
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Vermont Motor-Assisted Bicycle Y N N 16 1000 W 20 N N N Y N Vt. Stat. Ann. 23 § 4 (45(B)(i)); 23 § 1136

Virginia Electric Power Assisted Bicycle Y N N 14 1000 W 25 Y N N Y Y Va. Code § 46.2-100; § 46.2-903; § 46.2-908.1; § 46.2-906.1

Washington Electric Assisted Bicycle Y N N 16 1000 W 20 Y N N Y N Wash. Rev. Code § 46 4-169; § 46 61-710; § 46 4-320; § 46 37-530; § 46 16A-080; § 46 20-500

West Virginia Moped N Y Y 15 1491 W† 30 Y N Y N W. Va. Code § 17C-1-5a; § 17C-15-44

Wisconsin Motor Bicycle N Y N -- 750 W 20 Y Y N Y* Y* Wis. Stat. § 340.01 (30); § 346.02 (4); § 346.79 (5); § 343.05(3)(c)

Wyoming Moped N Y N 15 1491 W† 30 Y N N‡ N N Wyo. Stat. § 31-5-102(xxi); § 10.32.160; § 31-5-115 (o); § 31-1-101

Alberta Power Bicycle Y N N 12 500 W 20 Y Y Y Alta Reg 304/2002; Alta Reg 122/2009; RSA 2000, c T-6; Alta Reg 320/2002

British Columbia Motor Assisted Cycle Y N N 16 500 W 20 Y Y Y Y N* BC Reg 151/2002; RSBC 1996, c 318, Part 1 & Part 3

Manitoba Power-Assisted Bicycle Y N N 14 500 W 20 Y Y Y N CCSM c H60

New Brunswick Bicycle Y N N -- Y Y RSNB 1973, c M-17

Newfoundland Bicycle Y N N -- N N RSNL 1990, c H-3

Northwest Territories Bicycle Y N N -- N N RSNWT 1988, c M-16

Nova Scotia Bicycle Y N N -- 500 W 19 Y Y Y Y N RSNS 1989, c 293

Nunavut Bicycle Y N N -- N N RSNWT (Nu) 1988, c M-16

Ontario Power-Assisted Bicycle Y N N 16 500 W 20 Y Y Y Y* Y* RSO 1990, c H.8; O Reg 369/09

Prince Edward Island Motor Assisted Pedal Bicycle N Y Y 16 50 cc 31 N N Y Y N RSPEI 1988, c H-5; PEI Reg EC642/75

Quebec Power-Assisted Bicycle Y N N 18 500 W 20 Y Y Y Y* N CQLR c C-24.2; CQLR c V-1.2, r 4.1; CQLR c P-9, r 25

Saskatchewan

Electric Assist Bicycle;

Power Cycle Y N N -- 500 W 20 Y Y Y Y* Y* SS 2004, c T-18.1; Motorcycle handbook

Yukon Electric Power-Assisted Bicycle Y N N -- 500 W 20 Y Y N N* RSY 2002, c 153

Different than maximum speed capability, though most areas see this as the same

Sidewalks: Are e-bikes permitted on sidewalks?

Law reference: What is source of this information?

‡ Age requirement; those under a certain age are required to wear a helmet

* Restrictions apply (engine cannot be engaged, local ordinances prohibit use, etc.)

* Restrictions apply (engine cannot be engaged, local ordinances prohibit use, etc.)

Speed: What is the maximum speed of operation permitted?

Pedals: Are fully functional pedals required for operation?

Federal: Is the state/provincial definition in line with the federal definition?

Helmet: Is a helmet required for operating an e-bike?

Paths: Are e-bikes permitted on shared-use paths and trails?

** California has establish a 3 Class structure. Class 3 "speed pedal-assisted electric bicycle" has additional requirements than Class 1 & 2, such as speed, age 

restriction, helmet use, and path access. Additional states are implementing this class structure.

† Horsepower expressed in watts equivalent; 1 hp = 745 watts

License: Is a driver's license required to operate an e-bike?

Registration: Is the e-bike required to be registered with the state/province?

Age: What is the minimum age of operation of an e-bike?

Power: What is the maximum power output permitted?

Area: Which state or province in the United States or Canada?

Identity: Under which definition in vehicle code does an electric bicycle fall?

Bicycle: Is it essentially classified and treated as a bicycle? "Bicycle" = allowed on bicycle paths and no license/registration required

-- = Limit not specified under law

= Information unclear/inconsistent
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