
2025 Legislation related to Constitutional Players Priorities 

Proficiency-Based Education: 

HB 573, Revise transformational learning laws to create a phase II grant program: defines 
“transformational learning” as a pupil-centered, proficiency-based system designed to develop the full 
educational potential of each pupil. Creates a second phase of the grant program, for previous grantees 
to obtain additional funding to continue progress toward implementation of district-wide 
transformational and proficiency-based learning. 

 

Transforming the Teaching Profession: 

HB 252, Create the student and teacher advancement for results and success act (STARS): allows a 
district’s maximum general fund budget to be increased in certain circumstances, based on the 
percentage by which the county median market value for residential values exceeds the median county 
market value for residential properties across the state and requires the additional budget authority to 
be spent for specific housing purposes. Revises the additional payment incentive for educational entities 
to meet the legislative goal for competitive base pay for a beginning teacher of 11 times the quality 
educator and qualified staff payment. 

HB 260, Revise teacher stipends for national board certification: increases the amount of annual stipends 
for national board certified teachers to 50% of the quality educator payment for a certified teacher and 
85% of the quality educator payment for a certified teacher teaching in a school in a high-poverty area or 
an impacted school as defined in the quality educator loan assistance program.  

HB 340, Establish Montana’s BEST program to bolster educator support and training: creates a statewide 
teacher training program through the Office of Public Instruction to support new teachers in the first 3 
years of their career, increase retention, and enhance education for students through a targeted, 
individual support program. Appropriates $1 million to provide $2,500 stipends to mentor teachers and 
$600 stipends for early career teachers (at least $300 must come from the employing district). Tentative 
– bill has not yet gone to the governor for approval as of May 30. 

HB 499, Extend the grow your own grant program: revises the grant program for eligible postsecondary 
institutions partnering with eligible school districts to develop or expand programs to encourage 
students to pursue a career in teaching by providing scholarships for students who commit to teaching in 
a school impacted by a quality educator shortage. Tentative – bill has not yet gone to the governor for 
approval as of May 30. 

HB 509, Revise the quality educator loan forgiveness program to expand eligibility: expands QELAP to 
apply to all newly hired quality educators in Montana while giving funding priority to new hires working 
in impacted schools and provides a process to prorate funds when the appropriation is insufficient to 
fully fund repayment assistance. 
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Career and Technical Education:  

HB 252, Create the student and teacher advancement for results and success act (STARS): creates a 
future ready payment as a component of the general fund formula for students who earn certain levels 
of postsecondary or CTE credits in high school. 

HB 357, Provide funding for middle school career and technical education: Appropriates $240,000 for 
career and technical education elementary and K-12 school districts for the middle grades, including 
junior high, middle school, and 7th and 8th grade programs. The funding is intended to enhance federal 
Perkins funding. 

HB 381, Provide for educational credit for students volunteering in long term care, nursing home, home 
care, and child care settings: Allows students who are at least 16 years old to earn credit toward 
graduation for each 8,100 minutes (135 hours) the student is employed on a paid or voluntary basis in 
certain care settings and provides program requirements for public and nonpublic schools to award 
credits to students.  

HB 861, Provide statewide access to a K-12 digital toolkit: appropriates $1.1 million to the Office of 
Public Instruction and $750,000 to the Department of Labor and Industry for each year of the biennium 
to provide standards-aligned, multimodal instructional materials across all content areas, including 
access to CTE materials and local industry partners to support workforce development. Tentative – bill 
has not yet gone to the governor for approval as of May 30. 

SB 278, Revise education laws to support advanced opportunities: authorizes school districts to employ 
advanced opportunity facilitators to coordinate advanced opportunities for students with the school 
district, postsecondary institutions, employers, industry associations, community organizations, or others 
providing advanced opportunities. An advanced opportunity must be designed to advance a student’s 
opportunity for postsecondary career and educational success.  

 

Early Childhood Education:  

HB 338, Revise laws regarding early numeracy intervention: expands the early literacy targeted 
intervention program to include numeracy to increase the number of children who are proficient in 
ready and math at the end of third grade.  

HB 628, Revise early literacy targeted intervention laws: expands targeted intervention program to 
encompass early scholastic literacy and address proficiency in both reading and math. Authorizes 
funding to school districts that opt to enroll 1 on-target child for every 5 eligible children in a targeted 
intervention program. Tentative – bill has not yet gone to the governor for approval as of May 30. 

SB 35, Clarify enrollment counts for early literacy jumpstart program: a child participating in a summer 
jumpstart program is not required to execute an out-of-district attendance agreement and is not subject 
to tuition laws. Requested by the Education Interim Committee. 
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