

School Funding Interim Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

69th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

BECKY BEARD FORREST MANDEVILLE JACINDA MORIGEAU SARA NOVAK SUE VINTON JONATHAN WINDY BOY HOUSE MEMBERS

BRAD BARKER
DAVID BEDEY
LEE DEMING
ERIC MATTHEWS
LUKE MUSZKIEWICZ
MELISSA ROMANO

OTHER MEMBERS

TOM BURNETT
CLAYTON CHRISTIAN
RACHEL GREEN
SUSIE HEDALEN
MARTHA POTTER
MATT SCHREIBER
DR. TIM THARP
MIKE WATERMAN

COMMISSION STAFF

PAD MCCRACKEN, Lead Staff LAURA SANKEY KEIP, Staff Attorney JULIA PATTIN, Fiscal Analyst JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary BECCA BROWN, Staff

School Funding Interim Commission (SFIC)

June 4, 2025

Room 317, State Capitol

1:30pm - 5pm

- 1:30 Call to order roll call Representative Bedey, <u>HB 153</u> sponsor
- 1:35 Welcome purpose review of HB 153 Rep. Bedey and Commission Staff
- 1:45 Brief review of background materials and what brought us here Commission Staff
 - MT Constitution Article X
 - Definition of basic system under <u>20-9-309</u>, <u>MCA</u>
 - Litigation history
 - Funding basics big picture/round numbers
 - Work of the "Constitutional Players"
- 2:30 Adoption of Current 2023 Interim Committee Rules (Leg Council may update/revise June 10)
- 2:40 Commission Roadmap
 - Timeline / work plan
 - Innovation and Excellence in Education Working Group (IEEWG) Membership
 - IEEWG Facilitation
 - Action Item how to proceed
- 3:30 Edunomics workshop reflections
- 4:00 Selection of presiding officers
- 4:05 Public Comment
- 4:30 Compensation basics Angie Carter, LSD Financial Office Director
- 4:45 Next steps
 - Finalize next meeting date(s)
 - Additional background information/resources
- 5:00 Adjourn