;? Summary of Montana Boards

Boards with fewer than 100 licensees/registrants
=3
Boards with budgets topping $100,000
=14
*k kk k k%
Boards reviewed here = 34
Programs reviewed here = 8
Board/program wanna-be listings provided = 4

Also provided: An overview of boards/commissions in South
Dakota, North Dakota, Washington, Idaho & Wyoming
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Information compiled by Department of Labor and Industry’s
Business Standards Division and Legislative Services Staff

Undated 1/19/06

g Board of Alternative Healthcare

Number Licensees ‘05: 68 Instate 29 out-of-State
Board Size: 6
License Renewal Fee: Naturopath $275; Childbirth specialty $25;
Midwife $275; Lay Midwife apprentice $200
Board Budget FY06: $49,923
i S. Dakota Not regulated
N. Dakota Naturopath, midwives apparently not regulated. 3-mbr Board of
Reflexology.

Washi ngton Dept Health, Midwives under Health Professions Quality Assurance

Commission, with Advisory Cmte. Last met 11/04. Renewal fee $978.75
Naturopaths under Commission governing multiple professions, with
Advisory Cmte. Met 8/05 Renewal fee $25
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ldaho Midwives not regulated
2005 law to regulate naturopathic physicians

Wyo m | n g Not regulated
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Board of Architects

Number Licensees ‘05: 377 instate 928 out-of-State
Board Size: 4

License Renewal Fee: $110/2 yrs

Board Budget FY06: $89,064

S. Dakota Department of Labor; 6-member Board of Technical Professions (w/

Engineers, Landscape Architects, Surveyors)

N. Dakota 4-member Board of Architecture. Renewal $170/2 years

Washi ngton Department of Licensing, 7-mbr board for discipline, registration
Renewal=$99/2yr

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licensing; 6-mbr Board of Architectural
Examiners; Renewal=$75. Licensees - 1508

Wyoming Dept of Administration, 5-mbr Board of Architects and Landscape

Architects. Renewal $120/2yrs
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Board of Athletics

Number Licensees ‘05: 1,171 instate 228 out-of-state

Board Size: 5

License Fee: athlete, officials, manager $35; boxing club license $20 for

all but promoter, who is $500 plus bonding. Club boxing
promoter $100 plus bonding. Permits per event

Event Fee: State tax of 5% of event's gross receipts

Board Budget FY06: $94,032

S. Dakota No commission

N. Dakota Secretary of State, 9-mbr Athletic Commission. Boxer, corner, timekeeper
' -$10; Manager - $50; Promoter - $100; Judge/Referee - $25

Washi ngton Dept of Licensing; Boxing/Martial Arts Program; Fees=$15 to $50

ldaho State Athletic Commission

Wyo min g Not licensed.




% Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists

Number Licensees ‘05: 9,537 instate 910 out-of-state
; Board Size: 9
License Renewal Fee: Barer $45; instructor $60; shop $75; school $150;

Cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, electrologist $45; Instructor $60 active, $50 inactive;
Salon $50; Booth rental $40; School license $150; Course license with a school $50.

Board Budget FYO6: $416,614

& S. Dakota Department of Labor — 4-mbr Barber Board/ 5-mbr Cosmetology
L. Commission. Renewal — Cosmetologists/manicurists $15. Estheticians
$15; Master barber $40; apprentice $25. Shop $25 plus $5 per chair.

N. Dakota 5-member Board of Cosmetology. Self-governing. Renewal: Manager
Operator & Instructor $20; Operator, Manicurist, Esthetician $15.

Washi ngton Dept. of Licensing; 9-mbr Board for cosmetologists, barbers, manicurists,
estheticians. Fees= $40/person up to $175 for a school.

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licensees. 5-member Board of Cosmetology.
Renewal — Cosmetologists/manicurists $25; Instructors $30; estheticians/
electrologists $27 3-mbr Board of Barber Examiners. 747 licensees.
Renewal barber/barber-stylist $50; shop $30; instructor $30, school $250

Wyoming 3-mbr Board of Barber Examiners. Renewal shop/individual $60 (140 lic)
5-mbr Board of Cosmetology. Renewal individual $25/yr to 2008 then
$36. Salons $50/yr then $65 in 2008. Schools $150/yr then $200 yr.
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» Board of Chiropractors

Number Licensees ‘05: 313 instate 208 oOut-of-state
Board Size: 4

License Renewal Fee: Chiropractors $150 active; $50 inactive;
Impairment evaluators $50
Board Budget FY06: $80,811
S. Dakota Dept of Health, 5-mbr Chiropractor Board. Renewal $200 active, $50
) inactive
N. Dakota Independent 5-mbr Chiropractor Board. Renewal $150 active, $100
inactive

Washi ngton Dept of Health, Health Professions Quality Assurance Commission.
Renewal $190

Idaho Dept of Self Governing Agencies, Bureau of Occupational Licenses. 5-
mbr Board. Renewal $100 active, $50 inactive
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Wyoming Dept of Administration. 3-mbr Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
Renewal $100




¥ Board of Clinical Lab Scientists

$

Number Licensees ‘05:

License Renewal Fee:
Board Budget FYO06:

Board Size:

845 Instate 70 Out-of-state
5

$60 active, $25 inactive

$53,103

| S. Dakota Not regulated
N. Dakota Independent (Contract with management company. Legal services through
. AG’s office.) 5-mbr Clinical Lab Science Board. Renewal for scientists,
specialists $80; technician $60
Washington Not regulated
Idaho Not regulated
‘?:a. Wyoming Not regulated

3 Board of Dentistry

Number Licensees ‘05:
Board Size:
License Renewal Fee.

1,011 Instate 296 Out-of-state
10

Dentists $153; Dental hygienists $70;

Denturists $100

Board Budget FY06: $188,720

S. Dakota Dept of Health. Semi-autonomous 7-mbr Board of Dentistry. Renewal:
Dentists $90; Dental hygienists $45. Denturists not regulated.
N. Dakota Independent 7-mbr Board of Dentistry, Renewal: Dentists $220/2 yrs; Dental
hygienists $110/2 yrs. Denturists not regulated
Washin gton Dept of Health. Health Professions Quality Assurance Commission.
Renewal: Dentists $230; Dental hygienist $40.
ldaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. Bureau of Professional Licensing. 8-mbr
k Board of Dentistry. Renewal: Dentists $150; Dental hygienists $75. 5-mbr
#h Board of Denturitry. Renewal $300. FY 2005 budget - $16,000 ($9,500 fixed)
: Wyom i ng Dept of Administration, 6-mbr Board of Dental Examiners. Renewal: Dentists
$125; Dental hygienists $75. Denturists not regulated.




2 5 State Electrical Board

Number Licensees ‘05: 3,258 instate 1,304 outof-State
Board Size: 5
License Renewal Fee: Electrical contractor $250; Master,
journeyman, and residential electrician $100.
Board Budget FYO6: $287,918
S. Dakota Dept of Labor, 7-mbr Electrical Commission. Renewal $40/2 yrs
N. Dakota Dept of Labor, State Electrical Board. Renewal $25

Washi ngton Dept of Labor & Industry. Electrical program. Renewal — Master $133.20/3
yrs; Journeyman $70.20 /3 yrs

ldaho Division of Building Safety; 9-mbr Electrical Bureau Board. Renewal $45/3
‘E& yrs
T Wyom i ng Dept Fire Prevention Electrical Safety. 3-mbr board. Renewal — Master

$100/3 yrs; Journeyman $50/3 yrs

¥ Board of Professional Engineers
' and Land Surveyors

Number Licensees ‘05: 5,377 instate 5,178 out-of-state
Board Size: 9

License Renewal Fee: Prof.Engineers/Land Surveyors $90/2 yrs
Dual License $110 biennially

Board Budget FYO6: $289,274

S. Dakota Department of Labor, 7-mbr Board of Technical Professions

(w/Architects, Landscape Architects) Renewal - $80/2yrs

N. Dakota 5-mbr Board of Registered Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors.
Renewal - $128

Washi ngton 7-mbr Board of Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors. Renewal
$160/2 yrs
k ldaho 5-mbr Board of Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors. Renewal
h $80/2 yrs
: Wyom i ng 7-mbr Board of Registration for Professional Engineers & Land

Surveyors. Renewal $115/2 yrs




X Board of Funeral Service

, ~ Number Licensees ‘05: 401 instate 37 Out-of-state
' Board Size: 6
License Renewal Fee: morticians $125: mortuary (including inspection fee)

$200, crematories $200, branch facility renewal without inspection $50; crematory operator,
$60; crematory technician $30, cemeteries $1,000 every 5 yrs

Board Budget FY06: $81,288

S. Dakota Dept of Health. 8-mbr Board; Renewal: $100 for establishment; $50
for embalmer/director.

N. Dakota Independent 4-mbr Board. Renewal $100.

Washi ngton Dept of Licensing. 5-mbr Board. Renewal: Funeral director intern $45;
embalmer $45; joint funeral director/embalmer $70; funeral home $50;
crematory $3.20 per deceased.

ldaho Dept. of Self-Governing Agencies. Bureau of Occupational Licensing.
‘;@ 3-mbr Board. Renewal: Mortician $85; funeral home $125; crematory
; $200
Wyom i ng Dept of Administration. 5-mbr Board of Embalming

¥ Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers

L

“r Number Licensees ‘05: 81 instate 5 outof-state
& Board Size: 7
License Renewal Fee: $275 active, $100 inactive
Board Budget FY06: $32,649
" S. Dakota | 4-mbr Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologists. Renewals:

Hearing Aid Dispenser or Audiologist, $200

N. Dakota 10-mbr Board of Hearing Instrument Specialists

Washi ngton 10-mbr Board of Hearing and Speech. Renewal: Audiologist/Speech
Language Pathologist/Fitter/Dispenser $25

Idaho 7-mbr Board of Speech & Hearing Services Licensure. Dept Labor.
Combined 7/1/05 from separate hearing aid and speech & hearing
services board. Renewal $150.
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Wyoming Dept of Administration. 5-mbr Board of Hearing Aid Specialists. Renewal
for license & temporary permit with supervision $150.




. Number Licensees ‘05:

2 9 Board of Landscape Architects

40 Instate 52 Out-of-state

Board Size: 5
License Renewal Fee: Landscape Architect, $250.
Board Budget FYO6: $63,040

Department of Labor, Board of Technical Professions (w/Architects,
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors)

i S. Dakota

3-mbr State Board of Architecture (includes Landscape Architects).
Renewal $600/2 yrs. Testimony at July 19, 2005, rules committee
indicated 3 landscape architects licensed, 2 in process. License required
as of 1/1/05.

Washin gto n | Dept. of Licensing; 5-mbr board of Registration, Complaint Investigation;
Renewal=$200/2yr

ldaho 3-mbr Board of Landscape Architecture. 200 licensees. Renewal $125.

N. Dakota
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Dept of Administration, 5-mbr Board of Architects and Landscape

Wyomin
y 9 Architects. Renewal $120/2yrs

% Board of Medical Examiners
Number Licensees ‘05: 7,319 instate 1,851 out-of-state
Board Size: 11

License Renewal Fee: mb = $200; osteopath $200; Podiatrist $200; Nutritionist
$50; Acupuncturist $50; Physician Assistant Certified $100; Emergency Medical Technician $20-
$60/2 yrs depending on level; Inactive members = %2 fee to renew

Board Budget FY06: $720,479

S Dakota Dept of Health; 9-mbr board. MD/DO Renewal $100. Nutritionists $35. Physician Assistant
& ' $15. Podiatrists-4-mbr Board (55 licensees). Renewal $150. Dept Public Safety (gen fund)
» EMT Paramedics/intermed. $25. Acupuncturists unregulated.

N. Dakota Independent 12-mbr Board. MD Renewal $150. PA Renewal $50.
5-mbr Board of Dietetic Practice Renewal $45; 6-mbr Podiatrist Brd, Renewal
$500. EMTs under Div. of EMS. General fund. Acupuncturists—under study.

Washi ngton Dept of Health: Acupuncture $81/$45; Podiatrist -- 5-mbr Podiatric Medical Brd
$580+$25 fee; Osteopath — 7mbr Brd of Osteopathic Med Sg Renew $50+$25

fee; MD/PAs —19-mbr Med Quality Assurance Cmsn+6 pro tem mbrs; MD

$300/2 yrs; PA$95/2 yrs; Nutritionists $45--Health Professions Quality Assur.
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Idaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. 10-mbr Board of Medicine. MD renewal
$200; PA $50; Nutritionist $45. 5-mbr Acupuncture Board. Renewal $250.

5-mbr Podiatrist Board. Renewal $300. EMT Advisory Cncl upper levels $25.

Dept of Administration; 8-mbr Board of Medicine. MDs/Osteopaths - renewal

Wyomin
y 9 $200. Physician Assistant renewal $50. 3-mbr Brd of Podiatry




® Board of Nursing

Number Licensees ‘05: 12,705 instate 1,991 out-of-state
Board Size: 9

License Renewal Fee: APRN (each specialty) - $50. RN/LPN - $100.
Prescriptive authority - $75; Medication aide -$25.
Board Budget FYO6: $873,378
5 S. Dakota Dept of Health. 10-mbr Board of Nursing. Includes: Certified Nurse Aides,

Medical Assistants (Renewal $5/2 yrs), RNs, LPNs, APNs. Renewal RNs,
LPNs, APRNSs - $70.

N. Dakota Independent 9-mbr Board. Renewals: RN $90; LPN $80. Transitional RN
$110. Transitional LPN $100. APRN $50. Med Ass'’t $20-$40

WaSh | n gtO n Dept of Health, 11-mbr Nursing Care Quality Assur. Cmsn (incl nonvoting midwife mbr)
RNs and LPNs $50. ARNPs $50/specialty
\ ldaho Dept. of Self-Governing Agencies. 9-mbr Board of Nursing. Renewals: RN,
i LPN, APRN - $50
: Wyom i ng Independent 7-mbr Board; Renewals: RN $110; LPN $90; CAN $50; APRN

$70. Pres. Authority $70.

» Board of Nursing Home

e Administrators
g} * Number Licensees ‘05: 201 nse 47 outof-state
t Board Size: 6
ﬁ License Renewal Fee:  Active $125 (proposed to $185); inactive $75
. " Board Budget FY06: $44,298
" S. Dakota Dept. Health. 9-mbr board. Renewal $150/2 yrs.
N. Dakota 9-mbr Board. Renewal $125.

Washington Dpt of Health; 9-mbr Board; Renewal $250

ldaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. 5-mbr Board. Renewal $175

Wyo min g 5-mbr Board - $300. Approximately 75 licensees
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¥ Board of Occupational Therapists

Number Licensees ‘05: 310 instate 43 out-of-state
Board Size: 5
License Renewal Fee: Therapists $80. (Inactive renewal $30)
Board Budget FYO06: $49,213
S. Dakota Under Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners
N. Dakota 5-mbr Board of Occupational Therapy Renewal: Therapists $150/2 yrs;

Assistants $110/2 yrs.

Washi ngton Dept of Health. Commission covers occupational, physical, massage,
and recreational therapies. Renewal: Therapist $90; Assistant $65.

ldaho Under Board of Medicine. Renewal: Therapist $65; Assistant $45.
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Wyoming 5-mbr Board of Occupational Therapy. Renewals OT-$125. Assistant
$60. Approximately 280-300 licensees

3 Board of Optometry

Number Licensees ‘05: 165 instate 98 out-of-state
Board Size: 4
License Renewal Fee: optometrists $250
Board Budget FYO6: $43,720

5 S. Dakota Dept of Health; 5-mbr Board of Examiners in Optometry. Semi-
autonomous. Renewal $175

N. Dakota Independent 7-mbr Board. Renewal $150

Washi ngton Dept of Health 6-mbr Board of Optometry; Renewal fee $100

Idaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. 5-mbr Board. Renewal $150. Licensees
- 360
k Wyoming Dept of Administration. Semi-autonomous 3-mbr Board. Renewal $150.
i
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Number Licensees ‘05:
Board Size:
License Renewal Fee:

Board of Outfitters

1,543 Instate 1,050 Out-of-state
7

Resident outfitter - $300; inactive - $150;

Board Budget FY06: $534,983

S. Dakota No board/commission

N. Dakota Dept Game & Fish licenses guides and oultfitters. Hunting guides/fishing
outfitters $200/nonresidents $400. Hunting outfitter $250/$500;
nonresident $2000. Day/freelance permit $200. Add one authority $50.

Washi ngton Dept of Licensing. Master License Service. No Board. Licenses white
river outfitters. Dept of Fish & Game licenses commercial salmon guides.

ldaho Dept Fish & Game. Self-governing agency. 5-mbr board licenses
outfitters $350/yr; designated agents $140; guides $105. Add-ons vary.

Wyom i ng Dept. of Administration. 7-mbr Board of Outfitters & Guides. Outfitter -
$500; Guide $120 (14-day guide - $60)

Resident Guide or Professional Guide - $100.

Nonresident pays excess if own state fee is greater than Montana fee.
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3 Board of Pharmacy

Number Licensed ‘05: 2,117 instate 1,528 out-of-state
Board Size: 6

License Renewal Fee: Pharmacist $55; Certified Pharmacy $100;
Pharmacy Technician $45; Wholesale Drug

Distributor $75; Out-of-state mail service $100

Board Budget FYO06: $536,185
S. Dakota Dept of Health; 4-mbr Board; Renewal for Pharmacist $125.
N. Dakota Independent 5-mbr Board. Renewal: Pharmacist $150 (to increase to
$200). Pharmacy Tech $35. Half of fee for ea. goes to Pharmacy Assn
Washi ngto n Dept of Health. 7-mbr Board. Renewal for pharmacist $120.
Idaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. 5-mbr Board all nominated by assn.
Wyoming Dept. of Administration. 6-mbr Board of Pharmacy. Registration or

reregistration for distributing controlled substances, $150.

10
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T Board of Physical Therapy

$

Number Licensed ‘05:
Board Size: 5
License Renewal Fee:

832 Instate 199 out-of-state

Physical therapists $25. Proposed increase to
$60

Board Budget FYO6: $64,431

& S. Dakota Under Board of Medical Examiners. Renewal $25.

N. Dakota Independent 6-mbr Board. Renewal $60.

Washi ngton Dept of Health. With OT, recreational and massage therapists. Renewal
$65.

Idaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. Under Board of Medicine. Renewal
$65.

Wyoming Dept of Administration. 5-mbr Board of Physical Therapy. Renewal:
Physical Therapist $50; PT assistant - $35.
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Number Licensed ‘05:

Board of Plumbers

1,165 Instate 141 Out-of-state

Board Size: 9
License Renewal Fee: Plumber Journeyman $75, Master $125;
Medical gas endorsement $10
Board Budget FY06: $216,438
S. Dakota Dept of Labor; 5-mbr Plumbing Commission
N. Dakota 5-mbr Board of Plumbing. Licensees — 1,514. Renewal: Journeyman
and apprentice “5” $75. Apprentice “1” $20. Each additional grade $10
Washi ngton Dept of Labor & Industry, 5-mbr Board. Renewal $95.10/2 yrs.
Trainees $35.50/1 yr In total ~ 10,000 licensees.
ldaho Division of Building Safety. 5-mbr Board. Renewal $22.50
Wyo min g No statewide license required.
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% Board of Private Alternative
Adolescent Residential

or Outdoor Programs

Number Licensed ‘05: No Licensing — 44 potential registrants
Board Size: 5

Registration fee: Based on size: Proposed $750 for 0-10 participants; $1,750 for
11-50 participants; $2,000 for 51-100 participants; $3,000 for 101
or more participants.

Board Budget FY06: $21,745

S. Dakota Not regulated
N. Dakota Not regulated
Washington Not regulated

ldaho Not regulated

Wyom in g Certified by Dept of Family Services
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% Board of Private Security Patrol
Officers & Investigators

Number Licensees ‘05: 1,384 instate 125 out-of-state
Board Size: 7

License Renewal Fee: contract security company, Electronic security company,
Proprietary security organization, Private investigator - $100. Private security guard, Pl trainee,
Security alarm installers, Alarm response runner - $45. Qualifying agents/ Resident managers -
$75. Armed endorsement - $25. Firearms instructor - $100/2 yrs. One half of renewal fee for each
= additional or multiple licenses.

Board Budget FYO06: $122,138
S. Dakota Only business license is required.
N. Dakota 7-member Private Investigators & Security Board. Security Provider/PI -

$130; Security agency/ Detective agency - $250; Armed certification - $20

Washi ngton Dept of Licensing; Public Protection Unit; Pl and Armed PI - $150;
Certified Trainer - $15

Idaho No licensing
Wyoming No statewide license. May be regulated by local jurisdictions
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Board of Psychologists

Number Licensees ‘05: 196 instate 36 Out-of-state
Board Size: 6

License Renewal Fee: $250

Board Budget FY06: $67,642

S. Dakota Dept of Health. 7-mbr Board. Renewal $200. Licensees - 194

N. Dakota Independent 5-mbr Board of Psychologist Examiners. Renewal $100.
186 licensees at doctoral level (only level licensed)

Washington Dept of Health. 9-mbr Commission. Renewal: Psychologist $72.

Idaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. 5-mbr Board. Renewal: Psychologist
$200. Service Extender $50. All licensees=348.
Wyoming Dept of Administration. 9-mbr Board. Renewal: Psychologist $300.

Master’s level Psychologist practitioner $300.
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Board of Public Accountants

Number Licensees ‘05: 2,569 instate 1,134 out-of-state
Board Size: 7
License Renewal Fee: craiLicensed PA permit holder $90; Inactive $45

Board Budget FYO06: $275,357
S. Dakota 6-mbr Board of Accountancy. Renewal $50
N. Dakota 5-mbr Board of Accountancy. Renewal — individual $45, firm $50-$300

Washi ngton 9-mbr Board of Accountancy. Renewal - $230/3 yrs. Licensees 10,839.
CPAs with inactive certificate — 3,066. CPA firms — 1,881.

Idaho 7-mbr Board of Accountancy, Self-governing. Renewal $120. Private
practice $50. Approximately 2,500 licensees

Wyoming 5-mbr Board of Certified Public Accountants; Renewal $45
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¥ Board of Radiologic Technologists

Number Licensed '05: 1,211 instate 113 out-of-state

Board Size: 7
License Renewal Fee:

$50. Limited permit holders, $40.

Radiologic technologists/assistants/apprentices

Board Budget FY06: $84,430

S. Dakota Not regulated

N. Dakota Not regulated

Washi ngton Dept of Health. Program; 2 advisors, meet occasionally. Certif. renewal
$38

Idaho Not regulated

Wyoming Dept of Administration. 5-mbr Board of Radiologic Technologists
Examiners. Renewal: General $60/2 yrs. Restricted $30/2 yrs
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Y Board of Real Estate Appraisers

Number Licensed ‘05: 418 instate 80 Out-of-state

Board Size: 7
License Renewal Fee: Real Estate Appraiser, Certified Residential

Appraiser, Certified General Appraiser $300
and $25 federal registry fee; Trainee $300

Board Budget FY06: $218,547

S. Dakota 9-mbr Board. Renewal for state licensed general appraiser and
residential appraiser - $225. State registered appraisers $175.

N. Dakota 5-mbr Real Estate Appraiser Qualifications and Ethics Board

Washin gto n Dept of Licensing; 6-mbr commission; Renewal =$407

ldaho Bureau of Occupational Licensing. 5-mbr Board. Renewal $250. All
licensees=653

Wyo min g 5-mbr Certified Real Estate Appraiser Board. Renewal for certified
general, residential, trainee appraiser - $600/3 yrs
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%

Board of Realty Regulation

Number Licensed ‘05: 5,387 instate 517 out-of-state
Board Size: 5
License Renewal Fee: Resident /Nonresident broker $200;

Salesman $175

Board Budget FYO06: $595,230

S. Dakota Dept of Revenue. 5-mbr Commission. Sales & Broker $125/2 yrs.
Corporation, association, partnership $125

N. Dakota 5-mbr Real Estate Commission. Sales $100; Broker $120. Corporation
$150

Washi ngton Dept of Licensing. 7-mbr Commission. Sales $146.25/2 yrs. Broker
$210/2 yrs

Idaho 4-mbr Commission. Sales & Broker $180/2 yrs. Corporation $50. Sole

proprietor — no charge

Wyoming 5-mbr Real Estate Commission. Sales & Broker $170/3 yrs. Business
entity (except sole proprietor) $170/3 yrs — Proposed to increase to $250.
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%

¥

Board of Respiratory Care

Practitioners
Number Licensees ‘05: 445 instate 70 out-of-state
Board Size: 5
License Renewal Fee: $100
Board Budget FYO6: $29,509
S. Dakota Under Board of Medical Examiners. Renewal $60
N. Dakota Independent 7-mbr Respiratory Care Examining Board. Renewal $60

Washi ngton Dept of Health; 4 advisors, meet as necessary; Renewal $50

ldaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. Under Board of Medicine. Renewal $40

Wyo min g Independent Board. Renewal $100
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T Board of Sanitarians

Number Licensed ‘05: 157 instate 21 out-of-state
Board Size: 5
License Renewal Fee: Sanitarians or Trainees $50
Board Budget FYO06: $24,897
Eo S. Dakota Board abolished in 1978
N. Dakota Apparently sanitarians work as environmental health practitioner,

licensed by state health officer.

Washington | Certification

Idaho Idaho repealed the Environmental Health Specialist Examiner
Licensure Act. Licensure now through national organization.
Wyo mi ng May be appointed by county.
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¥ Board of Social Work Examiners
and Professional Counselors

Number Licensed ‘05: 1,187 instate 100 out-of-state
Board Size: 7

License Renewal Fee: Social Workers/Prof.Counselors $100

Board Budget FY06: $127,087

S. Dakota 6-mbr Board of Social Work Examiners. Renewals: social worker w/ AA-$50, BA-$70,

MA-$90, Private Practice-$110-all for 2 yrs. Licensees_799 Contract service. 7-mbr
Board of Professional Counselors. Renewal $100. In Dept. of Human Services.

N. Dakota 6-mbr Board of Social Work Examiners. Renewal $75.

5-mbr Board of Counselor Examiners. Renewal $100/2 yrs W/specialty
$150/2 yrs (incl: mental/family therapists, vocational/school counselors)

Washin gto n | Dept. of Health, 7-mbr advisory committee with multiple professions.

Renewals:_Marriage & Family Therapists $83; Mental Health Counselors
fee- $29; Social Workers fee-$42

Idah o Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. 6-mbr Brd of Social Work Examiners. 2,698
licensees. Renewals LSW & LMSW - $50. LCSW - $60. 6-mbr Brd of Professional
Counselors/Marriage & Family Therapists. 1,291 licensees. Renewal $60.

Wyom i ng Dept of Administration. 6-mbr Board of Mental Health Professions. Social
Worker, Professional Counselor, Marriage & Family Therapist, Addiction
Counselor - $100. Combined license renewal: $150.
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Board of Speech Language
Pathologists and Audiologists

Number Licensed ‘05: 378 instate 18 out-of-state
Board Size: 5

License Renewal Fee: Speech language pathologist or audiologist $100

Board Budget FYO06: $42,186

S. Dakota Dept of Health--contract out. 4-mbr Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers &
Audiologists. Renewal for audiologists and hearing aid specialists: $200.

N. Dakota 7-mbr Board of Examiners on Audiology and Speech-Language
Pathology. Renewal: speech language pathologists or audiologists $75.

Washi ngton Dept of Health. Renewal for hearing aid and speech: $25.

ldaho 7-mbr Board of Speech & Hearing Services Licensure. Bureau Occ. Lic.
Combined 7/1/05 from separate hearing aid and speech & hearing
services board. Renewal $150.

Wyom i ng Separate board of Speech language pathologists and audiologists but
merging with hearing aid dispensers. Renewals: speech language
pathologists and audiologists $100; hearing aid dispensers $150.

';;.f"

Board of Veterinary Medicine

Number Licensed ‘05: 534 instate 514 out-of-state
Board Size: 6

License Renewal Fee: veterinarians $65; euthanasia techs $70; embroyo
transfer techs $65; euthanasia agency $125.

* Board Budget FYO06: $80,399
& S. Dakota State-regulated. Renewal: Vet $25; vet tech $5. Vet corporation $10
N. Dakota 3-mbr Board. Renewal: Vet $45. Licensees ~ 400 (half in state) Vet

techs (~ 200) pay $10 for renewal.

Washin gto n | Deptof Health, 6-mbr Veterinary Brd of Governors. Renewals: Vet
$130; Vet Medical_Clerk $30; Vet Tech $65; Humane Society $75

ldaho Dept of Self-Governing Agencies. 6-mbr Board. Renewals: Vet $125;
vet tech $50; euthanasia tech $50; euthanasia agency $100.

Wyom i ng Dept of Administration. 6-mbr Board. Renewal: Vets $65; artificial
insemination technicians $30.
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" Board of Water Well Contractors*

$

" < Number Licensed ‘05: 506 instate 508 out-of-state
'51;, Board Size: 6
License Renewal Fee: Contractor $250
Driller $150
Monitoring Well Constructor $250
% Board Budget FYO06: $72,000 authorized

$60,000 expected

*Reports to DEQ

S. Dakota Still checking (State Engineer’s office)
N. Dakota 6-mbr Board of Water Well Contractors. Provides certifications.
\ Washi ngton Still checking
» g ldaho Still checking. Investigating a change in process
Wyom i ng 7-mbr B_oard of Water Well Drilling Contractors and Water Well Pump
Installation.

¥ Programs — Not Boards

Licensed by the department.
Discipline, if any, by the department.

—_—
Addiction Counselors

Athletic Agents

Boiler Operators, Blasters, Crane Operators
Elevator Contractors, Mechanics, Inspectors
Fire Prevention

Tattoo or Body Piercing Business
Underground Storage Tank Professionals
Water Treatment Plant Operators

';;.f"




'ﬁf'

Addiction Counselors

Number licensed in '05: 465 instate 45 out-of-state

License renewal fee: $135/2 yrs
S. Dakota Dept of Human Services; 9-mbr Board. Renewal $150.
N. Dakota Independent 9-mbr Board of Addiction Counseling Examiners.

Renewal $100.

Washi ngto n | Dept. of Health, 7-mbr advisory committee with licensed and
registered mental health counselors, social workers, and marriage
and family therapists. CDC Counselor renewal $82.

Idaho Not regulated by state. International Consortium & Reciprocity Cmsn
rivate volunteer) 6-mbr Board. Licensed addiction counselors
p
renewal $50
Wyoming Dept of Administration. 6-mbr Board of Mental Health Professions.

Social Worker, Professional Counselor, Marriage & Family Therapist,
Addiction Counselor - $100. Combined license renewal $150.

';;.f"

Athletic Agents

Number registered in '05: 2 instate 1 outof-state

Registration fee: $200 Certificate of Registration/2 yrs
Montana laws adopted in 2003. Press release from 2004 by Uniform Law
Commissioners says Congress urges all states to enact uniform law on sports
agents.

S. Dakota Not apparently licensed or regulated.

N. Dakota Has adopted uniform state laws on registration.

Washi ngton Has adopted uniform state laws on registration.

ldaho Dept. of Self-Governing Agencies. Bureau of Licensing. Renewal
$250. No Board. Has adopted uniform state laws on registration.
Wyo min g Not regulated
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'ﬁf'

i Boiler Operators, Blasters,
Crane Operators

Number licensed in '05: 4,360 mstate 387 outof-state
Consisting of: Boiler Operators 2,933 129
Crane Operators 1,230 183
i Construction Blasters 197 75
¥ License renewal fee: Boiler Engineer $45
S. Dakota Still checking
N. Dakota Unable to find

Washi ngton 5-mbr Board of Boiler Rules. Maritime cranes certified (didn’t find
certification for operators)

Idaho Still checking

Wyoming Not licensed.

-

? Elevator Contractors, Mechanics,
and Inspectors

L

New program — effective Oct. 1, 2005
License renewal fee: proposed renewal fee $100

i S. Dakota Still checking

N. Dakota Left message with Gov's board appointments person 701-328-2219

Washi ngton Legislation in 2004. Elevator mechanic license (general, commercial,
special purpose, temporary, e.g.). Contractors get contractor license.

ldaho Still checking

Wyo min g Not licensed.
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'ﬁf'

Number licensed in '05:
License renewal fee:

Fire Prevention

338 Instate

Company hiring entity $200.
Individual endorsement $100.
Fireworks wholesaler $55.

109 out-of-state

S. Dakota Still checking

N. Dakota Attorney General's office license fireworks wholesalers. License $250
Washington | No Board. Phone numbers for info.

Idaho Still checking

Wyom i ng 5-mbr board. Council on Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety

';;.f"

? Tattoo or Body Piercing Business

Number licensed:

Effective in 2006

License renewal fee: TBD

Regulator: Department of Health and Human Services, with
enforcement by local health boards
S. Dakota May be regulated by municipalities if standards are stringent as Dept.
of Health pursuant to § 34-1-17.
N. Dakota Left message with Gov's board appointments person 701-328-2219
Washi ngton Legislation introduced in 2005-06 session. Stalled in Senate.
Idaho Not apparently licensed. Tattooing of minors requires parental
consent per 18-1523.
Wyo mi ng Not regulated
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'ﬁf'

Underground Storage Tank
Professionals

Installer/removers — 54 licensees

Removers — 22 licensees. Monitoring well installer 1.
Inspectors - 29

Number licensed:

License renewal fee: $100 annual renewal fee. $100 for application and testing.
Regulator: Department of Environmental Quality
S. Dakota Board of Technical Professions ertifies professionals for underground
storage tanks for petroleum products. Approximately 70 certified.
Initial fee is $150 for 2 years. Renewal is $80 for 2 years.
N. Dakota Does not license. May be licensing within 3 years.
Washington
Idaho
Wyo mi ng Not licensed yet but expects to license within 3 years.

? Water Treatment Plant Operators

Number licensed in '05: 1,374 water licensed
701 wastewater licenses
License renewal fee: $30 water treatment/distribution operators

$4O wastewater treatment operators

Administrative Attachment — (DEQ) Advisory Council reports to the

';;.f"

i Board of Environmental Review

S. Dakota Water & Wastewater certification, Dept of Environment & Natural
Resources

N. Dakota Dept. of Health

Washi ngto n | Water Works Operator — certification — Dept of Health
Wastewater Operator — certification — Dept of Ecology Water Quality

Idaho 7-mbr Board of Drinking Water & Wastewater Professionals

Wyo mi ng Dept of Environmental Quality, certification program
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¥ Occupations

$

requesting Boards

State Massage Home Athletic Marriage &
Therapists | Inspectors Trainers Family Ther.
S. Dakota 5-mbr board
under Health
Dept.

N. Dakota 5-mbr board Registration 5-mbr board Board created in
required. (2005 2005 legislature
bill)

Washin gto n 5-mbr board Not apparently Dept Health. 7-

under Health licensed mbr Committee.
Dept. Renewal Renewal $83
$10.

Idaho With professional

counselors board
i Not licensed Cities may license. Mental Health
Wyomlng Division

23



